Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great student text
This book supports students by offering examples that are clear and easy to understand. I enjoyed using this text as it offered students the opportunity to successfully solve challenging exercises. Math textbooks are extremely difficult to read and interpret. Martin-Gay took her book to a level of simplicity that most math texts simply don't have.
Published on July 2, 2004

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars needs more information
this book is very good with the information, but it does NOT have any of the problems! Amazon should have made it very clear that one would have to buy the MyMathLab to get problems for homework. Very unhappy about what I got from the information provided!
Published on September 2, 2009 by Holly L. Shepard


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars needs more information, September 2, 2009
this book is very good with the information, but it does NOT have any of the problems! Amazon should have made it very clear that one would have to buy the MyMathLab to get problems for homework. Very unhappy about what I got from the information provided!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a Horrible Book, October 18, 2001
By A Customer
I am taking math this semester and this is the required text. The bad thing about this book is that it has crappy examples.I was afraid to miss a class because if I did, I would not understand the material. The instructor teaching the class explains the material much better. This book is a big waste of money. If I could, I would give this book zero stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, October 5, 2005
This review is from: Beginning Algebra, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
This book was required for my math instruction, and as several readers have mentioned before, I am glad that the instructor was an excellent teacher the book by itself is no use. Unless you understand math to begin with.

However used with an excellent instructor it becomes a useful tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I thought, August 26, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Why would the book be titled MyMathLab Edition and not contain the mymathlab kit? This was very misleading. I am unhappy and will probably never buy from this company or recommend it to anyone. They should make it clear that this book does not contain the code needed for mymathlab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of $ and time, October 28, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Beginning Algebra (Hardcover)
This book was the required book for my college class. It is nothing short of pure torture. Thank God my professor is excellent!! The examples in this book are very hard to interpret and the problems are not much good either. Also, the answers to the chapter problems in the back of the book contain only the odd-numbered problems. Good luck!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great student text, July 2, 2004
By A Customer
This book supports students by offering examples that are clear and easy to understand. I enjoyed using this text as it offered students the opportunity to successfully solve challenging exercises. Math textbooks are extremely difficult to read and interpret. Martin-Gay took her book to a level of simplicity that most math texts simply don't have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Math book?, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beginning Algebra, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
I don't think there is much to write about math or a math book? This book serves its purpose? helps you understand math.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pleased!, February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book arrived in great condition. It was packaged very well and above all, there were absolutely no tears within the binder. Thank you for your faithfulness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Intermediate Algebra, February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Assignments in book was missing in all chapters.
It was shipped in time. The book was not complete, it had no assignments in each chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Math made easy!, December 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beginning Algebra, 4th Edition (Hardcover)
Always remember - numbers are our friends. This book makes math fun for everyone! Math is important in life and this book helps make mastering math skills fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beginning Algebra, 4th Edition
Beginning Algebra, 4th Edition by K. Elayn Martin-Gay (Hardcover - May 2, 2004)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.