Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No edits made to episodes in this volume
Unlike the first volume, where Mike Judge edited dialogue bits out of more than half the episodes, the dreaded "director's cuts" are nowhere to be found. Some reviewers here have suggested that this volume also contains altered versions of the cartoons, but all that is missing from them (as usual) are the music videos. The harsh fan reaction regarding the edited first...
Published on June 22, 2006 by TheBandit

versus
26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SEASON FOR THE ORIGINAL B&B FANS!!
I'm not a mainstream Beavis & Butthead fan...the fans that jumped on the bandwagon when they became popular. I was there from the beginning. Where the hell is FROG BASEBALL and BURGER WORLD. I want to see BURGER WARS!!!! There was a time when Beavis didn't even talk he just laughed (heh, heh, heh). Fire....Fire!!! I want Season 1,2,3. Just release them as...
Published on July 9, 2006 by Tram


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No edits made to episodes in this volume, June 22, 2006
Unlike the first volume, where Mike Judge edited dialogue bits out of more than half the episodes, the dreaded "director's cuts" are nowhere to be found. Some reviewers here have suggested that this volume also contains altered versions of the cartoons, but all that is missing from them (as usual) are the music videos. The harsh fan reaction regarding the edited first volume apparently got back to Mike Judge, because he made the right decision to keep this batch in their original form.

Contrary to some reviewers' claims, even after Volume 3 all the episodes will not have been released to DVD. Mike Judge has made it clear that Volumes 1-3 will contain roughly two-thirds of the total episodes. He considers the rest to be too poor to be included.

I happen to agree with Mike Judge that, generally speaking, the later episodes are actually better than the earlier ones. But I still strongly disagree with his decision to leave approximately one third of the episodes unreleased.

I'm glad the episodes collected here are complete. As for the bonus features, they are okay - I'm not sure there's really enough to justify the third disc. The main featurette (Taint of Greatness Pt 2) is only about 20 minutes long - several minutes shorter than part one - and is very heavy on episode clips. The selection of music videos is probably the only feature that most people will return to.

For those who have the Time-Life DVDs, you will find many duplicate episodes (though not quite as many as with the first volume).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This DVD rules!, May 25, 2006
Fans will be happy to hear that creator Mike Judge has not made any cuts to the episodes that comprise volume 2! As Beavis would says, "Cuts suck! THEY SUCK, SUCK, SUCK!"

Here is a breakdown of what the volume 2 box set will contain:

Disc # 1: Episodes

- Plastic Surgin'
- Stewart Moves Away
- Top O' the Mountain
- Bad Dog
- Lightning Strikes
- Party
- What's the Deal
- Wet Behind the Rears
- Animation Sucks
- Candy Sale
- Here Comes the Bride's Butt
- Pregnant Pause
- Oil Change
- History of Women
- Beavis, Can You Spare a Dime?
- Premature Evacuation
- Bang the Drum Slowly Dumbass
- Close Encounters
- Vidiots
- Tired

Disc # 2: Episodes

- Whiplash
- Spare Me
- Womyn
- Murder Site
- Another Friday Night
- Patsies
- Spanish Fly
- Sexual Harassment
- Green Thumbs
- Bus Trip
- Blood Pressure
- Feel a Cop
- US History
- Date Watchers
- Gang of Two
- Stewart is Missing
- Prank Call
- Babysitting
- Buttniks
- Bungholio: Lord of the Harvest

Disc # 3: Bonus Features ("Hee, he said 'bone'!"):

- Music Videos:

- Beastie Boys "Sabotage"
- Seaweed "Kid Candy"
- Pantera "I'm Broken"
- Mercyful Fate "The Bellwitch"
- Compulsion "Delivery"
- Madonna "Secret"
- Six Finger Satellite "Parlour Games"
- Pizzicato 5 "Twiggy, Twiggy"
- Rush "Stick It Out"
- Radiohead "Fake Plastic Trees"
- Extreme "Hole Hearted"
- Helium "Pat's Trick"
- MC 900 FT. JESUS "If I Only Had A Brain"

- Featurette: Taint of Greatness: The Journay of Beavis and Butt-head, Part 2

- Special Guest Appearances:

- Butt-Bowl '94
- Butt-Bowl '95
- Butt-Bowl '96
- Calvin Klein Ad Parodies
- MTV's 20th Anniversary Special
- Moron-A-Thon Clips featuring Snoop Dogg
- Unaired I Love the 90s Segment

- Beavis and Butt-head Promos

- Interactive Link to Mike Judge and Don Hertzfeldt's The Animation Show website
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The stupidity continues., September 13, 2006
Here is another round of Beavis and Butt-Head's trademark stupidity! Thankfully with this second collection of (selected) Beavis and Butt-Head classics, Mike Judge left the episodes intact.

One of my favorite episodes is "Beavis, Can You Spare a Dime?', where the boys learn how to beg from a beggar on the street. It becomes hilarious when the boys attempt to apply what they learned. Butt-Head informs a woman approaching that he 'was born without any arms or legs' -- and he's standing before her physically sound! The woman scolds him, and tells him what he's doing is not nice. In "Premature Evacuation", Highland High is faced with a bomb threat. School principal McVicker announces for the building to evacuate. Only Beavis and Butt-Head remain and seek out the bomb, with their expected shenanigans. What often amazes me with Beavis and Butt-Head is that they have no regard for being tidy. As they probe the school kitchen in search of the bomb, opening cabinets, they sort through the items, and thoughtlessly drop them on the floor, allowing the contents to spill out. Then they just keep moving without giving their careless actions another thought! When Beavis comes across the 'bomb' ticking away, he and Butt-Head fight over it while slipping on some of the spilled contents of the food items they dropped on the floor. For our beloved morons, keeping an explosive is 'cool'. They give no thought that their lives are in danger as they wrestle with it in their grip. Even when a bomb specialist arrives and orders them to release it, Butt-Head tells him "Uh...No!"

"Blood Pressure" has become another favorite episode of mine. At a grocery store, the boys come across a blood pressure machine, which they think is a kiddie ride. Beavis gets entrapped as the blood pressure contraption (I don't know the actual name for it) on Beavis' wrist tightens as his blood pressure is taken. Thanks to his stupidity, Butt-Head is unable to read the instructions on pressing the `Release' button to free Beavis, whose blood circulation is getting cut. Beavis' gradual purple complexion reflects that. What's even more stupid (and hilarious), Butt-Head later shows the suffering Beavis a box of `Defends' (the parody version of Depends) adult diapers he came across in seeking help, and makes jokes about it. Poor Beavis attempts to laugh - then pleads with Butt-Head to go get help. "Uh - Oh, yeah!", Butt-Head utters, now remembering his mission to go find help. He shortly returns with a saw. How much stupid can you get?

This collection also contains the episode "Spare Me", where they create havoc trying to change a flat tire for two girls who feign interest in them. This episode has special meaning for me as this was the episode I watched by accident in late 2005, during one of B and B's "Moronothons" on MTV. Like most people, I never liked Beavis and Butt-Head, from the negative press I've seen and read about. But it was this episode that changed my attitude. I found myself gradually laughing at each calamity. Now, I'm a big B and B fan! I love them!

The last cartoon, "Bungholio: Lord of the Harvest" is the Beavis and Butt-Head Halloween special, and is a parody of the "Friday the 13th" movies. As most fans already know, Beavis later becomes his alter ego, Cornholio, after consuming a bowl of Mr. Anderson's Halloween candy, and leaving no candy for an annoyed Butt-Head.

Other pluses about this Volume 2 collection: After every two episodes, Mike Judge included the `station breaks', with the Beavis and Butt-Head 'cameo' logo often shown on the t.v. series before the commercials. The announcer often makes a fictional statement regarding B and B, such as: "Coming up: Butt-Head helps an old lady across Snake Canyon. Stay tuned." - with violin music played. I thought that was super! I love all the extras on Disc 3, including the `Moronathon' snippets with rapper Snoop Dogg (whom B and B like very much), and "I Love the `90's" featurette.

Best of all, I love the promo for the Volume 3 set, which depicts, like a drama, the boys' ups and downs of their friendship. This also shows episodes from B and B's last season. I later found out on Wikipedia.com the dramatic music is from the film "Brokeback Mountain". The next-to-last part of the promo, with the boys walking off into the sunset together (I won't reveal the episode), and with the clip of their first cartoon, and screen pairing, "Frog Baseball" adds a nice touch. Brilliant and well done, Mike! The preview for Judge's "Animation Show" is also nice, with the score from Bizet's "Carmen".

As I've mentioned in my review for Volume 1, the Mike Judge Collections will all become collectors' items. These dvds may not have all of the earlier episodes - yet. I'm still pretty hopeful Mike Judge will come around in due time and release them, after the fans' complaints and requests for them. But these dvds all have extras that the Time-Life "Beavis and Butt-Head" dvd sets completely lack. B and B's special appearances on MTV, promos, the music videos Judge was able to put on the dvds; even the B and B `station breaks', and the "Taint of Greatness" interviews with Judge discussing how the cartoon series developed, are gems! Thank you, Mike Judge.

I love this Volume 2 set. And, nope, I'm not selling mine, either! Sorry! Until my next review of Volume 3, which I happily own, happy viewing! Rock On, Beavis and Butt-Head! Love you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SEASON FOR THE ORIGINAL B&B FANS!!, July 9, 2006
I'm not a mainstream Beavis & Butthead fan...the fans that jumped on the bandwagon when they became popular. I was there from the beginning. Where the hell is FROG BASEBALL and BURGER WORLD. I want to see BURGER WARS!!!! There was a time when Beavis didn't even talk he just laughed (heh, heh, heh). Fire....Fire!!! I want Season 1,2,3. Just release them as Seasons....let us be the judge of what is good and what sucks. I want full episodes with videos included. EVERY TV SHOW IS LIKE THIS ON DVD. Why is this one different?! DEMAND FULL EPISODES AND FULL SEASONS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vastly Superior To Volume 1, June 13, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I remember the 90s very well. First analyzing movies, getting into music videos, growing up into the conservative person I am today. One of my fondest memories was hearing a pastor preach why "Beavis and His Friend" were horrible role models because "they burned things".

But that was never the reason that Mike Judge's unbelievable idiotic creations were funny. Sure, the two losers can be hysterical in their clueless quests for money, fame, and sex --- which neither know what to do once they get any of those opportunities. But this show was funnier because of the adults' reactions to Beavis and Butthead's moronic behavior. Mike Judge's satire wasn't only about the youth culture, but also how blind older generations were to their own beliefs. These two losers are like Jay and Silent Bob - they're only as humorous as the world around them.

Revisiting this show has been interesting. I thought VOLUME ONE was solid at best, but for different reasons than most. I never missed the music videos intermissions (in which Beavis and Butthead did MST3K-style commentary) or the "deleted footage" (which was supposedly just a few lines per episode). I would give VOLUME ONE 4 stars because it's funny, but not great. VOLUME TWO, on the other hand, is side-splitting from start to finish.

There's no real secret to why VOLUME TWO is much better than the first collection of episodes. The video and audio quality are cleaner; I've read that's because most of these episodes are from the later seasons. There are gags and jokes that play off some of VOLUME ONE's episodes, and each of the "sequels" that I remember were even better than their predecessors. We get Part 2 of the "Taint of Greatness" documentary; this DVD marketting strategy doesn't bother me, because each part is detailed and interesting. The Extras include more music videos and a few other goodies. But the obvious reason why VOLUME TWO is better is just because the episodes are much funnier. The writing, voice-acting, time length, and finishes are simply excellent. Each episode starts strong, keeps momentum, and has a good payoff.

Expecting this show to be released in the original season format complete with music videos is hoping George Lucas will give the original cuts of the STAR WARS trilogy a deluxe treatment. It Just Won't Happen! In the case of BEAVIS AND BUTTHEAD, there are too many licensing issues regarding the videos, plus Judge reportedly thinks some of the episodes are terrible.

It's not as if BEAVIS AND BUTTHEAD has any running storyline or continuity to the characters. Other than the occasional reappearance of a character or running gag, you could watch these episodes in any order. A bad episode would always be a bad episode, and vice versa.

I usually suggest you buy a TV DVD starting with the 1st Season, but with this show, you can make an exception. This is the rare show where you don't have to be a completist to enjoy it. VOLUME TWO of the Mike Judge's BEAVIS AND BUTTHEAD Collection is hilarious! If you want to revisit these characters but wanna avoid the roadblocks, you can pick up VOLUME TWO with no regrets. If you love it, then maybe purchase the other two volumes for the "Taint of Greatness" documentary...or the music videos...<SIGH>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Box set 3 will be the last set..., July 15, 2006
By 
There is a preview in Box set #2 , in which he makes a commercial like that of BrokeBack Mountain in which he says the final 42 episodes on DVD in Set 3..

Shame on you Mr. Judge.. only 120 episodes out of about 200+ are getting the DVD digital cut?

in the words of your own created characters..you suck!! Rent it when it comes out 8/1/2006 and reminisce what a great show it was despite Fart-knocker Mike Judge limiting his release of titles..

Mike Judge the ultimate tool..

huh huh, he said tool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This sucks!, December 19, 2006
Hi everyone....... I can understand that it would probably be a nightmare, not to mention, cost a helluva lot of money, to get permission to use all of the music video clips from B&B. Unfortunately, some of the best of B&B came from the video clips. My advice is to save your money, and check out ebay. There are many DVDs on there of B&B. One seller is arize408 or something like that. He has made DVDs from his video tape collection. All 206 episodes taped from TV, commercial free, etc.

Dang it, I'm sick of edited and so called "director's cut" DVDs!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These wienerheads sure make me laugh, July 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Uhhhh huhuhuh hey beavis, pull my finger. Some people whine about the episodes not being released in original order. I am simply happy they are released. It's always nice to jump back to the mindset of a 14 year old hormone-driven teenager. I also liked the extra features and the videos. That one when they make fun of my three sons is on here. Mike Judge is one sick puppy who through his childish sense of humor never ceases to make me laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it got me goin!, June 1, 2006
By 
i've been watching beavis and butthead on mtv2 lately and i forgot how great that show was! however i think im gonna buy the 2nd one first or pick up a cheap used copy of the first one. that is...if the 2nd one isnt censored. If only mike judge would read our reviews on here and see that we want uncensored box sets and not selected episodes. "Damn we're smooth!" -Beavis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I hate to use an "80's adjective," but: this is EXCELLENT!, June 14, 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (God's Wrath, Ohio) - See all my reviews
I'll be quick and succinct here: "B&B Vol. 2" cannot be improved on. And with The "Dogg-Meister," himself, Snoop trading quips with B&B on the third disc? You have # 1 already, and you know damn well you'll get #3 when it comes out this August. So get #2 now. It'll make you feel like...uh...huh-huh-huh, when you were younger, back in the '90s, and you were, huh-huh-huh, surreptitiously watching "late nite TV, in HOPES...."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.