Customer Reviews


448 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (147)
3 star:
 (65)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (32)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First-Rate Comedy
Way, way too many comparisons to the original version of this film, which is a shame: BEDAZZLED stands wonderfully and beautifully on its own merits. Directed by comedic genius Harold Ramis, this is a fast-paced, well-crafted, highly imaginative, hilarious film. Heck, even my accountant laughs at this one, which is saying something.
Based on the tried and true...
Published on April 8, 2004 by D. Mikels

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Menu or Extras
The Blu Ray version looks great. Picture is crystal clear The only draw back is that there is no menu. Put it in and it just starts playing. You can't pick a chapter or change the audio output. Also, on the DVD version, there is a very funny deleted scene with the character Elliot as an English rock star. Not on the Blu Ray. Anchor Bay needs do a better job.
Published 15 months ago by James Dimond


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First-Rate Comedy, April 8, 2004
Way, way too many comparisons to the original version of this film, which is a shame: BEDAZZLED stands wonderfully and beautifully on its own merits. Directed by comedic genius Harold Ramis, this is a fast-paced, well-crafted, highly imaginative, hilarious film. Heck, even my accountant laughs at this one, which is saying something.
Based on the tried and true Faustian theme of selling one's soul to the devil, BEDAZZLED introduces us to hapless Elliot Richards (Brendan Fraser), whose mediocre existence revolves around getting Alison, an attractive coworker (played by Frances O'Connor) to notice him, let alone go out with him. In desperation, Elliot offers to sell his soul to obtain Alison's affection, and the devil responds.
But this isn't just any ol' devil. This is a heart-palpitating, traffic stopping, bark at the moon Elizabeth Hurley, who makes a most lusty Lucifer, and who wears enough revealing outfits to pack a heart trauma center. Hurley's devil is seductive, playful, and of course delightfully wicked. She grants Elliot seven wishes to win over Alison, but she's ingenious enough to turn each optimistic wish into a disaster. For example: Elliot wishes to be a rich and powerful businessman, married to Alison; the devil grants his wish, only Elliot is a South American drug lord, hated by his wife and under siege from all sides. Each wish--no matter how carefully Elliot thinks he has covered all the bases--blows up in his face, to the blissful delight of the viewer.
What really impressed me was Fraser himself. Before seeing this film, I had placed the actor into the Stallone category of mutton heads, but Fraser very pleasantly surprised. His role required a wide range of diversity--from a blockheaded NBA superstar to an intellectual bestselling author--and Fraser not only pulls it off, he's incredibly funny in the process. He helps make BEDAZZLED absolutely bedazzling. . .along with Hurley's legs.
--D. Mikels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fraser brings several characters to life, May 11, 2001
By 
Joe J Barclay (Chula Vista, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bedazzled (DVD)
Elliot (Brendan Fraser) would give anything to have coworker Allison in his life. When the princess of darkness (Elizabeth Hurley) offers Elliot seven wishes in exchange for his soul he accepts. With every wish he makes the devil finds a way to ruin it for Elliot.
I thought this movie was very funny. Fraser is a genious, each character he plays is so different and he pulls it off. Elisabeth Hurley and Frances O'Conner were good in thier roles but I thought Orlando Jones was not used enough. The dvd has a decent amount on it like a making of featurette, extended scene, trailers and more. Also there is a huge part of the movie that was cut probably to avoid an "R" rating and it is hidden on the disk. To access it go to the second page of special features and move the cursor to the right, a devil will appear on Hurley's shoulder and press select.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice, good clean message movie, January 25, 2006
This review is from: Bedazzled (DVD)
Bedazzled is a nice movie about Elliot Richards, a man who is in love with Alison, a girl who he has been working with for 4 years in the same company, yet she doesn't even know him.

he has no friends, and nobody likes him cause he is the odd man out, he tries to fit in, but they won't give him a chance.

so after an unsuccessful attempt to talk to Alison, he says to himself that he would give anything to be with Alison, and BAM, along comes The Devil (Hurley), and she's beautiful, hot, and i love the way she talks in the movie.

she offers and entices him granting him 7 wishes for his soul, which he takes because he is so much in love with Alison, and what follows are a series of horribly bad wishes with good intentions.

He's a drug lord who finds out Alison is cheating on him, then he's a basketball huge basketball with a teenie tiny problem, he's President Lincoln one minute, an oversensative person who cries at sunsets, and then he's a gay intellecutal person with the opposite of his basketball problem.

also Orlando Jones comes out in the movie. (The Replacements, Drumline)

overall, Bedazzle is a good clean, sexy movie. Elizabeth Hurley is FINE in this movie, but keeps it clean and unlike other movies, this doesn't get out of hand. it's got a good message at the end to just be yourself.

it's not the funniest movie in the world, but it is a nice movie, and Fraiser is awesome in this movie. he's funny and an awesome actor. Harold Ramis continues to pull out a nice, good and solid movies with good overall messages.

thumbs up to Bedazzled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lost a star for missing the deleted scene ..., May 29, 2013
By 
Shane R. Monroe (Glendale, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bedazzled [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you are picking this great movie up on Blu, make sure you keep your DVD because the hidden easter egg from the DVD is NOT included on the Blu version. The missing scene is a deleted wish where Brendan Frasier is essentially Ozzy Osbourne. It's fantastic, so make sure you keep it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny movie., February 23, 2006
This review is from: Bedazzled (DVD)
I'm rather surprised that this movie is in a cheap bin, because I've seen it 4 times and it still retains its charm. Elizabeth Hurley actually has fun acting through it and Brendan Fraser is one of the most underrated actors in Hollywood. His fantasy turns as Colombian drug lord, gay writer, Sensitive soul and moron basketball player all work because he hurls himself into the various idiocies with enthusiasm.

I'm sure the original is better and one of these days I might watch the original and hate this movie, but until then I still have Brendan Fraser crying over a seagull to make me laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Bedazzled' (20th Century Fox) Running time: 93 minutes, April 1, 2005
This review is from: Bedazzled (DVD)
Review no. 158. Have never been able to understand why so many movie fans that I've run across hate this flick. A few I know like totally refused to ever even watch it. I thought it was great! A year after this was released, I saw the 1967 original with Dudley Moore and Peter Cooke. In my most humble opinion, it was lame. 'Bedazzled' is sort of a tear-jerker in a way when you see it for the first time. The Devil (Elizabeth Hurley) comes to help office geek Elliot Richards (Brendan Fraser) romance and win over his beloved heart throb, Alison (Frances O'Conner) who, of course he can NEVER have. Problem is Richards must sign a very thick contract that entitles him to seven wishes to get whatever he wants in exchange for his soul. The Devil, needless to say does everything in her power to 'screw' things up for him. My favorite scenes are 1) When he's on the beach romancing Alison as THE 'most' sensitive man in the world and starts to cry about the dolphin's potential danger, 2) When Richards is teasing his co-worker(s) in the office and being REALLY annoying and 3) When he's in the police station trying to convince the police chief that the devil made him go insane the way he has. A lot of laughs here. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Devilishy funny., April 12, 2007
This review is from: Bedazzled (DVD)
Harold Ramis' 2000 adaptation of the dark British comedy classic Bedazzled is a blast to watch. I can't call this a remake because Ramis' casual looking version looks and feels like a different movie than its formal English counterpart. Having seen both this film and the 1967 original, I like the American version a little better.

Elliott is a nerdy guy in a dead-end job desperate to be liked by his co-workers. There's a girl at his office he's had his eye on but she doesn't notice him. Meeting the devil at a local bar, He makes a deal to sell his soul in exchange for seven wishes in the hopes of winning the girl of his dreams. Too bad he doesn't read the fine print on the contract he signs. There's ALWAYS a catch when dealing with the Devil. First he wishes he were rich and powerful- Only he's a Columbian druglord about to be betrayed by his woman and his cartel. Moments before his death He pages 666. He wishes he were sensitive, and when he cries at the sunset she dumps him. He wishes he were a basketball superstar Only to find out his "package" is small! He then wishes he were an intellectual writer with a big package-only to find out he's gay! He wishes he were president of the United States only to find he's Abe Lincoln on the night he's about to he shot by John Wilkes Booth! Six wishes later the Devil is tired of toying with him and insists he makes a final wish. He wishes for the girl of his dreams to be happy and the contract is voided. In the end he doesn't get the girl, but learns a lesson: Be yourself.

What makes Ramis' version a superior film is the solid storytelling and excellent direction. The script in this version is a lot tighter than in the clunky 1967 original and the characters are better developed and have more complex personalities. Because the writing is more concise, it makes the story easier to follow. The Original Bedazzled was a slow, tedious movie that focused so much on minor technicalities it was hard to watch. This version grabs the viewer and keeps them watching until the end.

The acting here is top notch. Brendan Fraser gives one of his best performances as the Nebbish nerdy Elliott. His comic timing and execution throughout the film remind me a lot of the late John Ritter, he really knows how to use his face and eyes to get a laugh. Elizabeth Hurley gives a great performance as the Devil; It's just a delight to watch her onscreen. She has excellent chemistry with Fraser and their comic timing is spot on. Hurley's charm and personality carries the movie through all three acts, even though she's the devil you just like her. Throughout the changes into all those stylish outfits you see her, not the clothes she wears. (J.Lo and Halle take note) That's the mark of a good actress. Frances O'Connor does gives a solid performance as the object of Elliott's desire. She holds her own in all the sketches and has great chemistry with Fraser. Comedy veterans Orlando Jones and Toby Huss add strong comedic support in all the comedy sketches.

Director Harold Ramis creates a tightly focused comedy with excellent production values and great cinematography. I felt like I was right there on those California streets in every frame. The visual effects blend with the live action and all we see are the hilarious jokes.

The Harold Ramis version of Bedazzled is definitely worth the purchase price. Pick this one up along with the 1967 original and The Devil Wears Prada for a deliciously evil movie night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No Menu or Extras, June 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bedazzled [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The Blu Ray version looks great. Picture is crystal clear The only draw back is that there is no menu. Put it in and it just starts playing. You can't pick a chapter or change the audio output. Also, on the DVD version, there is a very funny deleted scene with the character Elliot as an English rock star. Not on the Blu Ray. Anchor Bay needs do a better job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review #101--See This Film And Have Some Fun!, January 23, 2002
This review is from: Bedazzled (DVD)
BEDAZZLED is an enjoyable movie experience, thanks to the smart writing and the terrific performances of Brendan Fraser and Elizabeth Hurley. The story is not new but this film has smart, funny dialogue (even poignant near the end). Hurley clearly relishes in her black-comedic role as "The Devil", while Fraser plays 7 different characters, and is very funny in all of them.
Brendan Fraser plays a nebbish named Elliot who annoys everyone he works with as he lacks any real social skill and always tries too hard to be everyone's friend (which makes me wonder how he ever got through both high school and college, but never mind such questions while you're watching this). He has a major crush on this girl Alison, who barely evens notices him. When he proclaims "I'd give my soul for her!", of course good ol' Beelzebub appears to him in the form of--Elizabeth Hurley. At first Elliot doesn't believe that this gorgeous woman in the red dress is the devil (which leads to a funny scene where she hands him her card which just simply says "The Devil"--which is an obvious tip of the hat to the 1977 George Burns-John Denver film "Oh, God!", where Burns hands Denver a card on which is simply printed "God").
When Hurley finally does convince Elliot, and Elliot reluctantly agrees to the Faustian bargain (on the premise that Alison will be all his), that's when the fun really begins. I won't give away any more of the film other than the fact that BEDAZZLED illustrates the old Chinese saying, "Be careful what you wish for--you might just get it" really well! This film is a lot of fun for kids 12 & up, as well as for adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the old hokey one with Moore and Cook, March 23, 2001
By 
"moodymandinka" (Englewood Cliffs, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bedazzled (DVD)
Elizabeth Hurley is much MUCH better as the devil than Peter Cook was. Although Dudley Moore was probably more pathetic than Brendan Fraser, Fraser was still pretty good. I think some of the other reviews were unnecessarily harsh. Who would you rather have granting you 7 wishes, dopey Peter Cook, or the ultra sexy Liz Hurley? I watch movies to enjoy myself. Whether they're actions films, comedies, and yes even romances. I don't look for the meaning of life in a movie and I guess I'm petty easy to please. Also I think Leonard Maltin is a bit on the whiny side. "remake...never catches fire." I bet he didn't like the first one either. Anyway, if you're in the mood to laugh a little and ogle at Liz Hurley being a really bad girl (and I strongly believe that there is nothing wrong with this), this is the movie for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bedazzled
Bedazzled by Harold Ramis (DVD - 2003)
$10.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.