Customer Reviews


180 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collects thee episodes of the acclaimed documentary series NOVA
Becoming Human: Unearthing Our Earliest Ancestors collects thee episodes of the acclaimed documentary series NOVA exploring what the latest scientific discoveries tell us about the earliest human ancestors - and what makes us human today. The first episode, "Selam", shows how clues from the remains of a 3 million year-old child suggest why and how humanity first came down...
Published on March 13, 2010 by Midwest Book Review

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MADE BY KOCH/EXXON
The whole thing was very interesting. Unfortunately, the conclusion drawn at the end of the first episode is absurd. Knowing that it was made with money from Exxon and David Koch helps to explain that. Humans developed in an area of local climate fluctuations. That is NOT the same thing as the climate change we are causing ALL OVER THE PLANET right now. Any suggestion...
Published 7 months ago by dzinejunke


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collects thee episodes of the acclaimed documentary series NOVA, March 13, 2010
This review is from: Becoming Human (DVD)
Becoming Human: Unearthing Our Earliest Ancestors collects thee episodes of the acclaimed documentary series NOVA exploring what the latest scientific discoveries tell us about the earliest human ancestors - and what makes us human today. The first episode, "Selam", shows how clues from the remains of a 3 million year-old child suggest why and how humanity first came down from the trees and started walking upright. The second episode applies forensics to the mystery of "Turkana Boy", a fossil of Home erectus, the first human ancestor to leave Africa and begin colonization of the globe. What caused this African exodus? The final episode, "Becoming Human", examines how human capacities for art, invention, and survival developed, and the mystery of humanity's interaction with the early Neanderthals. Did humans interbreed with Neanderthals, or cause their extermination? Why did "we" survive when other ancestral cousins died out? An extraordinary collection, and a choice pick especially for public library DVD collections and the libraries of anyone curious about the origins of humanity in prehistoric times. 3 hours, widescreen, closed captioned. Also highly recommended is the NOVA documentary "What Are Dreams? Inside the Sleeping Brain" (56 min., widescreen, closed captioned).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding documentary, April 6, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Becoming Human (DVD)
I love this DVD. Great visuals, great narration and fairly up-to-date. It's the sort of documentary one can watch many times.

I highly recommend "Becomming Human". Nova does great work and this is one of their best, in my view. This is a brilliant overview of the human story and as humans we should all know that story!

In addition to "Becoming Human," I also recommend the following DVDs:

Walking With Cavemen

Evolution Boxed Set

National Geographic - Search for the Ultimate Survivor

--Guy P. Harrison, author of "Race and Reality: What Everyone Should Know About Our Biological Diversity" and "50 Reasons People Give for Believing in a God" (a skeptical analysis of common justifications for religious belief)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odyssey in Our Hominoid Past to Meet Our Earliest Ancestors, June 1, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Becoming Human (DVD)
NOVA does a great job of explaining to its audience how Homo Sapiens ultimately became the "winner-take-all" hominoid species. On location photography, interviews with renowned experts, and computer-generated animation allow viewers to better understand how Homo Sapiens became the final (read current) outcome of a long evolution spread over millions of years. Viewers should not be surprised that this investigation of our ancestors will be the subject of an updated documentary. For example, the researchers of the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology recently revised their initial conclusions that there was no interbreeding at all between Homo Sapiens and Homo Neanderthalis based on their further study of their respective ADN. In summary, NOVA makes a noteworthy contribution to vulgarizing the science of evolutionary anthropology to the attention of a wide audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More irrefutable evidence that evolution is real, December 25, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Becoming Human [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
An outstanding choice for anyone who is curious who we are and where we come from. This is a very well presented documentary that presents the overwhelming evidence of our origins. They do a really good job of showing how they test hypotheses with empirical evidence and laboratory procedures. In this outstanding presentation they show how (DNA) genetic conservation also very strongly supports the theory of our origins. Becoming Human [Blu-ray]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good overview..., February 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Becoming Human (DVD)
While a tad outdated, at the time this series was made much of the information was up-to-date and they are careful NOT to state that anything is the final answer. Interesting, detailed, a tad slow and sometimes filled with drama, it also has a lot of humor. Maybe did tell me a tad too much about lice than I ever wanted to know but very well done.
Now, it was three episodes, so there is some overlap of information and, yes, they do use the computer graphics cut-scenes alot. But they assume you are watching this over a few weeks - and they just didn't change it for the DVDs.
In the end, I can't take any points away as I enjoyed it, even with all the tiny flaws. Which are just that, tiny. I would suggest watching this along with Discovering Ardi or Ice World.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Series on Human Evolution, September 9, 2010
By 
Gerard D. Launay (Berkeley, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Becoming Human [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
So much has been learned since the days of Professor's Leakey's investigation of human origins, and this series of films takes us on a journey back 4 million years to the earliest forms of primates that walked on two legs. According to the series, there were quite a few different species of such early hominids - close to the missing link - until 1.5 million years ago when rapid climate fluctuations required the primates to adapt or die..and that meant "bigger brains."

For anyone interested in paleoanthropology - this series is a MUST SEE. It provides new information since the considerably older "In Search of Human Origins" series on Nova. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MADE BY KOCH/EXXON, July 6, 2014
The whole thing was very interesting. Unfortunately, the conclusion drawn at the end of the first episode is absurd. Knowing that it was made with money from Exxon and David Koch helps to explain that. Humans developed in an area of local climate fluctuations. That is NOT the same thing as the climate change we are causing ALL OVER THE PLANET right now. Any suggestion that the two are the same thing is dishonest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very educational, January 19, 2014
I watched this program with my 9-year-old daughter and we both enjoyed it. I believed we both learned a good deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Documentary, January 16, 2014
I am a documentary watcher, and this is a good 3-part series on early humans. It is well worth your time to sit down and watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow.., January 10, 2014
By 
Tati (Miami, FL) - See all my reviews
I really love this series! I learned so much about our species and how we got here (scientifically) and was able to better construct the timelines of who and what was happening around the world. It also helped me better understand and conclude where we are headed. Definitely a great watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Becoming Human
Becoming Human by Graham Townsley (DVD - 2010)
$29.99 $17.33
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.