Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rate the movie not I hate Actor or actress reveiw.
The movie is awesome and romantic,It is definite worth watching and buying. Hilary duff is wonderful and fantastic acting. Please remember your wanting to know if the movie is good. I have read reviews on the movie and got I hate Hilary Duff Campaign. Their just trashing Hilary and not really rating a true honest opinion about the movie. Buy the movie you will not regret...
Published on January 18, 2011 by mvasquez

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Patronising and sexist film
I'm not going to rip Hilary Duff apart like a previous reviewer because I actually think she was about the best part of this film, hence the one star. It's fun and girly but I couldn't enjoy it because of the constant stereotypes (i.e. blonde girl enters the business world and doesn't know anything apart from how to utilize colour, as well as the consistent way the female...
Published on March 2, 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Patronising and sexist film, March 2, 2011
This review is from: Beauty and the Briefcase (DVD)
I'm not going to rip Hilary Duff apart like a previous reviewer because I actually think she was about the best part of this film, hence the one star. It's fun and girly but I couldn't enjoy it because of the constant stereotypes (i.e. blonde girl enters the business world and doesn't know anything apart from how to utilize colour, as well as the consistent way the female characters judge men by their 'hot abs' or 'tight asses'). It just seems a bit sexist in terms of both the male and female characters and, while I know most chick flicks are like this to some extent, it has never been to the extent that I've felt the need to switch off. The English guy's accent is laughable. Why don't they just use English people to portray English people rather than people whose accent flips between Australian and American? The other characters besides Lane are pretty rubbish and wooden, including her best friend and more or less all the people she works with. The story, I guess, is light-hearted and cutesy, but if you have an ounce of intellect and don't assume that all women are bimbos whose specialist subject is coats and men's worth is assessed by the tightness of their buns, I suggest looking elsewhere. I was also a little concerned about the sexual references (i.e. painting each others bodies with chocolate and then 'burning it off' after one date, talk of climaxing etc.). Surely that's a bit much for a younger audience?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rate the movie not I hate Actor or actress reveiw., January 18, 2011
By 
mvasquez (S. B. Indiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beauty and the Briefcase (DVD)
The movie is awesome and romantic,It is definite worth watching and buying. Hilary duff is wonderful and fantastic acting. Please remember your wanting to know if the movie is good. I have read reviews on the movie and got I hate Hilary Duff Campaign. Their just trashing Hilary and not really rating a true honest opinion about the movie. Buy the movie you will not regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Meeting Boys in the Business world, January 15, 2011
By 
This review is from: Beauty and the Briefcase (DVD)
This is a Hillary Duff made-for-TV movie, so I probably didn't come into Beauty & the Briefcase with particularly high expectations. However, they were met, and even exceeded some - for a romantic comedy. Working as an investigative journalist for Cosmo, Duff joins an investment banking firm to find an eligible bachelor in New York. There are some cute moments about having unrealistic expectations for a man. As with most romantic comedies, it's lighthearted and cheesy. Yet, unlike many, the protagonists - particularly Duff - come off as relatively normal, likable, and not pathetically desperate. Sure, they have their quirks and faults, but I never felt annoyed by their characters but rather sorry for them. Fun for date nights with a significant other.

**Spoilers Alert**

I did think the subplot with Liam was distracting. First of all, it was too obvious Duff's character wouldn't end up with him - he was TOO perfect. More importantly, it took time and attention away from the idea of dating in the business world. This theme could have been played up a lot more than what is actually captured in the movie. In fact, there are really 2 guys in the office who are really even "contenders." Instead, I could easily have imagined the "Liam" character changed into one of Duff's coworkers, but one who it turns out was engaged in shady stock deals or something. I reduced my rating by a star because there was just so much more comedic potential in mixing the women's fashion and men's business worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great family movie!, January 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beauty and the Briefcase (DVD)
I have always loved Hilary Duff. She is modest in all her videos and this movie is even safe for my 4 year old daughter to watch. I think there's 2 mild cuss words, so if your a vile person, don't buy. If you are single and on the lonely side, I definitely recommend watching this! It'll give you a boost and a message that Mr. Right isn't going to be perfect to make you happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Beauty & the Briefcase" has its share of charming, embarrassingly funny moments but it works for an ABC Family romantic comedy., March 16, 2011
This review is from: Beauty and the Briefcase [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
"Beauty & the Briefcase" has its share of charming, embarrassingly funny moments but works for an ABC Family romantic comedy.

Actress Hilary Duff is all grown up and she returns in a "Sex and the City-esque" style of storyline in "Beauty & the Briefcase", an ABC Family television film that is an adaptation of the novel "Diary of a Working Girl" by Daniella Brodsky. The film featured a collaboration with ABC Family and Cosmopolitan magazine and aired on April 18, 2010 and attracted 2.4 million viewers. The TV film was nominated for "Favorite Family TV Movie" for the People's Choice Awards 2011.

The film is directed by Gil Junger (popular TV director and director for "10 Things I Hate About You" movie and TV series, "Greek", "Hope & Faith", "According to Jim") and a screenplay adaptation by Michael Horowitz ("Burn Notice").

VIDEO:

"Beauty & the Briefcase" is presented in 1080p High Definition (Widescreen 1:78:1). The film was shot using an F23 Sony camera in progressive HD and for a TV movie, the film looks very good, especially with shots of Lane walking through New York. If anything, the film manages to show the vibrancy of New York as well as the fashion elements from the film but it works for a TV film, I didn't notice any high-details when it came to objects, clothing or skin pigmentation as you would see from a feature film but nevertheless, "Beauty & the Briefcase" does showcase colors which are vibrant and also didn't notice the artifacts and coloration problems that I tend to see with TV episodes or some TV films.

"Beauty & the Briefcase" definitely looks stylish and colorful and fans of the TV film will definitely enjoy this Blu-ray release.

AUDIO & SUBTITLES:

"Beauty & the Briefcase" is presented in DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1. The soundtrack is pretty much front and center-channel driven but noticed sometimes you will hear the music being played through the surround channels but dialogue is clear as with its musical soundtrack but for the most part, not an immersive lossless soundtrack. I was hoping to hear more crowd ambiance from the club scenes or the corporate building that Lane works but it's not well-utilized through the surround channels as I would have hoped for. But still, for those that don't have a home theater setup should be fine as the TV film is clear through the front and center channels.

Subtitles are presented in English and English SDH.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"Beauty & the Briefcase" comes with no special features but a trailer (1:07) for the film.

JUDGMENT CALL:

Before I begin with my review, I want to emphasize that this is an ABC Family TV film and if you are familiar with Gil Junger films such as "10 Things I Hate About You" and films or TV series with Hilary Duff, these two work well together for "Beauty & the Briefcase" as it is a simple romantic comedy and literally a film that showcases Hilary Duff, the young adult actress and separating her from the teenage characters that many are used to her playing.

Many audiences have grown up with watching Duff in "Lizzy McGuire" and so, to have her in a role as a young adult, working in the fashion world and looking beautiful as ever, her fans will definitely enjoy this film. Especially fans of Matt Dallas of the defunct ABC Family show "Kyle XY" and Chris Charmack of "The O.C.". The film also features Jaime Pressly and also a cameo appearance by Jennifer Coolidge ("American Pie", "Joey", "The Secret Life of the American Teenager").

So, first the good. The good news about "Beauty & The Briefcase" is it has its positive moments. Lane in New York, the cinematography featuring her walking through New York is beautiful, the vibrant colors featured in the film is beautiful and the "Sex and the City"-like storyline is going to appeal to many of the female viewers. It's a fun romantic comedy that has its charming moments but also its embarrassing moments and it works for an ABC Family TV film. It's stylishly cute and as a guy watching the film, I have to admit that Hilary Duff looks great!

But while "Sex and the City" worked because of its adult theme, it's the portrayal of Lane (Duff's character) that actually irked me. For one, it's seemed like a stereotypical role of portraying a dumb blonde. Yes, she's a journalist and obviously has intelligence but when she tries to get a job at the Investment company, her immature way of getting the job to how she would try to make her desk fashionable with beads and such, yes I understand she comes from the fashion world but I have met many women from the fashion industry and to portray them in this manner, is just crazy (especially in this day and age).

In one scene, while Lane's boss Tom (played by Michael McMillian) and Seth (played by Matt Dallas) are in a teleconference with their boss, Lane manages to get into the camera while putting files or books away and she is bending over and literally catching the eyes of their boss, as well as Tom and Seth.

Now, I don't if these type of scenes are detailed in Daniella Brodsky's book "Diary of a Working Girl" or these were added by Michael Horowitz. So, I'm not sure how the actually novel differs from the TV film adaptation.

Also, I didn't like the sudden shift of how Tom finds out that Lane has been working at the company undercover. It seemed too abrupt. But at the same time, there are differences on how feature films and TV films play out and everything is built around how sequences end before a commercial and how a scene begins after a commercial. It's the nature of TV films and when it comes to pacing, these things happen.

But another downer for me was the fact that there are no special features. It would have been great to have featurettes, blooper reels and if ABC Family did have these in their DVD releases of their TV series, I don't see why they couldn't add them to their TV film releases on Blu-ray. In this day and age, especially on Blu-ray, barebone Blu-ray releases are not cool!

But overall, "Beauty & the Briefcase" does have its charming and fun moments and despite how the characters are portrayed or the film's pacing, for those just wanting a not-so-serious but fun romantic comedy, this film may be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilary Has The It Factor!, March 13, 2011
This review is from: Beauty and the Briefcase (DVD)
I've been a fan of Hilary Duff for years, and I like most of the movies she has been in. Hilary has the it factor. I like how nice Hilary has always been. I think Hilary is one of the best actresses, and role models, and singers there is. She is great at everything she does, that's why she is so successful. This movie is hilarious. Hilary has a great sense of humor. Hilary plays Lane Daniels a journalist looking for the right man, her magic man. In this movie Lane fakes that she knows everything about business, to get a man, and a job of her dreams. It seems like everything is falling apart for Lane, because she lied, but it's not so bad after all. Lane gets a second chance redemption. At the end of this movie it made me tear up a little. Lane's perfect man has been in front of her the whole time, but she didn't see it, because she was too concentrated on finding the guy she wanted. It's sad Hilary hasn't been in as much movies as she was when she was younger. I can't wait to see more from her. Overall this movie will make you laugh a lot, and it's really great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute and romantic movie, May 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beauty and the Briefcase (DVD)
Hilary Duff doesn't disappoint in this flick that deals with the quest to find that special someone in life. My husband and I really enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the squeaky clean Hilary anymore., February 3, 2013
By 
Pooke (Kansas City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beauty and the Briefcase (DVD)
Hilary Duff's claim to fame was as a squeaky clean Disney star. She got her start there, and with that clean image, got lots of fans. Even after she left, she made some very family friendly films. Well, clean no more.

Hilary has come a long way down from the days when she was nervous about her role in A Cinderella Story because it included kissing her co-star. In this movie, there are lots of sexual references, talking about past sexual encounters, and bad language. Hillary's character thinks nothing of hopping into bed with a guy on the first date.

I would give this zero stars if that were an option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good hilary duff dvd, July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beauty and the Briefcase (DVD)
both love Hilary duff this was like pg13 good movie would recommend norma and brian newmeyer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars love Hillary Duff.., June 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beauty and the Briefcase (DVD)
I just love this movie, the fashions in this are great, I love how you hear what's she's thinking as well as her dialogue, it's real eye candy, so many men..... it shows you how you don't always know what you want....watch it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beauty and the Briefcase [Blu-ray]
Beauty and the Briefcase [Blu-ray] by Gil Junger (Blu-ray - 2011)
$17.97 $11.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.