Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First look at the Brydens (Updated after use)
These recently arrived, so I haven't gotten an opportunity to break them in.

The first thing to note is that the leather for "Teak" has a darker stain than the picture suggests -- think Steve Madden Men's Bristole boots in "brown leather" -- however this isn't a problem for me. They have good leather and stitching, and suggests quality workmanship. Their length...
Published on December 28, 2011 by Nathan Mitchell

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stylish for a month, then they fall apart
These sound like they are too good to be true, and like most things that sound that way, they really are.

First, the soles: yes, they ARE as slick as the other reviews say, and you will spend a lot of time sliding around as the coating wears off. Once it does, you're going to realize just how thin the soles of these shoes actually are. I wore these occasionally...
Published 20 months ago by Automatik Jack


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First look at the Brydens (Updated after use), December 28, 2011
By 
Nathan Mitchell (Los Altos, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bed Stu Men's Bryden Boot (Shoes)
These recently arrived, so I haven't gotten an opportunity to break them in.

The first thing to note is that the leather for "Teak" has a darker stain than the picture suggests -- think Steve Madden Men's Bristole boots in "brown leather" -- however this isn't a problem for me. They have good leather and stitching, and suggests quality workmanship. Their length is just about right (10.5 for me), although they feel a little tight (again, before breaking them in). The other reviewer wrote that the man-made sole is very slick, and I would agree; but I'll try to report back after a few weeks of wear which I'm sure will improve their traction.

UPDATE:

Since my initial review I've had the opportunity to do a decent amount of walking. As I expected, the slick sole that a reviewer complained about resolved itself after five minutes of use, and the tightness around the sides improved shortly thereafter.

I would consider these boots to be of "mid-level" quality. The leather portion of the upper is quite thin, as a small nick can expose the fabric underneath. The colored finish on the synthetic sole has nearly completely worn off exposing the plain black rubber underneath. Nevertheless, the boots still look quite nice and are very comfortable.

Overall I'm happy with my purchase, however to get quality (leather) footwear one must be willing to spend at least $150, most likely more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stylish for a month, then they fall apart, November 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bed Stu Men's Bryden Boot (Shoes)
These sound like they are too good to be true, and like most things that sound that way, they really are.

First, the soles: yes, they ARE as slick as the other reviews say, and you will spend a lot of time sliding around as the coating wears off. Once it does, you're going to realize just how thin the soles of these shoes actually are. I wore these occasionally for several months and at the end of that time, they had worn completely through in several places.

Second, the leather: it's not tanned like more expensive shoes; rather, they are apparently hit with some kind of dye after the shoes are assembled. It's easy to see this when you look at where the upper meets the sole, as in some cases, the color is very inconsistent and is noticeably lighter in several places. To their credit, though, the leather is supple and it hasn't cracked or split in the same manner as the soles.

If you're looking for a cheap and somewhat fashionable pair of chukkas, these are an okay purchase - they look great for a while and they DO get noticed; however, if you wear them more than three times a week, they will fall apart fast. You would be better served buying a more expensive pair that has guaranteed quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Honestly, My Worst Ever Amazon Purchase, January 5, 2013
This review is from: Bed Stu Men's Bryden Boot (Shoes)
I have literally never taken the time to write a review on Amazon but felt compelled to for this product to warn anyone else who is thinking of purchasing. I ordered two pairs of the boots (to see which size fit better) and was blown away by how poor quality the boots are. Each pair looked like they were painted brown and had white spots the size of a thumb where it looks like someone forgot to paint. Also, in one of the pairs the color was so different between each of the shoes that it looked like they were from different style of boot.

By far the worst ever purchase on Amazon. Bed Stu should be ashamed to offer a product of such poor quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, cheap. cheap, cheap...., May 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bed Stu Men's Bryden Boot (Shoes)
These are terribly made shoes, even for the low price. For one, the outside is painted brown, and shows lots of streaks and patchy marks. One shoe is almost an entirely different shade as a result. Do not buy! These are not a cheaper alternative to other high-quality boots... they're just cheaply made.

I'm updating this after a week of wearing the shoes - I urge you not to buy these shoes. They are a very light tan shoe painted brown. I thought I would be able to polish the lighter marks away, but that didnt work. They just look terrible. This was hands down a disappointing purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good Quality and very resonable price, August 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bed Stu Men's Bryden Boot (Shoes)
I find the leather very good. Shoes are comfy or someome with mild flatfoot. Fits great and looks very nice as a casual/smart ankle boot.

Lining gives extra inner comfort and warmth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars too long and too narrow, October 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bed Stu Men's Bryden Boot (Shoes)
i normally love shoes from bed-stu but the brydens just didn't work out for me. i normally wear a 10.5. taking the advice here, i ordered a 9.5. and they were *still* over an inch too long. but here's the thing: i have incredibly narrow feet, yet these shoes were so narrow themselves that i had to basically remove the laces and bloody my fingers to get them on. i mean, it was a freaking struggle. so: too long for me and too narrow, and back they go. as always, ymmv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice boots, very stylish, sized strangely- beware, February 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bed Stu Men's Bryden Boot (Shoes)
If you order these boots be sure to order a size that is at least 1 larger than your ordinary size. They fit very narrowly and are difficult to get on. They are about as European in their shape as can be. However, the boots are very stylish and the material is quite nice. They don't seem to be as cheaply made as was mentioned in other reviews I'd read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars look great, quality is reasonable, October 17, 2013
By 
This review is from: Bed Stu Men's Bryden Boot (Shoes)
The quality of these shoes are obviously not going to be top notch, for the price they are as expected. If you want superior quality, go get a pair of apc's and spend $400. These will give you that fashionable look, and you wont regret buying them.
The fit is very snug at first, but after a couple of wears they get much more comfortable.
I saw these for $120 in a store, and found them here for much cheaper. These are not my only BED:STU shoes, and the other ones are much better made. Considering the savings though, I'm very happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool boot, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bed Stu Men's Bryden Boot (Shoes)
Looks great with suits and casual wear. Super soft leather that will get better as time goes along. We love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Boots, September 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bed Stu Men's Bryden Boot (Shoes)
These are very stylish and nice looking boots.

Positives:
Comfortable
True to size
Initial finish seems good and leather seems to be good quality
Does not scuff easily
Basic cedar shoe trees fit in easily

Negatives:
Finish on rubber sole wears away quickly
Laces with shoe are not very good, will need to buy a new set

Comments:
The comments on these shoes being slippery out of the box is true. They are, but that goes away after walking in them the first day or two. I wouldn't describe it as a huge issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bed Stu Men's Bryden Boot
$110.00 $76.96 - $109.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.