Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Men's Leather Watches Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Amethyst Jewelry Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer jstfd6 jstfd6 jstfd6  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Winter Sports on Amazon.com SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 11, 2006
Regardless of Mr. Bennett's apparent biases, and sometimes lofty criticisms of white America, this book is a remarkable read. When writing about such an emotional and intense subject, I believe it is impossible to be completely objective, especially when the topic involves the oppression and suppression of your own people. That being said, the author does a good job of remaining as objective as possible throughout the bulk of the book. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in learning about the history of black America.
0Comment27 of 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2007
This book is a good reference for those who want to gain more knowledge about the african american experience before slavery and after. There is so much more to African American history than being enslaved in the United States. In this book you learn a little about African civilization, slavery, post slavery and today.
22 comments8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2013
A good Description of the past lives of Black Americans up until the 20th and 21st century. Very informative and exciting to read.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2010
* "This book fills in many of the gaps left out by our sad over priced public school system. Schools make history boring to the ordinary thinker by making it a series of dates, places, and people. Bennet tells us stories about historical figures, the dates are secondary. This way you will become invested in the the people who lived in our past so that we can live now. African people in the United States have accomplished wonderful achievements. After reading Before the Mayflower, you may ask what is wrong with the modern day African - American."
22 comments9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 1999
Before the Mayflower is a book as a historian is something that I have used to get my students to have a more clear understanding of African-Americans in America. The writing of Mr. Bennett is easy and very thought provoking. In reading this book you will come to know things and see Black Americans in a light as you never have before!
0Comment36 of 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 1999
This is a compelling book that, once begun, is difficult to put down. Be warned - only emotionally secure, mentally balanced people with a global perspective and genuine desire to learn would be able to appreciate the depth, scope and meaning of this book. This will be a very difficult book for some on both sides of the color line. It makes one wonder at the biblical saying "the first shall be last and the last shall be first..." Hmmm..
0Comment44 of 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2008
This book was extremely enlightening and great reading. It captures the history of Black culture from the beginning of the slave trade to America and the significant contributions made by Blacks.

I would recommend this book for anyone who enjoys reading, regardles of race, ethinic background, religion, or cultural beliefs.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2012
I would reccomend this book to all black people, because it is good information. I'm going to keep it for future reference.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2011
This is just a great book in understanding the history of blacks before the Mayflower came to America. I would recommend this book for classroom education, because of its educational content. I first read this book many years ago and really enjoyed it. I ordered this book as a gift so this person could read this great book. Again, I think that this book should be part of our educational system required reading.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2016
Eye opener! I never knew a lot of the things in this book. Very large book, not a sit down and read in one night. Some of the information made me mad mainly how Blacks have been treated in this country. Not the history book from high school, that was watered down. This book brings the truth and it will set you free! Your mind that is...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse