Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for auto parts anymore!
It may be only 67 pages long, but it will give the basic understanding of the process, equipment, and every other step and items needed to do your own or set up a small powder coating shop. As with all books this does not claim to be the only book you will need. but if your are thinking about starting up a shop or just curious about it from hearing about it. This is the...
Published on April 12, 2006 by PTSideshow

versus
5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK information, but lacking in presentation.
Upon receiving this book from Amazon, I was disappointed to see how thin it is. For the $24.95 price tag, I had expected a "real" professionally printed book on glossy paper stock or at least some color plates. Unfortunately, this book appears to be a low budget and/or low volume independent production.

Some of the information is helpful (for new powder coating...
Published on September 25, 2007 by Big Xeno


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not just for auto parts anymore!, April 12, 2006
By 
PTSideshow "GRP" (Macomb County Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beginning Powder Coater's Handbook: An Introduction to Powder Coating (Paperback)
It may be only 67 pages long, but it will give the basic understanding of the process, equipment, and every other step and items needed to do your own or set up a small powder coating shop. As with all books this does not claim to be the only book you will need. but if your are thinking about starting up a shop or just curious about it from hearing about it. This is the one source to answer the questions you probably have. foe thw biz end of it you will of course need a few more stricly small biz books. I own it and will be useing it in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars O_O, January 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beginning Powder Coater's Handbook: An Introduction to Powder Coating (Paperback)
I Liked the book, short and simple.
From the first page to the last page it is filled with information that you would need to know, Hence the name Beginning Powder Coater's Handbook an Introduction to Powder Coating. I found it very useful, the information it contained was practical and useful as the topics ranged from safety, through the cleaning and powder coating process step by step, to marketing and job estimation it also offers up life learned lessons, and to me those are worth more than the cost of this book. For the price, it is worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars powder coating, April 29, 2008
This review is from: Beginning Powder Coater's Handbook: An Introduction to Powder Coating (Paperback)
Great Book if you want to know the facts about powder coating with only the facts and not lots of extra things that will cost you time . well written and to the point .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK information, but lacking in presentation., September 25, 2007
By 
Big Xeno (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beginning Powder Coater's Handbook: An Introduction to Powder Coating (Paperback)
Upon receiving this book from Amazon, I was disappointed to see how thin it is. For the $24.95 price tag, I had expected a "real" professionally printed book on glossy paper stock or at least some color plates. Unfortunately, this book appears to be a low budget and/or low volume independent production.

Some of the information is helpful (for new powder coating hobbyists), such as the step by step application of the powder. Tips are offered that you would not be aware of without prior powder coating experience. If you are new to using an air compressor, you will also find useful information. However, most of the information on powder types, equipment and retail sources can by found with a basic Google search.

The real lunchbox letdown in this book are the photographs. The entire book, including the cover is printed on a porous type of paper (like you find in "For Dummies" books) and the color pictures lose detail. Many of the photos are very small, and even worse, several appear to be low resolution jpg (jpeg) images pulled off internet web sites! Again, for the price of this book, this kind of quality is TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE.

Norris attemps to speak in a candid and easy to read manner, but some of the grammar is questionable.

Being in the graphic design field, I would love to help produce a follow-up edition to this book! It has the potential to be a great and worthwhile buy, but as it is, falls short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powder coating, July 28, 2007
This review is from: Beginning Powder Coater's Handbook: An Introduction to Powder Coating (Paperback)
Good book, provides enough information to keep it interesting but not so much as to be overwhelming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beginning Powder Coater's Handbook: An Introduction to Powder Coating
Beginning Powder Coater's Handbook: An Introduction to Powder Coating by Tracy Norris (Paperback - December 1, 2003)
$24.95 $20.03
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.