Truck Month Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jessy Lanza Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty The Baby Store Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Cash Back Offer bighero bighero bighero  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars19
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on September 23, 2005
I just love this book...I found out about it through a friend & read it in one night, now I keep it on my nightstand as a reference guide. I am a want-a-be naturalist & I try my best. This book gives me the knowledge and inspiration to stay on track. I purchaed 6 more books for my 20 something kids and close friends. Alot of the knowledge in the book I already knew, reading it gave me the power to incorprate the basics into my daily life. I know that I will not go Vegan however I am much smarter about my choices...I think everyone should have this book and use it as a reference guide to healther living.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2008
Mom wasn't healthy, no huge degenerative disease like cancer...but just lots of little things adding up, memory loss, arthritis, pains here and there...And although she is interested in healthy ways, (and talks to me / is supportive about what I do and what I like...) she was hesitant to make any changes to her own old routines... So, I got my mom this book as an introduction to ways she can start to feel better. I had read it for myself, and although it was mostly things I knew (I've read a lot about health over the years) what i was impressed with is that it contained the components of health and nutrition that I've found to be most beneficial in my own experience of trial and error.

So I decided to get it for my mom, thinking that she most likely won't read it...and I'd just have to chalk it up to, "Oh well, I tried". So it came as a complete surprise that she -first of all- read it, and then was utterly ASTONISHED when I found out that she actually started implementing EVERY SINGLE suggestion in the book! :)

So then, I had to find out how it was able to make such an impact...So I was like "mom, I've told you how important getting omega oils is, like taking flax oil" she quickly quipped back "but you didn't tell me WHY!..." So, for whatever reason, the WAY in which this book was written combined with the practicality of the suggestions ...has changed my mom's health for the better. And further, has managed to shift her belief /inspired her to know that she now has an active ROLE in maintaining her own health (!) So pretty cool indeed...So, I'm actually writing this to say, thanks Mr. Cook! :)
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2007
I have been very interested in natural living for a while now, and slowly have been adding more and more components of it to my life. This book is a great comprehensive guide to many aspects of natural living. It gives specific examples of what to do and not to do, as well as specific product recommendations. He also has some recipes in the back of the book that I have tried and loved, and found very useful. I definitely recommend this book for anyone interested in natural living.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2008
This book is a fantastic roadmap for starting a healthy lifestyle. I learned many of the foods and household products I used had additives that are not safe, but it is a big task to change the things that we use everyday. The book introduced me to some great products and helpful resources for information. I like to research products before purchasing but I found that there isn't a lot of rating information about organic products. Larry's book is a fantastic "where to start and why" reference, one that you will use again and again.
This is the best book I have read for healthy living ideas that you can implement at your own pace. The improvement in my family's health confirms that The Beginner's Guide To Natural Living was a great investment! Danna B.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2011
I found this book to be incredibly insightful and eye-opening. Larry covers a vast array of topics, all of which contain very valuable information, and is sure to sight his sources. This book has truly changed my life-for the better.
Thank you, Larry.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2009
I recommend The Beginner's Guide to Natural Living to my patients because it encapsulates all the things I would want them to know at the outset: vibrant health comes from living a more natural lifestyle, and Mr. Cook brings it all together in an easily digestible form. The book is comprehensive but readable, practical and thoughtful. For my patients to have success in healing, I always prescribe dietary changes such as those advocated by Mr. Cook - eating whole foods, organic foods and less processed foods. This book also gives good research as to why eating such foods promotes healing and health. The sections on supplements and health food shopping are particularly useful and easy to follow. If someone is looking to get healthy or reverse a disease process, adopting the principles in this book is a great way to get started.
Simon Barker, ND
Pasadena, CA
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2010
This little gem does a great job covering the basics needed to achieve and maintain good health from a natural health perspective: how to shop at a health food store, why to drink filtered water, why to eat whole organic food instead of processed food, how to build chi and vitality, why detoxification of the body is important, the benefit to visiting a holistic dentist, how natural medicine works and why visiting a natural medicine doctor is important. It is clearly organized and packed with practical information that will be helpful to any individual interested in forming lifelong healthy habits. The book is appropriate for both the novice and the more experienced natural health conscious consumer. I am a practicing Naturopathic Doctor and I found many of the resources in the book to be very useful. Kudos to the author for creating a well-researched, thorough and peer-reviewed book that will help everyone take the right steps towards living a healthy life.

Angela Agrios, ND
Licensed Naturopathic Doctor
Los Angeles, CA
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
This is a great book to get if you're just starting out on a more natural and healthy lifestyle. The information in this book still holds true years later and I find myself going back to it just to brush up on things. It's a small book filled with a lot of good information.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2008
For those of you who are confused by conflicting health care data, I highly recommend The Beginner's Guide to Natural Living. I have been educating people about natural health for over 20 years and ever since this book came out, my job has been much easier. It provides the reader with easy-to-understand information on everything from how to (painlessly) transition to a better diet, how to find a good alternative care practitioner, how to find products to support you in making changes, and most importantly... WHY it's so good for you to do so. It even has pictures of many of the staples of a natural foods diet so you can bring the book with you to your local health food store to show them what you want.

If you've ever felt embarrassed by not knowing the difference between a naturopath and a homeopath, or between a vegetarian and a vegan, or what a tincture is or why it's best to clean your body, hair and teeth with natural products... this is your new bible!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
This book is well written. Everything is consistent with what we know today about additives, GMOs, organic etc. I really liked this book...when I need reaffirmation that this is the way to go...I read a chapter or two. Apparently there was some undeserved criticism of this book..all I can say is...people resist change and the truth can stare one in the face but still be ignored.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse