Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent to get you started in Beeswax
A really, really good book! Combines comprehensive discussion of the composition and properties of beeswax with practical advice on its refinement and use, especially in the manufacture of candles.

If "Beeswax" were updated I imagine it would include the latest on pesticide contamination and modern issues of concern to beekeepers and craftspeople working with...
Published on November 18, 2009 by A. S. Templeton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not what I thought it was!
Really mislead on this one. This is more of a history book than a practical "how-to" book which was what I thought I was getting. Rather disappointed. One of these days, if I "care" about this information- the history of how it all got started- etc., maybe I'll be glad I purchased this. Now--- not so much! YouTube videos ended up much more valuable/informative for how to...
Published on July 23, 2012 by Devorah


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent to get you started in Beeswax, November 18, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beeswax: Production, Harvesting, Processing and Products (Paperback)
A really, really good book! Combines comprehensive discussion of the composition and properties of beeswax with practical advice on its refinement and use, especially in the manufacture of candles.

If "Beeswax" were updated I imagine it would include the latest on pesticide contamination and modern issues of concern to beekeepers and craftspeople working with beeswax. But while 25 years old it's the best introduction to beeswax I've read, by far preferable to Thomas William Cowan's quaint 1908 book "Wax Craft", a defective reprint edition of which has recently been published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beeswax, May 16, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beeswax: Production, Harvesting, Processing and Products (Paperback)
Beeswax is such a technical product to work with, Beeswax: Production, Harvesting, Processing and Products, is a fantastic guide and reference for anyone wanting to research this raw product and how to use and work with it.

Fantastic informative book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not what I thought it was!, July 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beeswax: Production, Harvesting, Processing and Products (Paperback)
Really mislead on this one. This is more of a history book than a practical "how-to" book which was what I thought I was getting. Rather disappointed. One of these days, if I "care" about this information- the history of how it all got started- etc., maybe I'll be glad I purchased this. Now--- not so much! YouTube videos ended up much more valuable/informative for how to work the beeswax and produce stellar candles- than this book- b/c this isn't the purpose of this book-- misleading in the description of this book in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beeswax: Production, Harvesting, Processing and Products (Paperback)
As a hobby beekeper i bought this to both learn more history of beeswax and to learn how to process my own wax. The history is very informative, but the processing side is weak. It is very light on chemistry and only shows commercial methods for processing beeswax, which don't scale down very well. Would reccomend for general learning but not practical application.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, December 3, 2012
By 
DAVID R ADAMS (CLIFTON, CO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beeswax: Production, Harvesting, Processing and Products (Paperback)
looks like a good all around book for bees wax projects, haven't finished it quite yet, but want to try candles & lip balm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, August 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beeswax: Production, Harvesting, Processing and Products (Paperback)
gave it away
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic book on bees wax, October 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beeswax: Production, Harvesting, Processing and Products (Paperback)
It is very difficult to get information on all of the various aspects of beeswax. Beeswax is a complex substance and has many uses. This book, written by a World expert from Cornell University, covers all aspects of beeswax from collection, processing, uses, to its chemical composition. A good reference for those interested in extending their knowledge beyond honey and beekeeping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great overview., June 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beeswax: Production, Harvesting, Processing and Products (Paperback)
Well written and researched.

If you are interested in this topic then you wont be disappointed with this book.

It gives a broad overview with some useful information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beeswax: Production, Harvesting, Processing and Products
Beeswax: Production, Harvesting, Processing and Products by William L Coggshall (Paperback - June 1984)
$15.95 $15.15
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.