Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$11.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 1, 2014
Excellent explanation of how archaeology, genetics, and physical science combine to show how we evolved. Ice ages were not as influential as first thought because genetics points to one group leaving Africa only 50K years ago. Ice ages have been reoccurring for 2 million years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2007
excellent update of science largely derived from the human genome project regarding our human origins and evolution. it would be hard to dispute the facts and evidence presented in this book with any rational process and i can reccommend it as essential if not mandatory reading for those who desire to be educated.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
This is a fascinating account of ancestral peoples and their migration. Of particular interest were the author's chapters on migration, the revolutionary effect of human settlement, and the origins of language.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2007
Wade's book is really an impressive review of the new results of the science of human history. It is especially important that social scientists read it, as they have an enormous amount of mistaken notions about the possibility to know anything at all about human history before written documents came around. It has the advantage of avoiding the most controversial material (like what is known about IQ) which would turn some people immediately off. Even now we get reviews hinting at "racist undertones", which is really unfair. In any case, NYT has a great science journalist!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2011
This wonderful book synthesizes for the lay person a wealth of information on genetic, archaeological, linguistic, paleontological, and anthropological research concerning the history of humanity. It draws back the curtain and reveals how science is discovering our roots in a very well written and organized book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2014
This is one of the most interesting books I have ever read! If you have an interest in human origins - I highly recommend this book. This book taught me far more about human genetics and our origins than any I have read before. It is an excellent overview that I would recommend for the lay reader and those who already have a good scientific understanding. Ever wonder why you have blonde or red hair; why you are lactose intolerant; why you have blue eyes etc? This book explains all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2009
Nicholas Wade is a writer who makes even the most difficult subjects understandable. I feel this is a must read for anyone interested in learning more about the story of the history of our human ancestors.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2008
Wonderful a book of distinction. Relates well with Spenser Wells.
The whole National Geographics / genographic project has opened a new world of understanding.
A global revolution.
Dik in Henderson, nv
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2011
This was a continually amazing book. It answered questions I thought were beyond our current understanding. The synthesis of recent findings from diverse disciplines is wonderful. A real thrill!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2008
And what else could you expect from this type of work?

Anytime an author ventures beyond mere facts you will have two outcomes. One is that those who hold to an opposing view will disagree with the conclusions. For an example of this consider the Out-of-Africa view vs. the multiregionalist view. Yes, there are some controversial issues he discusses (such as the Ashkenazic Jews being genetically wired for higher intelligence and Greenburg's classification of languages), but he does the mention opposing viewpoints. The other outcome is that the writing will be smooth, integrated and pleasant to read.

The most enjoyable thing about the book is that the author attempts to integrate many different scientific disciplines. From linguistics, genetics, psychology, biology, history, sociology, anthropology, etc. - he really presents a holistic approach where these varied specialists can look beyond their areas of study and integrate the fruits of other scientists into finding their missing puzzle pieces. What also seems to come out of the book is the resistance by some scientists in recognizing the value of this approach.

If you are looking for a good read and have enjoyed any of Bryan Sykes' books or the book 'Deep Ancestry' then you will most likely find this a nice, easy read and very entertaining.

As with any book that assumes evolution is true and unassailable, I would issue that caveat to any creationist that may want to read. Hence the four stars.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse