Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arsenal For Attacking Flawed Presentations
A presentor is usually happy when people pose questions, as long as they are not critical questions. Most of the time the audience doesn't pose any questions because they simply don't know what questions to ask or how to formulate those questions.
The prinicipal points of this book:
Establishing the issue and the conclusion.
- Knowing and agreeing with the...
Published on September 21, 2003 by M. Bennett

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars school book
it was a book needed for school, and I hate sallie mae or i guess paying for my never ending school loan.
Published 12 months ago by rquiles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arsenal For Attacking Flawed Presentations, September 21, 2003
A presentor is usually happy when people pose questions, as long as they are not critical questions. Most of the time the audience doesn't pose any questions because they simply don't know what questions to ask or how to formulate those questions.
The prinicipal points of this book:
Establishing the issue and the conclusion.
- Knowing and agreeing with the counterpart on the issue prevents us from veering off away from the subject of discussion. People like chaning the issue when they feel trapped.
- Listening to the person's conclusion about the mentioned issue which will indicate the person's opinion.
What are the reasons for their arguments on a certain suject?
- Reasoning takes many roads but often we don't know how to counter weak reasoning. Key words that give way to faulty reasoning with no substance to back up the argument.
Finding words that are ambiguous
- Counterparts discussing a subject, saying the same thing with several key words but some words have many meanings. Make sure you are talking about the same thing.
What are the value conflicts and assumptions?
- Value conflicts are explosive because of different political, religous and moral beliefs. A speaker who is devoutly religious will try and bring biblical arguments in to reasoning which for someobdy who is an athiest, would mean absolutely nothing.
How good is the evidence: Appeals to authority and testamonials.
- Probably one of the most abused factors in supporting an argument. How often have you heard, "Experts on the subject state 70% of medical doctors say x,y and z habits are great for your health". Don't forget to ask who the authority is. The more general authority and testamonials are the weaker the argument. The authors of many surveys make them biased. e.g. If scientific study has proven that smoking is good for your health and the author of the article is a lobbyist for the tobbaco industry, could it be possible that the author has something to gain from the study? If so ask what other authors or experts say about the subject. The so called industry specific gurus who give their testamonials are in most cases biased, because they have something to gain with the report.
Deceptive statistics are also factors that need to be examined closely. When a presentor starts talking about averages and percentages, ask which average and how large the sampeling was on people who took the survey. You would be surprised about how many presentors do not know anything about the facts they are presenting.
The author does not only wirte about critical thinking but has included many exercises to acitvate the reader to look for faulty reasoning and how to build up questions to counter evidence being presented. It is a great introduction text to critical thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaching Students to THINK!, February 6, 2001
By 
B. West Ph.D. (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
I first utilized this excellent book in undergraduate classes about a year ago.I enjoyed using it and it received accolades from the students, (once they realized that sometimes, thinking is WORK!)
It is "user-friendly", and the segments in each chapter are short but concise. There are numerous exercises after each section so that the student can put to immediate use, their newly acquired knowledge.
But I believe the highest praise came from the students that jokingly complained, "I can't think the same way anymore!" They had become "Critical Thinkers". And we can certainly use all of those that we can get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book changed my life!, May 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Critical Thinker: A User Friendly Manual (6th Edition) (MyThinkingLab Series) (Paperback)
I'm a very curious person. Inquisitive in all fields. I have been looking for a book to help me reason better since it's really the foundation for anything you want to learn. I was incredibly pleased with this book. It's really the best $55 I've spent in a long time.

The author really gives you much for your money. He covers everything Logical Fallacies to Social Psychology (Cognitive Dissonance) to Conflict Resolution.

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK to anyone wanting to learn how to think clearly (or clearer).

P.S. I AM NOT AFFILIATED WITH THE AUTHOR IN ANY WAY, SHAPE, OR FORM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a easy and fun read. I totally recommend it for students or anyone that are testing on elements of critical thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, September 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Critical Thinker: A User Friendly Manual (6th Edition) (MyThinkingLab Series) (Paperback)
Very easy to understand, and great for everything we are learning in my class. Definitely a great approach to being a critical thinker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book for college course, July 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Ordered this book for our daughter's college term. It was used, but still in good condition and better than paying the higher price for her to only need it for ten weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, November 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Critical Thinker: A User Friendly Manual (6th Edition) (MyThinkingLab Series) (Paperback)
Great condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Critical Thinker: A User Friendly Manual (6th Edition) (MyThinkingLab Series) (Paperback)
A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very satisfied!!, September 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Critical Thinker: A User Friendly Manual (6th Edition) (MyThinkingLab Series) (Paperback)
The book is excellent quality and it arrived just in time for my class!! I was able to track it easily and I will definitely rent from this person again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, September 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Becoming a Critical Thinker: A User Friendly Manual (6th Edition) (MyThinkingLab Series) (Paperback)
my book arrived very early and it arrived in perfect condition, what I got was exactly what was written in the description. excellent service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Becoming a Critical Thinker: A User Friendly Manual (6th Edition) (MyThinkingLab Series)
$103.80 $79.68
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.