Customer Reviews

83
4.1 out of 5 stars
Because I Can
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$9.95 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on February 16, 2004
"Because I Can" is my new favorite accidental find, an album I ran across at the music store and simply can't stop listening to. I had never heard of Katy Rose before, and all of the songs were unfamiliar. And yet, they're absolutely infectious.
I can hear some of Katy's influences in her style. Her vocal range and variety of music hearkens back to Fiona Apple's first album "Tidal," while her raw honesty and sometimes brutal lyrics remind me a bit of Liz Phair's "Whip-Smart." I've also learned that Katy is currently touring with Liz Phair, which seems like a good match to me.
Listeners who try out the album's first single, "Overdrive," and dismiss Katy Rose as "another Avril Levigne" are missing out. While Avril is certainly talented in her own way, she gets along in her vocals primarily by yelling them. Katy Rose, on the other hand, is a singer of exceptional talent for her young years, and listening to all of the album's songs reveals a sense of poetry in the written word and a voice with range and control. The vocals at the beginning of "Enchanted" and throughout "Snowflakes" and "Because I Can," for example, showcase a soft touch not even hinted at in "Overdrive."
The instrumentation of most of the songs is an irresistable power-pop, heavy on the guitars and drums, with some occasional electronic rhythms added to good effect. There are a couple slower songs which add to the variety presented, but in all cases the music goes along well with Katy's voice and the lyrics she is singing.
The lyrics themselves are complex, clever, and unique -- sometimes harsh as a slap and sometimes soft as a feather. It was in this area that I was most strongly reminded of Fiona Apple, whose lyrics often have similar characteristics. Katy Rose isn't copying Fiona, though... she's definitely expressing herself in her own way. It is the singularity and honesty of the lyrics which make me think of Fiona, not any specific words. From "I broke my crown while kissing/little flowers" (from "Enchanted") to "When you say you'll always be there/It paints such a lovely picture/But no matter how you frame it/It's still pornography" (from "Glow"), there's a little something for everyone on this album, and it's all good.
I enjoy all of the songs on "Because I Can," and the CD has been playing almost constantly since I bought it. My favorite songs are "Glow," "Snowflakes," "Watching the Rain," and "Because I Can." In this music I hear a lot of talent, some of which may yet be untapped. I will surely be listening for more to come from Katy Rose.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on September 12, 2004
Katy Rose is a refreshing deviation from standard punkier-than-thou Avril/Lillix-etc.-fare.

Though some of the lyrics veer on the pretentious, this is a great offering from such a genre, especially from a young teenage performer, who are so often misrepresenting the entire age-group as lacking in sufficient talent.

It's funny, sarcastic, and somehow touching to hear the human issues faced by someone of her age, in an eloquent and engaging way. The melodies are also very well crafted and catchy.

I do hope she gets more recognition in the future.

If you think Avril is almost good but hopelessly lame and frustrating, do pick up this album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on January 31, 2004
I first heard of Katy Rose through the movie Thirteen. Catherine Hardwicke, who co-wrote the script to the movie with Nikki Reed, heard Katy's songs, and decided that she must have her on the soundtrack. In fact, she eventually selects two songs, "Overdrive" and "Lemon," because she found Katy Rose so right.
Katy Rose has a remarkable range as far as the songs she has on her album Because I Can. Many people have already heard of her single "Overdrive," but I can honestly say that it is not a true representation of Katy Rose. The only way one can truly appreciate Katy Rose as a talent is to listen to the whole album in order to get the full effect. You will get a wholly different impression after listening to the album than you would if you just listened to her single.
Her songs range from the poppy sounds of "Overdrive" and "Teachin' Myself To Dream" to the melancholic and even dark sounds of "Lemon" and "Because I Can," the former practically becoming the unofficial anthem of the movie Thirteen. On other tracks she switches from depressed to manic and angry with songs such as "Catch My Fall" and "I Like." "Catch My Fall" is probably the most frenzied composition out of all the songs on the album with a complex yet catchy beat; the beginning of the song literally begins with her screaming. Other songs which strike a somewhat mournful if not soulful tone include "Enchanted" and "Snowflakes." Perhaps the most poetic song is "Watching The Rain"; it actually sounds more like a poem than a song with the almost conversational manner in which she sings. The range is quite impressive for a freshman artist; you'll have to listen to other songs to see for yourself. You don't have to take my word for it.
If the end product of pain is great works of art and expression, then Katy Rose has no doubt suffered her share of it. I believe she has admitted in some interviews that she has been in counseling for depression and her periods of, in her words, "self-destruction." It is quite obvious, at least to me, she poured herself into this album, and she's quite a talent being able to play the keyboards and handle a guitar; you should see her perform live if possible. Good can come from things in life that seem pretty bad.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on February 12, 2004
It's easy as first glance to want to compare her to Avril, but trust me, one listen to her album, and you'll see how different she is. First of all, she's not selling an "anti-Britney" image. She's not trying to be "punk" or "hardcore" or a "badgirl"- and she's not against any artist. She's fully herself. (Plus, her album was done before Avril's even came out,lol)
Most importantly, she's an ACTUAL musician who really does write her own songs, and plays three instruments- guitar, keyboards, and drums. She knows what she's talking about. The album is so good- it's different and interesting. Her lyrics are smart, honest, fresh, sarcastic, and obviously very heartfelt. The album has a California garage-rock sound, with the occasional touch of symphonica. Critics have already compared her to early Liz Phair or even PJ Harvey. Katy isn't the best singer, technically, but her voice is wonderfully complex- one minute light and airy like a child, the next, screaming and desperate. On "Vacation", which describes escaping the catholic private school she attended growing up, she sounds hung-over and shaky during the verses, and then escalates to a frantic scream during the chorus. "You don't know how crazy people say I am/you're running in the deep end Katy, why don't you give a damn?" she sings- and you can't help but believe her. "Catch My Fall" begins with her screaming bloody murder before going into a high energy, funky (yet accessible) punk rock guitar riff. The slow, jazzy "Snowfkales" has Katy singing about her hometown of LA, sounding like a lougne singer wise beyond her years. Her coversational vocal on "Original Skin" is perfect for the songs simple lyrics- "I'm outside/ Let me in/ I'm still shedding my original skin". "Because I Can" closes the album, and it's an appropriate end. Katy sounds her age (16), innocent yet jaded at the same time. The song is a stripped- down acoustic ballad about a longing for personal freedom and comfort. Throughout the album, you'll find themes of depression, self-loathing, isolation and even idealism, and Katy sounds completely convincing on rock flavored tracks, as well as the more pop- oriented songs.
So pick up a great new rock album- Katy Rose's "Because I Can"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on January 29, 2004
It's easy as first glance to want to compare her to Avril, but trust me, one listen to her album, and you'll see how different she is. First of all, she's not selling an "anti-Britney" image. She's not trying to be "punk" or "hardcore" or a "badgirl"- and she's not against any artist. She's fully herself. (Plus, her album was done before Avril's even came out,lol)
The album is so good- it's different and interesting. Honestly, the clips on her website don't do it justice. Her lyrics are smart, honest, fresh, sarcastic, and obviously very heartfelt. The album has a California garage-rock sound, with the occasional touch of symphonica. Critics have already compared her to early Liz Phair or even PJ Harvey. Katy isn't the best singer, technically, but her voice is wonderfully complex- one minute light and airy like a child, the next, screaming and desperate. On "Vacation", which describes escaping the catholic private school she attended growing up, she sounds hung-over and shaky during the verses, and then escalates to a frantic scream during the chorus. "You don't know how crazy people say I am/you're running in the deep end Katy, why don't you give a damn?" she sings- and you can't help but believe her. "Catch My Fall" begins with her screaming bloody murder before going into a high energy, funky (yet accessible) punk rock guitar riff. The slow, jazzy "Snowfkales" has Katy singing about her hometown of LA, sounding like a lougne singer wise beyond her years. Her coversational vocal on "Original Skin" is perfect for the songs simple lyrics- "I'm outside/ Let me in/ I'm still shedding my original skin". "Because I Can" closes the album, and it's an appropriate end. Katy sounds her age (16), innocent yet jaded at the same time. The song is a stripped- down acoustic ballad about a longing for personal freedom and comfort. Throughout the album, you'll find themes of depression, self-loathing, isolation and even idealism, and Katy sounds completely convincing on rock flavored tracks, as well as the more pop- oriented songs. Unbelievable. Trust me, this girl has the potential to be something legendary.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 20, 2004
If you take the songs you like and put them on a CD like I did...well then there's nothing not to like. =)
Seriously though, among my favorites were "Because I Can" done in a dreamy little girl voice about wanting to escape through the looking glass... Something I really didn't expect from the almost Avril-like-doesn't-care-bad-girl she has been portrayed as by press.etc. I see her as completely different. Another favorite is "Teaching Myself To Dream" which shows she actually does have a singing voice and if you didn't know any better, one could swear it was a (sadder) Mandy Moore song (after her first album of course). She sounds just like her! "Vacation" is edgier.
"i like" is okay. I LOVE, love , love "Snowflake" and "Lemon" very sad soulful and pretty. Avoid the title track because it's dull, "Enchanted" is okay also, goes back to the little girl voice. The ones not mentioned are just not pleasant on the ears, but the CD is worth getting just for:
Because I Can
Teaching Myself To Dream
Snowflake
Lemon
go get it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on November 25, 2004
I bought the Katy Rose CD a few months ago. Soon after, I went on a road trip from Virginia to Wisconsin, listening mostly to just this CD. The lyrics take you on a rollercoaster ranging from happy, bouncy tunes (Overdrive, Vacation) to mournful, melencholy songs (Snowflakes, Because I Can), to semi-typical pop-rock tracks (Glow, Catch My Fall). Each song is so different from the first, that I feel I should review each their own...(scale of 1 to 5)

Overdrive - I'd give this song a 3.5. Mostly because it just doesn't have the kind of charm the other songs seem to possess. It does however provide a cheerful remedy for the more sad tracks on the album.

I Like - I'll give it a 4! This song starts out sounding a bit angry and driving, but soon turns into a forward-looking, almost a bit optimistic view of whoever it's being sung about in the refrain.

Watching the Rain - Another 3.5. The lyrics are lovely, but the way the verses are basically spoken take away from its beauty. I'd love to hear a version of this being sung, then it would deserve a 5.

Enchanted - I'll definently give this song a 5. Katy's way with words shines through in this track! It conveys images and ideas seeming to come from a tottally different place, taking you away from the world, almost.

Catch My Fall - Hmm, this one is a 2. The lyrics aren't all that good, and the singers in the background of the refrain make it sound rather cheesy. In fact, the song nearly sounds whiny, but not quite. This is definently not one of my favorites.

Snowflakes - Ooh, this is a total 5. The music and lyrics come together in such a wonderful manner! This song ventures from the typical "Oh, I wish I wasn't here" song, and is the polar opposite of any song about the sun.

Glow - This one deserves a 4.5! "Glow"'s optimistic message is a pick-me-up after "Snowflakes", and that's a very good thing. That's about it, really.

Teaching Myself to Dream - 5. This song is simply beautiful! It's not a happy song, but not a sad one either. The lyrics are so moving, that once you hear the song you will end up in a completely different mood than before.

Vacation - I'll give it a 4. I find this song rather amusing, really. The words have a much different flair then the other songs on this CD. Whenever I hear this song, I feel like jumping up and playing air guitar. ^_^

Original Skin - An undoubtable 5! The guitar work is awesome, and her voice sings the lyrics like no one else could. The music's simplicity fits the words perfectly; not heavy and not too light.

Lemon - Yet another 5. "Lemon"'s dreamy sound and lyrics make the song quite interesting. The refrain is rather dark and eerie, "Dreaming a song/Blood on my hands/To stay strong/The flowers in the graveyard are all gone/I don't belong/There is no right to heal the wrong"

Beacause I Can - If I could, I'd give it a 50. But on this scale, I'll give it a 5! This song is by far my favorite on the album. Its music is very quiet, complimenting Katy's quiet vocals this time around. The lyrics nearly drive me to tears, they're quite poignant.

Well, that's it! Averaging those ratings, it comes out 4.2916. I'll call that a 5 which this CD has definently earned!

-Narushyennaya
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
This Cd,"Because I Can" Is Very Good. I Have Not Taken Out Of My Stereo Since I Bought It. It Has Good Tracks. It Has A Teen Feeling/Mood
1.Overdrive(5/5)Good Song Once You've Heard It Like 3 Times You Start Liking It Alot.
2.I Like(5/5)Very Good Song. Has Like A Kind Of Rebel Tone And Very Punkish.
3.Whatching The Rain(4/5)Preety Good song. Kind Of has A Popish Sound But Still Has Rockish Tone.
4.Enchanted(5/5)Very Good Song. If You Liked Evenescence-"My Immortal", Then You'll Defenintly Like This One.
5.Catch My Fall(4/5)Kind Of Cool It's Probobly The Only One That Kinda Makes You Beet someone Up. Weird Huh?
6.Snowflakes(5/5)Very Good Song. Shows How Much a Teenager Feels And Wants to Do.
7.Glow(5/5) GREAT song. Makes You Feel Positive And That Love Can't Bring You Down. Sounds Corny But It's Not Its A Very Cool song. Kind Of Like The First Track "overdrive".
8.Teachin' Myself Dream(4/5) Good Song Kind Of Relaxes You.
9.Vacation(4/5)Cool. It's A Realy punk Song.
10.Original Skin(4/5) Good Song.
11.Lemon(10/5) GREATEST SONG!!!!.VERY<VERY GOOD SONG. Lyrics Are Great. It Has A Message For All Teens.It Really Helps Me.I Think That It Is The Greatest Song. All My Friends Love It Too And They Don't Even Listen To This Kind of Music.It's Worth The Money.
12.Because I Can(4/5) Good Song. Very Charming.
So This Cd Is Defenintly Worth Your Money. You Will Not Be Desapointed. You Will Love The Song "Lemon" Guaranteed.
(...) This Album Buy It. You'll Love It.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on June 8, 2004
The Britney era brought us fake music from fake model artist and overshadowed real talent. So naturally when we see a pretty girl like Katty, people will speculate and complain that she is a pop princess in sheeps clothing.
There has also been speculation that Katy Rose is nothing more then an Avril Lavigne rip off. Sure Katy has the same honesty and power in her music, but the style is totally different. Don't expect the same anger alternative rock style the we hear from Avril. Katy Roses first CD is a return to the early 90s alternative sounds that were so good. She sounds like a mix of the breeders, poe, garbage, The Innocence Mission, and Fiona Apple. Her song Snowflake completely sounds like Fionna Apple.
Lets not be angry that she doesn't completely produce and write her own songs. Did we get mad at Elton John? Sometimes when you get some help, you can turn out a better quality ablum and thats what we have here. Personally I'm sick of the days when you bought a CD and only got 2 or 3 good songs. This CD has all good songs and I don't care how that was achieved..
I reccomend that young fans of Katy Rose rediscover 90s artist like Fiona Apple.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 16, 2005
It kills me to hear that people compare Katy to Avril! They are two completely different people with two completely different styles of music. Katy is much much much x298485 more deep. Sounds lame, but her music helped me heaps during my period of the usual 'depressed teenager' stage. Her musics so psycadelic-ish, if thats the word.

1. Overdrive - 3.5/5 Good song, overplayed though and Katy said herself that this song wasn't "her".

2. I Like - 5/5 One of my favs on the CD. Loud

3. Watching The Rain - 3/5 An alright song. It grows on you.

4. Enchanted - 4/5 I like this song. It's just nice to listen to and sad.

5. Catch My Fall - 4/5 This is another cool song. Rockier like 'I Like' and upbeat.

6. Snowflake - 3/5 Meh, average. A bit boring.

7. Glow - 3/5 This song hasn't ever really grown on me. But it's listenable.

8. Teachin' Myself To Dream - 4/5 I love this song. I love the lyrics, the tune. The whole package really.

9. Vacation - 5/5 This songs so awesome! It's so "F*** YOU!". I love that.

10. Original Skin - 3.5/5 Another good song. Not a standout though.

11. Lemon - 5/5 OMG! This song used to make me cry so bad. It's amazing .. to me anyway.

12. Because I Can - 4/5 A good song. The lyrics kind of make it what it is.

Overall, a good CD. An alternative style and not the usual girl pop/rock that your used to. Recommended for teens especially.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.