Customer Reviews


1,002 Reviews
5 star:
 (720)
4 star:
 (199)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say it once, say it twice, third time's the charm!
When this movie first came out about fifteen years ago, my father owned a video store and every Wednesday night was "Beetlejuice" night. I'm older now, obviously, but I still cannot get enough of this movie.
Alec Baldwin and Geena Davis play Adam and Barbara Maitland, two Connecticut yuppies who die prematurely in a car wreck. Within a couple weeks, their home is...
Published on November 20, 2002 by Donn Hart

versus
224 of 290 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy Reissue
My one-star refers to this so-called "20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition" of this hilarious and eye-popping delight from director Tim Burton.

Since the inception of the DVD format, I have been waiting for a proper DVD of Beetlejuice with commentary and special features.

I am sorry to say that this pathetic disc is NOT what I have been waiting for...
Published on September 19, 2008 by Jerry P. Danzig


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say it once, say it twice, third time's the charm!, November 20, 2002
This review is from: Beetlejuice (DVD)
When this movie first came out about fifteen years ago, my father owned a video store and every Wednesday night was "Beetlejuice" night. I'm older now, obviously, but I still cannot get enough of this movie.
Alec Baldwin and Geena Davis play Adam and Barbara Maitland, two Connecticut yuppies who die prematurely in a car wreck. Within a couple weeks, their home is overrun by an ultra-trendy New York City family, Charles and Delia Deetz, and their Goth daughter, Lydia (played respectively by Jeffrey Jones, Catherine O'Hara, and Winona Ryder). Adam and Barbara want their house back, and attempt to scare the Deetz's out of the house by wearing sheets and even by possessing them over dinner, making them sing and dance to Harry Belafonte's "Day O." Those attempts fail and enter Michael Keaton as Betelguese, "the afterlife's leading freelance bio-exorcist." The movie is dark without being scary and funny without being ridiculous.
In my opinion, one of the real gems in this film is the late Sylvia Sidney as Juno, Your Case Worker. Sidney was pushing eighty when this film was made, but turns in a great performance as the embittered equivalent of an afterlife social worker. Love how the smoke from her ever-present cigarette comes out of the slit in her throat.
If you've never seen this movie, see it. If you have seen it but don't own it on DVD, get it. The picture quality is better than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Off-color, Irreverent Hilarity, April 22, 2005
This review is from: Beetlejuice (DVD)
I love this film. Barbara and Adam Maitland, a young couple madly in love (played by Geena Davis and Alec Baldwin) discover that they are not only dead but trapped in their home as ghosts waiting for the bureaucracy of the afterlife to set them free. When a New York couple (Catherine O'Hara and Jeffrey Jones) and their teenage daughter Lydia (wonderfully macabre Winona Ryder) move into their beloved house, the Maitlands want nothing more than to remove them. The problem is, the Maitlands are too nice to truly scare anyone. They meet a rogue ghost, the ribald, disgusting Beetlejuice (Michael Keaton) who promises to drive the family away, with a few strings attached. Lydia, whose goals aren't that far from the Maitlands and who has a morbid, poignantly sad outlook, discovers the ghosts and tries to help them. But Beetlejuice has his own agenda.

The casting for this movie is perfect, with only Alec Baldwin's performance less than memorable. Michael Keaton is suitably slimy and decadent, while Geena Davis plays the earnest innocence of her character equally well. The most startling performance is a young Winona Ryder, who shows tremendous range in her role as the morbid but good-hearted Lydia.

One of the most hilarious, dark scenes ever filmed is contained in this movie, when the New York couple throws a pretentious dinner party and the Maitlands take over. Director Tim Burton uses sight gags, situational comedy, and one-liners that all bear his trademark quirkiness to make this film inventive and, even years after its release, fresh. What's most amazing in this film essentially about the weirdness of being dead is the emotional drive of it. The Maitlands' yearning to reclaim their home even in death and Lydia's wounded, lonely adolescence lend humanity to an otherwise wild comedy.

I highly recommend this off-beat film for its hilarity and irreverence. Parents of young children should be warned that the film contains off-color humor as well as images and ideas that might disturb young minds. -- Debbie Lee Wesselmann
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soundtrack CD sampler that comes with Blu-ray edition, July 25, 2009
This review is from: Beetlejuice [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I had a hard time finding this information when I searched for it, so I thought I'd type it up in case anyone else was wondering what comes free with your new Blu-ray copy of "Beetlejuice":

1. Danny Elfman - "Main Titles"
2. Danny Elfman - "Enter ... 'The Family'/Sand Worm Planet"
3. Danny Elfman - "The Aftermath"
4. Danny Elfman - "Showtime!"
5. Harry Belafonte - "The Banana Boat Song" (worth the price of the Blu-ray disc itself!)
6. Danny Elfman - "End Credits"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


224 of 290 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cheesy Reissue, September 19, 2008
This review is from: Beetlejuice (20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) (DVD)
My one-star refers to this so-called "20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition" of this hilarious and eye-popping delight from director Tim Burton.

Since the inception of the DVD format, I have been waiting for a proper DVD of Beetlejuice with commentary and special features.

I am sorry to say that this pathetic disc is NOT what I have been waiting for.

Though they supposedly have spruced up the picture, the ONLY special features are three Beetlejuice cartoons and I think some music track or something.

NO commentary, NO behind-the-scenes, NO nothing.

So -- NO sale.

I'm still waiting...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BeetleJuice- DVD, May 9, 2008
This review is from: Beetlejuice (DVD)
If you like BeetleJuice and the supernatural then buy this movie you won't be let down. This is a very good movie fun for all ages. See this movie is what started the cartoon series on cartoonnetwork in the early 1990's BeetleJuice. Personally I think Micheal Keaton did a fantastic job as playing BeetleJuice I just really like this movie alot it talk's about what the after life is like basically see Barbara and Adam Maitland die and their ghost's in the movie and they meet BeetleJuice and I'm not going to tell you the rest because you have to watch the movie trust me this movie is really good it will make you want to say BeetleJuice three times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING: CLAMSHELL EDITION IS EDITED TV VERSION, January 19, 2000
This review is from: Beetlejuice [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I, myself always enjoyed this movie, it's very funny and entertaining, so I didn't hesitate to pick up the clamshell edition. I guess it was a marketing plan to make the movie more for families or something, but they have eliminated all strong profanity and elements that are usually edited in the television version. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. If you want the uncut version, AVOID THE CLAMSHELL EDITION!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Comedic Fanasy Directed by a Master, October 3, 2000
By 
This review is from: Beetlejuice (DVD)
Beetlejuice is an awe-inspiring wonderfully amusing comedic romp that explores the incredible possibilities of the after-life and the boundaries of the absurd. Telling the tale of a recently dead married couple that suddenly gets led into the chaotic world of the supernatural. Adam and Barbara Maitland (Alec Baldwin and Geena Davis) discover many of the conflicting rather human imperfections that haunt the lives of the living also plague the afterlife as well.
Unlike some film projects that seemed to be blindly assigned to dispassionate filmmakers for commercial reasons, Beetlejuice's plot and bizarre subject matter remarkably complemented Burton's unusually macabre artistic sensibilities extraordinarily well. Created by the unbelievably brilliant guidance of imaginative film director, Tim Burton (Pee Wee's Big Adventure, Batman, Ed Wood, Sleepy Hollow). The film's uniquely creative landscape was a culmination of essentially all of the abundant irony and outlandish yet human behaviors that have graced the body of Burton's work.
Augmented by deviously energetic performances from Glenn Shadix, Jeffrey Jones, Winona Ryder, Catherine O' Hara, Geena Davis, and Alec Baldwin, the film bustles with uninhibited brilliant hilarity that persistently pushes the film to a level of almost affable euphoria. Paired with its ingenious screenplay and a tour de force performance by Michael Keaton as Beetlejuice. This film transforms itself into an exuberant jovial exercise that is extremely satisfying and philosophically perceptive on many levels. Though comedy is usually considered to be unable or undeserving of deep critical analysis, Beetlejuice is an undeniably inspired concept that has been flawlessly transferred to film. One of the most outstanding comedies of the 1980's.
As for the film's DVD package, the DVD includes the theatrical trailer, an isolated Danny Elfman musical track, and the choice to watch the film in anamorphic widescreen or Pan and Scan. Hopefully Beetlejuice will eventually be graced with a special edition. We can always hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, terrible DVD, August 8, 2001
By 
Lynwood E. Hines (Saint George, SC USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beetlejuice (DVD)
I am continually amazed at the shoddy treatment that some movies get in their DVD release. This DVD is simply a disgrace, especially considering what a great movie this is. I give the movie itself 5 stars; it's a wonderful example of Tim Burton's energy and style.
This DVD has no extras worth mentioning. No deleted scenes, no featurettes, not even a lousy commentary track! To make it even worse, the film has been CUT DOWN from the theatrical release! I have never seen a DVD release before where you get LESS than was originally presented in theaters.
My advice is to save your money until somebody figures out that when a movie is released on DVD, it needs to live up to the capabilities of the medium, and should always provide more material than was originally released, not less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Movie, No Star DVD, September 23, 2006
By 
Ryan Nelson "Couch critic" (Cincinnati, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beetlejuice (DVD)
This is a review of the 1997 DVD release- thus far, as of September 2006, the only release I know of.

Of all of the DVDs in my collection this has to be one of the most disappointing. Without going into minute detail of what makes the film brilliant- the classic score, the hilarious comedy and Burton's twisted but brilliant vision- the quality of the film transfer to DVD is almost criminal. It probably wouldn't be noticed on television screens smaller than 27 inches, but on larger screens the picture becomes soft and grainy, devoid of detail and utterly perplexing, given that the movie was shot in the late 80's. The first thought that sprang to my mind when watching it was that it almost immediately reminded me of my time in elementary school before we switched to video tape- the transfer is reminiscent of an old, battered 8mm film reel. I own a S-VHS vcr, and I have seen better film transfers on video tape. Additionally, the extras... well, what extras? There are several paragraphs of "production notes" which are basically brief overviews of Danny Elfman and Tim Burton, but nothing you couldn't gleam from Wikipedia in three minutes.

All that aside, I did pay $9 for it at Sam's Club, so the old axiom of getting what you pay for is truer than ever- but I expected so much more. If you're a Beetlejuice fan, wait for the inevitable Criterion Collection or Special Edition remaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 87 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great movie turned bad, December 27, 2002
By 
G. Kleinschmidt (Nowhere Land, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beetlejuice (DVD)
Just to let you know, this movie is one of my personal favorite ghost movies. That said, I feel I need to tell you some details about this terrible DVD. The packaging is fine, nothing great, but it works. The picture and sound quality are good and make it a good cinematic experience. However, the menu is complete trash, the extras are EXTREMELY embarassing, and to play the movie you actually have to click on scene selections and click on the first chapter because there is no PLAY button! What's the problem here? As I recall, this film is on AFI's top 100 funniest movies ever made, so don't you think they could make a better DVD than this garbage? I am so sick and tired of these movie companies getting away with selling us trash.
This double sided disk is no good. Pick what format you want the first time you watch it, and stick with that side the whole time...because if you switch each time, both sides get scratched! Personally, I think fullscreen is for idiots who think they're getting the whole picture when they're not. You people put no actual thought into making DVDs, you just slap some crap together and think its fine. No, it's not fine! Clean up your acts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2101 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beetlejuice (20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)
$5.97 $4.27
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.