Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Beginning Again: People and Nature in the New Millennium

5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
ISBN-13: 978-0195096378
ISBN-10: 0195096371
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Buy used On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$9.83 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
Buy new On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$34.99 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
More Buying Choices
22 New from $2.99 30 Used from $0.01
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


Save Up to 90% on Textbooks Textbooks
$34.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

Review


"eginning Again is an engaging, well-written book about the interaction between technology, nature, and people. It would bea thought-provoking addition to the reading list for college ecology, natural resources, and public policy courses. It is an interesting book for anyone to read."--Journal of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Education


"Ecology and religious tradition are both enlisted in search of a new beginning....In the tradition of Thoreau, Muir, and Aldo Leopold, Ehrenfeld mixes technical information with wit and wisdom."--Bryan Norton, BioScience


"The ground Ehrenfeld covers gets a good and thorough turning."--Kirkus Reviews


"As we stumble towards the millennium, David Ehrenfeld demonstrates convincingly the baggage we should leave behind--the bureaucratic dishonesty, the technological fascinations, that we should wipe from our common slate. Even better, he offers precious glimpses of the real-world pleasures that could replace our unfulfilling and dangerous preoccupations."--Bill McKibben


"In the face of so much evidence, here compiled, of human stupidity, it is reassuring to find in the same book abundant evidence of human intelligence. Beginning Again is the work of a fine writer, and it is full of good will and good sense. Those who see the lethal foolishness of the way we are going will find direction here, and will take courage."--Wendell Berry


From the Back Cover

In Beginning Again, the author has undertaken the difficult task of describing the present clearly enough to reveal the future. Out of his broad vision emerges a glimpse of a new millennium: a vision at once frightening and comforting, a scene of great devastation and great rebuilding.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Image
Looking for the Audiobook Edition?
Tell us that you'd like this title to be produced as an audiobook, and we'll alert our colleagues at Audible.com. If you are the author or rights holder, let Audible help you produce the audiobook: Learn more at ACX.com.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press (August 24, 1995)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0195096371
  • ISBN-13: 978-0195096378
  • Product Dimensions: 5.6 x 0.6 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,250,622 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
100%
4 star
0%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Here is a book written by a man eminently qualified to write such a book.
This should be a 'Must Read', for everyone, & in particular for the 'Touchy-Feely PC. Folk' who like to shoot off their mouth without a grain of COMPREHENSION.

Every Policy Maker in any sort of Govt. Agency should be required to read this book.
Comment 3 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Beginning Again: People and Nature in the New Millennium
This item: Beginning Again: People and Nature in the New Millennium
Price: $34.99
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com