Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Look Park Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
30
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$41.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 3, 2006
Be prepared to spend tons of time reading, answering multiple choice questions, hunting down answers in the back of this clumsy oversized book. It is too much of a pretty good thing. Needs reworking and a good editor to trim it down and make it more user friendly. It has more words in it than the book Becoming an Emotionally Focued Couple Therapist and duplicates lots that is in that book. They need to redo this and its companion as a set. Right now it is only the covers that go together.
0Comment| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2006
For me, this book supplied the logical missing piece after finishing the EFT Externship and beginning the supervision process. The book enabled me to reinforce on my own and at my own pace the steps, stages and interventions that I learned in the group context. Using this valuable tool, I was able to slow down and clarify the parts of the model which had been unclesr to me previously. The chapter on Impasses in EFT was an especially nice bonus. This book was the most valuable EFT book I have used thus far. Well worth the price. Paula Zerfoss, LCSW
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2013
Great workbook as far as they go, it was used in my Masters to complement the book, the book is great but I wouldn't buy the workbook unless you are unfamiliar with EFT or have a bad memory and need to reinforce.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
This is a great workbook for learning Emotionally Focused Therapy. It is a good companion to "Creating Connection: The Practice of Emotionally Focused Couple Therapy. If you learn the model better from a workbook than from reading, this is a great way to learn EFT.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
A well-written workbook that helps you apply EFT to your work with couples and to your own relationships. Like it's person-centered theoretical roots, the workbook helps you self-reflect as a way of connecting with the material.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
Very helpful companion to the Practice of Emotionally Focused Therapy: Creating Connections book. EFT uses interventions that stretch a therapist to really tune into emotion and slow down the process of therapy. The exercises and transcripts provided in the workbook really help increase the therapists focus and skill.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
In addition to the clarification of the steps from beginning to end, this gives useful questions to ask at every stage and summaries of the characteristics of a variety of attachment sub-categories to make them easier to identify. It is a "must have" for any therapist working with EFT.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
Evidence-based and well written. Best marriage counselling training I've seen. Much more effective therapy since studying her workbook. Clients respond quicker and make more progress.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2015
By and far the best theory for coupe therapy. Based on the most current research in attachment, this approach offers more success in helping my clients recover from relational distress and build new bonds than anything other approach. Additionally, Johnson describes the process in a such a pragmatic and experiential way, any therapist can improve their work with both couples and individuals as they begin to understand how foundational attachment theory is in therapy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2013
I've been working from an attachment standpoint for some time and in the process of sharpening EFT skills...I thought the content of this workbook was very good- but I made the mistake of buying the Kindle edition and wasted $18 in the process. BUY THE BOOK; but buy a hardcopy: you'll be glad you did when you're completing the helpful exercises and frequently referencing the rear of the book for answers.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse