Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Bee Gees- In Our Own Time DVD
Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM Your Garage Best Books of the Month

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars92
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon November 18, 2010
I was AT the One Night Only concert in Las Vegas One Night Only: Anniversary Edition (Aniv) so please understand I'm a fan...but this is such a huge let down for me. I feel its honestly #3 in Bee Gees documentaries behind the excellent and comprehensive This Is Where I Came In - The Official Story of the Bee Gees and the also excellent "Keppel Road". Keppel Road Fact of the matter is all the footage ...and its a LOT of Maurice is from the previously seen documentary "This is where I came in" produced by David Leaf so this is just odd and weirdly ...been there done that. My next complaint is the HORRIBLE quality of all the songs shown...goodness why bother with blu ray? If you have the One Night Only DVD or The Live By Request DVD Bee Gees - Live by Requestyou will note that they look great but the clips shown on this DVD or Blu Ray are dreadful..honestly they look like second generation bootleg.

There are so many Bee Gees DVDs and CDs to get before this...the greatest hits with bonus DVD of all the clips and on and on. The ONLY thing this has in my Bee Gee loving opinion is the recent clips of Barry and Robin , although at this point Blu Ray does neither of them any favors nor do the production values.

As a lifelong fan I'm always glad for more but boy were my expectations crushed upon viewing...this is nowhere near the great documentary that has already been done and the clips shown are not just poor quality but constantly interrupted so there is another frustration.
99 comments|100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It is very difficult to gauge this latest release of Bee Gees history. Probably 2/3 or more has been seen or heard before. All the clips of the late Maurice Gibb are deftly placed at the appropriate spots, and Barry and Robin have plenty of space to share their feelings. The DVD begins with a good amount of history of the early years in Australia and how they became famous in England. The DVD is full of new and old musical clips from shows and concerts that add resonance and feeling to the progress of this renowned group of brothers. However, it seems less than complete.

More than most of the concert footage, whether new or old is fuzzy or out-of-focus. Even the more recent concerts (in the last fifteen years) seem old. Maurice's clips are fair quality while Barry and Robin are crystal clear. The time difference is obvious. The story-line of First Fame in the sixties to the doldrums of the early seventies is portrayed. The excess and success of the later seventies is also fairly discussed in equal time, but nothing is truly new. The eighties are glossed over with very little of the brothers individuals works being mentioned other than what they produced for other artists. There is some new and fascinating stories about `You Win Again" from Maurice and the nineties being a new period, accompanied by some new rare clips on television concert appearances. Still, something is missing. The sound mixing can be chosen in DTS Digital Surround Sound, Dolby Surround 5.1 or Dolby Stereo. However, the two surround choices are uneven. Some clips are clearer than others while many are dulled or inadequate for true surround experience. In most cases the only difference is the lack of vocals in the rear speakers, even with the concert clips.

The other DVD's covering their history, such as This Is Where I Came In - The Official Story of the Bee Gees and Bee Gees - One Night Only / The Official Story are almost better in quality and excitement with many artist contributing their opinions and inspirational learning's. The only true new information is when the modern Barry and Robin appear to discuss their family's history. This is one of the first times that one gets a real sense of acceptance and personal growth. The discussion of Andy's passing is heartfelt and the loss of Maurice is heartbreaking. Closing the show, Barry and Robin join for a closed session of, "To Love Somebody" and "How Can You Mend A Broken Heart", two of the most appropriates songs for this show. The final conversation between Barry and Robin is a real eye-opener. Robin unabashedly praises Barry for his achievements and expresses his honor in being his brother. Barry responds as a real gentleman. The viewer gets the feeling that maybe, finally something new will happen. But then again, this show seems like another chapter not yet quite finished. It satisfies the viewer and makes one wonder, what can possibly be next?
22 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2010
"In Our Own Time" is the latest in a series of documentaries chronicling the career of the Gibb brothers. So much has been written about The Bee Gees over the years, yet this film shows the group through the eyes of its remaining members, Barry and Robin. It covers every stage of their careers from their international breakthrough in 1967, through the disco era and up to the death of Maurice in 2003, which heralded the end of The Bee Gees. Other highlights include a section devoted to younger brother Andy, the songwriting success with other artists and Barry & Robin performing in the present. The film ends with Barry & Robin's admiration for each and a vow to continue working together which may signal a project together.

Many clips of The Bee Gees performances are shown from live TV shows, promotional films & videos and live in concert, though some of the video quality of the promos such as "Jive Talkin" and "Night Fever" is rather fuzzy as if the transfers were done from third generation videotape. The film is 2 hours long and covers 50 years of music, yet many things were not mentioned such as their unreleased album from 1973 or songs such as "Emotion" or "Grease" which were part of the Gibb dominance of the charts in 1978. The Bee Gees greatest period of '77 through '79 was touched on, but in a way that doesn't dwell on the whole era, which is a period that is most associated with the group. The "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band" film is not mentioned nor is "Staying Alive" from 1983. A clip was shown of the Bee Gees singing "Living Eyes" , the title track from their 1981 album "Living Eyes", though the album is never mentioned nor are any solo performances from the '80s, other than a brief mention of Robin's 1982 album "How Old Are You". Overall, "In Our Own Time" is an excellent summation of one of the greatest recording acts in the history of music.
22 comments|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2011
I have to say I disliked the Bee Gees back in the 70s/80s (was that when the disco stuff was?). But I think what I hated wasn't their music so much as that whole Studio 54 mentality. They, themselves, are pretty normal--not like some groups whose names I won't mention-- the ones that care little if nothing for the music, it's all about the chicks, drugs, partying, etc. that they're after, and it shows. But I sat down the other night and watched a two-hour program on Biography called "In Our Own Time" and, little by little, I became fascinated with them, as composers and muscians and people. Barry Gibb is like "The Miraculous Pitcher"-- he never runs out of songs. He's got to be one of the most prolific rock composers. (Robin too, of course!) That and their sometimes-haunting, sometimes dance-til-you-drop melodies really bowl me over. They're gifted and truly, deeply creative. What a kick to see them all when they were just little boys. I am drawn to the clarity of their voices and the really amazing way they have of effortlessly slipping into harmonies as if it were the most natural thing. All my favorite groups use harmony and I think it's such a beautiful sound-- it gives a resonance nothing else can. The Bee Gees, apart from having five songs in America's Top Ten at once, actually had five number One singles in 50 years of music-- once for each decade. This Is Where I Came In - The Official Story of the Bee Gees
Now that is truly fantastic!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2012
Purchased this before my family is really big into the Bee Gees, and as I get older I tend to like their music more also. After popping this into the Blu Ray player, I was horrified to see that the quality was just so poor. Trust me, I've bought several other Blu Ray concerts and this is the worst I've ever seen. It's not even close to HD, so pass on this product or buy it on dvd.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2010
I really enjoyed the The DVD in our own time. I knew that the footage of Maurice was from a previous interview but to see his smiling face talking there made the dvd so special. He was rare gem.
Also the concert footage was wonderful and yes it is old and fuzzy but
remember the times that they were filmed in.
As a Bee Gees fan from many years ago I treasure seeing the brothers share their feeling and insite on their career.
Thank you.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
INTRODUCTION:

As written on the blu ray disc back page, "In Our Own Time" is a new film on the long and illustrious career of the legendary Bee Gees, from their modest beginnings to unrivaled worldwide success in the `70s to the tragedy of losing their brother Maurice and Andy. The story is told "in their own words" by Barry and Robin from extensive new interviews, and the film also includes archive interview footage of Maurice, videos, TV appearances and live performances.

VIDEO:

It was in 1080i 1.78:1. The picture was sharp, and old footage of their performances was in widescreen. Overall, a very pleasing image. (4/5)

AUDIO:

The best sound was actually found in the menu portion, where the music and beat were tight and clean. There are three choices: DTS HD Master Audio, Dolby Digital 5.1 and LPCM Stereo. There was no significant difference among the three, although I chose the DTS HD Master Audio. The dialogue was very clean, and music was very well remastered. Great job, Eagle Vision. (4.5/5)

CONTENTS:

This is where the disc stands out. This is not a concert disc. As stated above, the whole story of the Bee Gees was told through the words of Barry and Robin only, which suggested that it was filmed after Maurice's death. I have found Barry and Robin very honest and forward with their recollections and interpretation of past events. Archival interviews with Maurice were added in. Their opinions and views were straight from the heart.

The Beginning. There are many rare precious footage of the Gibb Brothers, singing when Barry was 9 and Robin and Maurice 6. Do you want to hear them sing Please Please Me? It's there.

Robert Stigwood. Although the Bee Gees and Robert Stigwood had their differences, in this disc, Barry and Robin gave a very honest opinion, tribute and thanks to Robert Stigwood for discovering them. I believe that those words were straight from their hearts. Of course, there was numerous rare footage here, such as their appearance on Top Of the Pops UK TV show. By the time the Bee Gees appeared on the Ed Sullivan Show, you will notice that they had already consulted a good dentist to fix up their teeth...instead of being very jagged, now very smooth. I also appreciate those rare video footage was in widescreen. At one point, the Bee Gees were so lost, that they named the album "To Whom It May Concern"...Here, we have a chance to see the boys perform Mr. Natural...wow! The temporary break-up of the Bee Gees was also documented, with clear explanation from all three members of the band.

Arif Mardin. This is the second important person that influenced their career. Arif Mardin was the producer for the album Main Course. Here, we learned how the Bee Gees changed their approach to their music (more to R&B), and it was the time when they also learned the art of producing their music in the control room from Arif Mardin, laying the foundation for their later success. Also from this era, we also learned that Barry Gibb discovered his falsetto sound starting from the song Fanny. Of course, all the music was fantastic. You will quietly smile when the boys learned the real meaning of the words "Jive Talkin'"...

Saturday Night Fever. It was the pinnacle of their success, with album sale in excess of 35 million copies, second only to Thriller by Michael Jackson. Barry openly admitted that he was happy to be Number 2. The story and songs were fantastic.

Andy Gibb. There was a chapter on Andy Gibb, with original performances of I Just Want To Be Your Everything, and Shadow Dancing. His cocaine addiction led to his ultimate premature death. Very sad indeed. Each Gibb brother gave his own honest and straight from the heart interpretation of the events. Barry was still very regretful of how he treated Andy's problem the wrong way....and now no chance to correct his mistake. Barry and Robin also said that Andy could have been the 4th Bee Gee.

Songwriters. It was ultra refreshing to see Barry and Barbra Streisand performed together, with such magnetism. The portion where Celine Dion performed Immortality was very moving indeed. Her singing was so pure and from the heart, that moved Barry to tears. Kenny Rogers and Dolly Parton performed Islands In The Stream. Do you know that this song was originally designed to be a R&B tune, but it turned out to be a Number 1 Country hit!

Maurice Gibb. The sudden passing of Maurice Gibb was a tremendous blow to the Gibb family....so sudden, and so unexpected, and too quick! Maurice's various interviews blended in those with Barry and Robin. He was always honest with his views, right to the point with a sense of humour. The clip of his solo performance of Man In The Middle was precious and it also showcased his talents.

Later Years. It was very gratifying to see the video performances of their No. 1 hit in UK You Win Again, plus One And Alone. The clip from their One Night Only showed how Barry hid his severe back pain from the audience, while he smiled and sang his usual falsetto harmony. Maurice said it correctly in that Maurice too had gone through back pain and surgery, and he would know how much extra pain one experienced if one wanted to sing in a falsetto key. Very very professional of Barry to smile at the audience, and winced in pain when he turned his head. Although One Night Only was not in high definition, it was one of the Bee Gees best live concert on disc. Maurice told us how it was such a special treat, to be enrolled into the Rock N Roll Hall Of Fame, presented by Brian Wilson.

Finale. Barry and Robin told us how much they missed Maurice. It was also tragic to see the Bee Gees receiving a Lifetime Achievement Grammy Award, just shortly after Maurice's death, with only Barry and Robin present to receive the awards, without Maurice. The ending of the disc was especially poignant, with Barry on guitar alone with Robin in the studio, singing To Love Somebody and How Can You Mend A Broken Heart, purely from their hearts, to their lost brother, Maurice!!! Wow, it was very moving indeed. If you carefully listened to the lyrics, these two songs would move you to tears...

Contents: (5+/5)

FINAL THOUGHTS:

In summary, In Our Own Time may not have the top notch video (many clips were from long time ago), but the contents filled one's heart with beautiful music, melody, happiness and sadness. Robin said it correctly in that the machine cannot reproduce the 3-part harmony that the Bee Gees had. The story of the Bee Gees was told from Barry and Robin themselves, not from a third party. Their interpretation of events was honest and true. The sequence of events was nicely done...never a dull moment. Their music and harmony will last forever. This is a collection that every music lover must have, and you will play it again and again, for yourself, and later, for your children. Long Live the Bee Gees!!! Highly recommended and a Must-Own.

UPDATE (May 20 2012):

It is really sad to hear that Robin Gibb has passed away from rectal cancer and complications. First, it was Andy, then, Maurice, and now Robin. All of a sudden, there is only ONE left. Being a physician myself, I knew that it was a matter of time that Robin would leave us...so before he left us, I bought all his solo CDs (before their prices may go up after his death). There is absolutely no other group that can replace Bee Gee's three part harmony...simply the best! Long Live the Brother Gibb!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2013
A perfect addition for your Bee Gees collection. There is footage I had never seen before and the interviews gave me an opportunity to understand what made these artists so phenomenal. They do harmony at its best and the emotion they put into the words can be felt, not just heard.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2011
I have always enjoyed the Bee Gees songs, but had not followed their career very closely. I caught the end of this program on A&E's Biography. I set the DVR for a repeat of this two hour show. Watched it and immediately purchased the DVD. I knew these guys were talented, but the detailed account of their rise to stardom, the damage done by disco, which they DID NOT invent. And where they have gone from there is just amazing.

The bit where they demonstrate their three part harmony, singing Lollipop acapella, caused my 22 year old daughter to exclaim, "That it crazy good!" She is so right.

I would recommend this to anyone who has enjoyed the Bee Gees. I am sure the diehard fans already have their copies.Bee Gees: In Our Own Time [Blu-ray]
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2010
The DVD begins with a montage of the Bee Gees performing You Should Be Dancing over the decades - not a chronological montage, but one that moves back and forth through time. This really captures many aspects of the brothers: talent, showmanship, professionalism, timelessness... It was a great way to begin a DVD with this theme, "In Our Own Time" - something that is more autobiography than history, actually.

Prior biographies came from someone else's perspective; this one focuses on the brothers' perspective. Thus, "our own" time. It is written while events are still unfolding, and two of the brothers are still alive and active. Thus, "in our... time". Years from now, there will be a time to look back historically; this is the time to hear and preserve their thoughts and feelings in their own words and from their own perspective and while they are still active.

True, there are many clips that can be seen in other biographies. How could it be otherwise when the subject is a very famous singing group? But there are clips that are unique. I especially enjoyed seeing them in the recording studio, coming up with the "explosion" sound in Tragedy: the entire moment was shown from idea to perfection of it.

Each segment has its own revelations and/or special moments. However, I was most moved by the final one about the loss of Maurice onward. The special scene of Mo and Yvonne together, looking out over the water, reminds us of the deep personal loss of the husband, father, and brother. The two brothers discussing the loss itself and how they dealt with it differently (etc) was very moving. This ends with Barry and Robin singing How Can You Mend a Broken Heart (first verse and chorus). It brought tears, for phrases like "I was never told about the sorrows" have such gut-wrenching meaning when sung by someone who has lost his TWIN brother, and you've just heard him and Barry share about that loss. Yes, they did indeed struggle with "how do you mend a broken heart" and they eventually have come out of that dark time and are closer to each other than ever before. One can't put into words what one sees as one watches this segment, but it is the most heartfelt and deep segment in any biography about them that I have seen.

My copy has none of the problems some have mentioned (regarding quality). Some computer programs in digital players of varying types and sources may be more compatible with specific media. All I know is the quality as I viewed this DVD was excellent.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.