Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Before You Leap: A Frog's Eye View of Life's Greatest Lessons
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 9, 2006
This book is fantastic. It parodies some of the best management and self-help books on the market today, yet still gives very useful information. If you are, or ever were a fan of the Muppets (which everyone should be!), then I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 4, 2007
Yes, I said teens, and adults, too! This is NOT a children's book, and the wisdom and tips herein are priceless. We are the people who grew up with Kermit, who trust him, love him, and patiently wait for him to either dump the pig or marry her.

The photos are superlative, the sagest bits are given in very funny "sketches," and the author himself is so endearing.

BUY IT! You won't be sorry.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2007
I don't usually read this kind of book, but I decided to pick up Kermit's masterpiece in motivation and I have not regretted doing so. This delightful book is all about ridiculous optimism. Yes, you heard me right -- ridiculous optimism.

Quoting Kermit: If this book can drive you - and those around you - crazy with ridiculous optimism, then it has done its job. Who knows, maybe by reading these lessons from my life, you'll be inspired to drop your tail, leave your swamp, and set out on a journey that's just as amazing and wonderful as mine.

'Before You Leap' carries two parts. Part 1 is about his life: life of having over 2,353 family members; how he grew up from a little tadpole, then attending school, and then getting his legs; his search for significance and fame; how he got into showbiz and thereafter forming his own team of superstar performers; and his exciting relationship with the amorous Miss Piggy. Part 1 is rather hilarious.

Part 2 gets on to the more serious stuff for its readers. It's now lessons for your life and carries 14 croak-licious chapters. Serious though it may be, it still contains oodles of humor. Kermit interviewed his muppet gang on issues like money, strategies for work, strategies for school, exploring why bad things happen to everyone even to good frogs, and many more. There are lots of Kermit-tips too.

Are you ready for such an experience, an experience of ridiculous optimism? If you are, you so must read this book. Do it with an open mind and an open heart.

And if all of these are not enough, the photos of Kermit and gang will make your day. He is indeed a frog of many expressions. The pictures are simply marvelous and each one truly inspires me. He's close to being a perfect model and so are his muppet buddies!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2006
As a lifelong Muppets fan who is now a busy graduate student and mother of four, this is just what I needed. Kermit's wit and wisdom provide guidance, insight, and a good chuckle for me every time I open the book.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2013
Funny, light literature with a bit of a bite and meaning to simple said words. It is a great gift to all froglovers and those who still have the child in them who can enjoy little things in life and ponders over them. Pond, that was the word, it is even great for City sneakers who live in a swamp, too. It is really funny, I would encourage female readers to read Miss Piggy's book in addition, to get the female side of the story. It is great too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a charmer of a book directed primarily to those with fond recollections of The Muppet Show and to a lesser degree, Sesame Street. Kermit the Frog is given full credit for the authorship since it is his perspective we are reading, but the anonymous creators have taken a creative approach by having the first third of the book dedicated to Kermit's life story and legendary successes and the remainder a motivational self-help tome along the lines of Stephen Covey's The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People and Rhonda Byrne's The Secret. Both parts are amusing, though I have to admit I like the memoir portion a bit more since the personal history includes a nice tribute to Muppet creator Jim Henson and lots of pictures of the memorable sketches from The Muppet Show and follow-up movies. Born in a swamp as one of 2,353 tadpole progeny in a single family, Kermit harbored show business dreams at an early age. He didn't let his non-human standing get in the way of getting an honorary doctorate or being a substitute host on The Tonight Show Starring Johnny Carson.

In fact, he embraces his inner amphibian so much that he shares his fourteen lessons in leading a fulfilling life. Provocative chapter titles include "The Seven Dreams of Highly Effective Amphibians", "When Bad Things Happen to Good Frogs", "It's Not Easy Eating Greens", "Finding Your Inner Tadpole" and "Moving Your Own Cheese". My favorite piece is "Fridays with Fozzie", a humorous send-up of Mitch Albom's best-seller Tuesdays with Morrie, in which Kermit and his best friend Fozzie the Bear provide validation for one another on their journey toward self-discovery. The other significant Muppets show up, including of course, Miss Piggy, the subject of a Dr. Phil-type chapter, "Love Amphibian Style", on how to keep the romance alive. As you can surmise, this book is really geared for adults more than children, and yet the coffee-table format, large-font type and pleasing graphics are certain to arouse interest at any age. After all, it is written by a frog, and so typical of Kermit, his post script on the last page states, "Hi there! This is the end of the book. You can put it down now." He is lovably helpful to the end.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2007
If you are a muppet lover or don't even know who the heck they are you should still read this book. It is a great advice giving book. It also comes with the hilarity that comes naturally from the muppets. It shares all the great life leesons that come to us in no other way. The muppets make everything more interesting. You should definently put this book on your reading list!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
I bought this as a gift for somebody. It has many inspiring quotes, colorful pictures, and is a must have for all Kermit fans. It arrived in perfect condition and was extremely well packaged. I am very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2012
What an utterly delightful book! Any of you who have wondered and marveled at the Muppets' humor, rare philosophy and undaunted spirit will thrill to read every enticing line.

From the moment Kermit was discovered plucking his banjo in the swamp to his signing the Standard Rich and Famous Contract, to the Muppet TV episodes, movies and his wonderful relationship with his best friend, Fozzie Bear, the ever glamorous Miss Piggy, Gonzo, Beaker, Dr. Bunsen Honeydew, Animal and a host of other splendid characters, this book traces the high (and low) points of Kermit's life. Perhaps being a small, green amphibian gives one a rare perspective on life. One could just as easily be squashed or admired, praised or ignored.

Kermit reminds us that no matter how large the obstacles placed before us, follow your dream. A man or woman without a dream has no purpose at all. That vision of a brighter future gives one a reason to wake up in the morning, to try, to take chances and, hopefully, succeed in some of those efforts. So, get out there and follow your dream! You'll be so glad that you did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2006
I was so excited when I found the book. It is SOOOOO funny, I love his comments about Mom the Frog and Dad the Frog. It is a must have for all ages. I gave it to three people for Christmas!!!!! Thank God for Kermit the Frog and the Muppets;oP
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse