Bed-Knob and Broomstick and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $6.99
  • Save: $0.02
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 13 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Bed-Knob and Broomstick (... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: The item is fairly worn but continues to work perfectly. Signs of wear can include aesthetic issues such as scratches, dents, water damage, and worn corners. The item may have identifying markings on it or show other signs of previous use.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

Bed-Knob and Broomstick (A Combined Edition of: "The Magic Bed-Knob" and "Bonfires and Broomsticks") Paperback – September 1, 2000


See all 33 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$6.97
$3.16 $0.01
Audible, Unabridged
"Please retry"
$9.95
Mass Market Paperback
"Please retry"
Audio, Cassette, Unabridged
"Please retry"

Moone Boy: The Blunder Years
"Moone Boy: The Blunder Years"
A great middle-grade read that follows the adventures of Martin Moone and his two imaginary friends. Learn more | See more middle-grade adventures
$6.97 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 13 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.


Frequently Bought Together

Bed-Knob and Broomstick (A Combined Edition of: "The Magic Bed-Knob" and "Bonfires and Broomsticks") + Chitty Chitty Bang Bang: The Magical Car
Price for both: $13.96

Buy the selected items together
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

"Castle Hangnail" by Ursula Vernon
From the creator of "Dragonbreath" comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. See more

Product Details

  • Age Range: 8 and up
  • Grade Level: 3 - 5
  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers (September 1, 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0152024565
  • ISBN-13: 978-0152024567
  • Product Dimensions: 5.1 x 0.6 x 7.6 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 9.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (39 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #102,481 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Mary Norton (1903-1992) lived in England, where she was an actress, playwright, and award-winning author of the classic Borrowers novels.

Customer Reviews

I highly recommend this classic book for reading to or with young children.
Jonathan D Peters
I had never read the book, but had seen the Disney movie, and figured my kids might like to read the book before seeing the movie.
M. Stevenson
I first read this book as a child, and it was one that I read again and again.
J.Blue

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful By J.Blue on August 14, 2000
Format: Paperback
I first read this book as a child, and it was one that I read again and again. Using a magical bedknob, the children in this story travel through time and space to ancient England, a desert island and more. I just bought this for my nine year old niece, who is a "Harry Potter" fan, but too young for most of the scarier titles that are sometimes suggested for fans of the series. Like all of the author's books, this one is exciting, but not scary, and is clearly the product of a gentler time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful A Kid's Review on February 28, 2001
Format: Paperback
Our class enjoyed hearing our teacher read this story. She thought we might like it because we enjoyed "Harry Potter" last year. We liked it when the children travelled back into the past. It was good when Miss Price and Emelius fell in love and travelled back to Emelius's time
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
26 of 30 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on September 19, 1999
Format: Paperback
I've always found the Borrower books to be boring and somewhat of a sluggish read, but this book by Mary Norton is superb and I'm surprised that more people don't know of it. The writing is witty and fast-paced. Erik Blegvad's illustrations are a joy to look at and compliment the writing beautifully.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Kurt A. Johnson TOP 1000 REVIEWER on May 16, 2013
Format: Paperback
So, having seen the Disney movie Bedknobs and Broomsticks, you know the whole story, right? Wrong! Being a fan of that movie, I picked up this book expecting some minor discrepancies, but was amazed to find a story that had practically nothing in common with the movie.

This is the story of Carey, Charles and Paul Wilson who, while staying with their aunt in Bedfordshire, suddenly discover that a neighbor, Miss Price is a witch! Not your stereotypical witch, Miss Price is a prim and proper lady who is willing to buy the children's silence with the gift of a magic bed knob that will allow the children to travel through space and time. Seeking to visit their mother, the children find themselves scooped up by the London police. Next, Miss Price takes them to an isolated tropical island, only to discover that cannibals inhabit the island. Their final adventure takes them to Restoration England, where they meet a forlorn (and inept) necromancer, Emelius Jones.

This story (actually two books combined into one) is quite charming. In a gentle and freewheeling fashion, Mary Norton draws the reader along on a fantastic adventure. This book is just right for the young reader, with a few nice illustrations, and a wonderful storyline.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By C. Helps on December 2, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Bedknob and Broomstick is the inspiration for the movie "Bedknobs and Broomsticks" but is quite a different story. This book is a charming and simple fantasy. It is not set in WWII as the film is and there are no soldiers or armies.
This book describes the childrens' encounters with the village's secret witch and their adventuring together in space and time. The manners and relationships are very English pre-war. It is a little reminiscent of the tone of Wind in the Willows.
The book is divided into two parts as it was originally two books, however the characters and situations are the same so it can easily be read as a single book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Gale Finlayson on March 7, 2011
Format: Paperback
Mary Norton's 1940 children's classic remains as fresh and delightful today as when first published. While on summer holidays at the home of an elderly aunt in the country, Carey, Charles and young Paul make the acquaintance of a neighbor lady who is secretly studying witchcraft--only for "white" purposes of course--on her own. To ensure the siblings' silence re her unusual hobby Miss Price provides them with a spell as her part of the bargain: she bewitches one of four bed knobs on Paul's bed, so that the kids can travel to other terrestrial places. Sounds great, huh?

After a miserable trial run to visit their empty London house the children seek Miss Price's help; this responsible student witch insists on accompanying them on a real adventure: to an uninhabited (?) south sea island. After near disaster and a battle of will and sorcery, the four barely make it back hone, to stern consequences. The kids' only souvenir is the bed knob which Paul sneaks out and back to London, where his older siblings try to convince him that it was just a dream.

Following the success of this short story Norton wrote a charming sequel, BED KNOB AND BONFIRE, set two years later, in which the three children and later Miss Price travel back in time--to the mid 17th century. This was a dangerous age to be alive, what with the great fire of London and the impending Black Plague. As you know, Time Travel can work both ways--within literary limitations; Miss Price is surprised to find Emelius, a down-at-heals necromancer, as her houseguest. But in which Time will he (and she as well) be most content? A joy ride for kids of all ages!
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By A. Stetka on July 25, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I wore out my copy of this book when I was a child. As an adult, I bought a copy to read aloud to my stepkids, aged 8 and 12, who are Harry Potter lovers. This book has lost none of its charm over time, and I find myself secretly picking it up and reading ahead when the kids aren't around. The author created clever but not annoying children - a rare find, especially in these obnoxious Nickelodean times. The sparsely placed illustrations are just as I remember - creating beautiful images to further fuel the imagination. I was afraid the children would lose interest during our storytimes, but they were drawn into this book from Page 1. We've shared laugh out loud moments throughout, and my husband has taken to creeping into the room to listen during story time.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Bed-Knob and Broomstick (A Combined Edition of: "The Magic Bed-Knob" and "Bonfires and Broomsticks")
This item: Bed-Knob and Broomstick (A Combined Edition of: "The Magic Bed-Knob" and "Bonfires and Broomsticks")
Price: $6.99 $6.97
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com