Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Beginning (Deluxe Edition)
Safety Month Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 10, 2010
If you're expecting the Peas to crank out more of the same stuff from the END then you will be disappointed. But, if you're like me and you appreciate when a talented band decides to create something new then you'll love the Beginning. Why do the Peas need another Boom Boom Pow? They've already done that. This is one of those albums that when you list to it the first time you say, "that was good." But, then you keep listening and the start to like it even more. I predict that these early reviewers will change their ratings once the singles from the Beginning start to top the charts.

Also, a word of caution about the Amazon 30 second samples -- They don't do any of the songs justice. True to Peas style, each song moves through a variety of beats, rhythms, melodies and sounds. The 30 seconds you get in the samples is only a small part of the song. For example, "The Time (Dirty Bit)" sample ends right before the song really takes off. If you judge the song by the sample you might be thinking that the Peas stayed up too late one night watching Dirty Dancing.
44 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2011
I purchased this as a gift for my daughter. She was very happy with it. I have had the opportunity to listen to it in the background from every room in the house for over a month now, and can say it really isn't bad. Most of the songs consists of pretty catchy beats, but that's mainly what I hear throughout the house; the bumping bass sounds. The music sounds very club-ish to me, but if that's the fad, who am I to judge? Overall, I can tell you I am not ready to sneak into my daughter's room to hide it away for a length of time to give myself a reprieve like some of the other music she listens too. I wouldn't consider it God's gift to music, but I wouldn't classify it as pure garbage either. I am sure that if you are a Black Eyed Peas fan you will like the album. If you are a casual listener, you will find yourself tapping your toe to a few of the songs. There is enough mixture to the CD to keep you from turning it off after the first 4 songs.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2010
These songs are just plain FUN !! With all the synthesizers synthing away, and the vocals simply dripping in electronic processing, if you're not dancing like a maniac to each & every beat, then you better CHECK YOUR PULSE ! I like this incarnation, because I've got a CD Jukebox, and I hadn't bought The E.N.D. yet, so this was a great way to get the hits from that album whilst finally ponying up for this one. By the way, I've made a nice cover for the Juke-and posted it here-it's got the graphics for both albums in one handy pic, so buy this CD and download the composite picture-load it into your CD jukebox-you're ready to party !
review image
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2010
This is a CD release by the talented the Black Eyed Peas, titled "The Beginning". The CD is a relatively weaker release as compared with their releases in the past, with mega-hits including, "I Gotta Feeling", "Boom Boom Pow" & "Where Is The Love?" The album may please die-hard fans but others may better listen to this CD release first before buying (Electro-dance/pop album). The CD opens with an okay track, "The Time(Dirty Bit", an electro-pop song with samples from "(I've Had) The Time Of My Life". Other okay tracks include "Love You Long Time", "Xoxoxo", "Fashion Beats", "Don't Stop The Party" & "Best One Yet(The Boy)". "Do I Like This" is a rather weak electro-hip hop track. Notable tracks from this CD include "Light Up The Night", "Someday", "Whenever", "Just Can't Get Enough" & "Play It Loud". The rhyming is there, but the lyrics are not at all that inspirational. On listening this CD as a whole a few times, one gets the impression/feeling that it may well have been done in a hurry. The melodies as well as harmonies & choruses could/should have been better! The Black Eyed Peas are a talented bunch of a band, Will.I.Am a notable producer, have released a rather okay/good album "The Beginning", but they are not at their best. If you are a die-hard/fanatical fan, you will/may enjoy this CD. If you are an 'occasional' fan, rather listen to this CD before buying.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2015
I like some of the songs on the album. Such as "Xoxoxo", "Dirty Bit", "Own It", "Just Can't Get Enough", "The Boy", "The Coming", "The Situation", "Do It Like This", "Don't Stop The Party", "Fashion Beats", "Whenever", "Someday"...PRETTY MUCH THE WHOLE ALBUM :D
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Black Eyed Peas transcended hip-hop to become one of the most commercially successful pop groups of the 2000s. Their career began modestly, with a pair of albums inspired by the positive-minded likes of A Tribe Called Quest and De La Soul.

The group's earliest connections go back to the early `90s, when high schoolers will.i.am (William James Adams, Jr.) and apl.de.ap (Allan Pineda Lindo, Jr.) were part of Tribal Nation, a breakdancing crew. Eventually the pair focused more on music and split off on their own as Atban Klann, their esoteric name an acronym for A Tribe Beyond a Nation.

Upon the death of Eazy-E in 1995 and any further deals with Ruthless Records, will.i.am and apl.de.ap recruited another dancer/MC, Taboo (Jaime Luis Gómez), and reappeared as Black Eyed Peas. In 1998 their debut, Behind the Front, was released on the Interscope label to critical acclaim. BEP's 2000-issued sophomore release, Bridging the Gap, featured guest appearances from Jurassic 5's Chali 2na, De La Soul, and Macy Gray. "Request Line," a single that reached number two on Billboard's rap chart.

A corner was turned soon after the addition of Fergie (Stacy Ann Ferguson), a member of the group Wild Orchid. BEP's first album with Fergie, 2003's Elephunk, stormed the Top 40 with three singles -- "Where Is the Love?" (Number 8 hit), "Hey Mama (Number 23 hit)," and "Let's Get It Started (Number 21 hit)." Two years later, the quartet returned with Monkey Business, which pushed them into the pop stratosphere courtesy of the hit singles "Don't Phunk with My Heart"(Number 3 hit) and "My Humps."(Number 3 hit) In the U.S., it went triple platinum. In the meantime, Fergie released her solo album The Duchess with multiple number 1 hits.

In 2009, amid the long run at Number 1 with Boom Boom Pow (eventual Billboard Number 1 Song Of 2009), BEP released their monster album The E.N.D. (Energy Never Dies). It sold 2 million copies in US, with multiple Number 1 hits, like I Gotta Feeling (14 weeks at Number 1), Meet Me Halfway, Imma Be and Rock That Body. In a recent interview with Ryan Seacrest on American Top 40 show, BEP explained the meaning of The E.N.D.: they had the vision of the end of the record stores, like Tower Records in US, and in Toronto, Sam The Record Man, A&A, CD Plus and Tower Records. What a sad vision, but true.

Now BEP released their latest album The Beginning, the opposite to The E.N.D. They explained to Ryan Seacrest that they stayed ahead of the current trend by experimenting new sound as DJs and also keep a close pulse on the dance scene.

The Beginning does not have the same impact as the E.N.D. as far as singles are concerned. Their lead single The Time (Dirty Bit) has finally reached Number 1 in UK and Canada. On Billboard Hot 100, it peaked at Number 4. As you are already a BEP fan, this latest album is no brainer: a must, with lots of danceable tunes. Please note that there are actually FOUR separate versions of this album.

Regular version:
1. The Time (Dirty Bit)
2. Light Up The Night
3. Love You Long Time
4. Xoxoxo
5. Someday
6. Whenever
7. Fashion Beats
8. Don't Stop The Party
9. Do It Like This
10. The Best One Yet (The Boy)
11. Just Can't Get Enough
12. Play It Loud

Canadian Deluxe Edition
12 tracks, plus:
1. The Situation
2. The Coming
3. Own It

Canadian Super Deluxe Edition (2 discs)
Disc 1: 15 tracks as in the Canadian Deluxe Edition
Disc 2: (Best Of The E.N.D.)
1. Boom Boom Pow
2. I Gotta Feeling
3. Meet Me Halfway
4. Imma Be
5. Rock That Body

UK Super Deluxe Edition (2 discs)
Disc 1 18 tracks:
Additional tracks to regular edition:
1. The Situation
2. The Coming
3. Own It
4. Everything Wonderful, featuring David Guetta
5. Phenomenon
6. Take It Off
Disc 2: Best Of The E.N.D.
5 tracks as above

This album The Beginning is highly recommended. Do choose wisely.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
One of my favorite modern rap/hip hop groups is the Black Eyed Peas. If you listen to top 40 at all from the past ten years you have heard many of their songs. "Dirty Bit" and many more are included in this collection. If you like good funky dance music with some rap included, this is one of the best groups of all time!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
On album number six, will.i.am and company fail to set the `bar high.' THE BEGINNING is arguably the quartet's worst effort. There is very little from `The Beginning' to make it truly stand out or shine like 2009's THE E.N.D. (Energy Never Dies), which may be the biggest drawback of `The Beginning.' Even following up a well received effort, that is not the sole problem of `The Beginning.' For the most part, the Peas sound plain uninspired here and not even the enthusiastic european-pop dominate production work can save this effort. Fergie never sounds commanding, will.i.am is way too drenched in auto tune, and the rhymes are stupider than ever - but a `bad' stupid. Even first single "The Time (Dirty Bit" falls short, probably explaining the underwhelming opening of `The Beginning' (#6 on the Billboard Album Charts with only 119,000 sold). Sure, there is a chance that one of these rather uninspiring songs will launch into a `mega single' and the stupidity will captivate us all, but for now, this album just doesn't cut it.

"The Time (Dirty Bit)" liberally lifts off of "I've Had The Time of My Life," before breaking off into an electro-pop affair finding will.i.am changing "dirty bit." The track as a whole is `all over the place,' only coming together on the unifying hook ("I've had the time of my life, and I've never felt this way before, and I swear that it true, and I owe it all to you, you, you..."), which really makes no cohesive sense. At 5:00, the cut drags on too long and ultimately lacks true pizzazz. It's not a total bomb, but doesn't dare rival previous Pea openers such as "Hands Up," "Pump It," or the massive, esteemed juggernaut "Boom Boom Pow." "Light Up The Night" certainly doesn't rival `The E.N.D.'s' sophomore cut, "Rock Your Body," coming over as uninspired and bland. The track is a respectable 4:20, but even that reasonable length is nullified from a track chocked full of auto-tune and, well, utter stupidity. After two tracks, one certainly feels `dumber' after partaking of The Black Eyed Peas.

"Love You Long Time" is even worse, continuing `The Beginning' on a brainless, overly-repetitive ride. "XOXOXO," which continues a European driven dance-pop sound, is better, but still corny and second-rate at best. "Someday" is not extremely different, while "Whenever" is distinct with acoustic guitar-driven production. The production soon turns into yet another European-pop cut. "Whenever" is further ruined when Fergie's vocals become drenched in senseless and shameless auto tune, which makes the whole production seem like one big contradiction. "Fashion Beats" is more creative than most of other cuts, sampling "My Forbidden Lover," but still suffers from `originality' as it feels like an update of Madonna, only twenty-five years too late. The Peas certainly don't `light up' much after seven tracks in.

"Don't Stop The Party" may arguably be the best cut from `The Beginning,' but it still doesn't eclipse previous hits by the pop group. What may have made this particular cut more effective is earlier placement on the album. "Do It Like This" is an interesting listen, but drags on too long at 5:29. A melodramatic change of style is semi-creative, but also proves odd and puzzling as if The Black Eyed Peas were trying to rehash the creativity of "Imma Be." "The Best One Yet (The Boy)" teams will.i.am with "I Gotta Feeling" producer David Guetta, but alas it is not quite the same magic as that mega hit. "Just Can't Get Enough" adds producer Rodney "Darkchild" Jerkins to the mix, providing an interesting listen, which are few and far between on this rather bland effort. Closing cut "Play It Loud" devastates any momentum built up at the end, closing the album nearly as blandly as it began.

Essentially, there is very little to say about THE BEGINNING; it seems rushed and lacks the polish of previous Black Eyed Peas albums, even as far as some of the production work. There are no huge standouts, which makes this effort perhaps the hardest sell for a group that thrives over being `commercial.' In my opinion, their worst album to date.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
FAST DELIVERY, GREAT PRODUCT. I ONLY ORDERED IT FOR THE TRACK "SOMEDAY" FROM THE TOM CRUISE MOVIE WHICH WASNT ON THE SOUNDTRACK. ALSO, THE THEME TO SKYFALL WASNT ON THE SOUNDTRACK AND I HAD TO ORDER IT FROM ARTIST. WHATS UP WITH THAT?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 26, 2011
"The Beginning" is mis-named: rather than any kind of beginning for The Black Eyed Peas, it can instead be chalked up to "more of the same." The same kind of mechanical, generic techno beats that infected "The E.N.D." are used again here. When vocals aren't fed through a vocoder (such as when Fergie gets a new robo-chipmunk sound in "Love you Long Time"), they're often looped in samples that make you wonder if the CD just started skipping ("Don't Stop the Party", "The Time (Dirty Bit)").

The electronic shift wouldn't be so bad for the Black Eyed Peas if it had some of the energy of, say, The Prodigy or The Crystal Method: these are people who can throw together mixed-media club sounds just by spending an hour playing around in their record collections. Unfortunately, the electronic elements that infuse "The Beginning" are very simplistic: they sound like something you'd hear in old-school techno. Where "The E.N.D." emulated Daft Punk in a way that is stilted and awkward, "The Beginning" is an equally ill-fitting attempt to mix the Black Eyed Peas' talent and creativity with a dull and forgettable European dance mix.

Much as I'd enjoy another "Monkey Business", I realize the Black Eyed Peas need to move on and grow. I'm just hoping they don't continue to grow in this direction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.43

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.