Industrial Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Gifts Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals TheGoodDinosaur Shop Now HTL

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Beginning Again: People and Nature in the New Millennium

1 customer review
ISBN-13: 978-0195096378
ISBN-10: 0195096371
Why is ISBN important?
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Buy used On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$7.47 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
Buy new On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
$34.99 On clicking this link, a new layer will be open
More Buying Choices
25 New from $2.97 36 Used from $0.01 1 Collectible from $9.96
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student

Get Up to 80% Back Rent Textbooks
$34.99 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In Stock. Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews


"eginning Again is an engaging, well-written book about the interaction between technology, nature, and people. It would bea thought-provoking addition to the reading list for college ecology, natural resources, and public policy courses. It is an interesting book for anyone to read."--Journal of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Education

"Ecology and religious tradition are both enlisted in search of a new beginning....In the tradition of Thoreau, Muir, and Aldo Leopold, Ehrenfeld mixes technical information with wit and wisdom."--Bryan Norton, BioScience

"The ground Ehrenfeld covers gets a good and thorough turning."--Kirkus Reviews

"As we stumble towards the millennium, David Ehrenfeld demonstrates convincingly the baggage we should leave behind--the bureaucratic dishonesty, the technological fascinations, that we should wipe from our common slate. Even better, he offers precious glimpses of the real-world pleasures that could replace our unfulfilling and dangerous preoccupations."--Bill McKibben

"In the face of so much evidence, here compiled, of human stupidity, it is reassuring to find in the same book abundant evidence of human intelligence. Beginning Again is the work of a fine writer, and it is full of good will and good sense. Those who see the lethal foolishness of the way we are going will find direction here, and will take courage."--Wendell Berry

About the Author

David Ehrenfeld, who holds degrees in history, medicine, and zoology, is Professor of Biology at Rutgers University, where he teaches courses in ecology and conservation. He is the author of The Arrogance of Humanism, the founding editor of the journal Conservation Biology, and a regular columnist for the quarterly magazine, Orion.

Hero Quick Promo
Holiday Deals in Kindle Books
Save up to 85% on more than 1,000 Kindle Books. These deals are valid until November 30, 2015. Learn more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 240 pages
  • Publisher: Oxford University Press (August 24, 1995)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0195096371
  • ISBN-13: 978-0195096378
  • Product Dimensions: 5.6 x 0.6 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,698,686 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 8 people found the following review helpful By BuntyP on April 8, 2010
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Here is a book written by a man eminently qualified to write such a book.
This should be a 'Must Read', for everyone, & in particular for the 'Touchy-Feely PC. Folk' who like to shoot off their mouth without a grain of COMPREHENSION.

Every Policy Maker in any sort of Govt. Agency should be required to read this book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Beginning Again: People and Nature in the New Millennium
This item: Beginning Again: People and Nature in the New Millennium
Price: $34.99
Ships from and sold by