Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Intro to Using VB.NET with SQL Server
This really is an outstanding book. My background? Years of C and VB development, but no .NET; then tons of SQL Server 2000/2005 work (am MCITP, MCT in SQL Server).

I specifically wanted a jump-start on accessing SQL 2005 databases from VB.NET, and this book does it. The same method is used throughout the book: (1) briefly explain a topic; (2) write some...
Published on June 17, 2008 by Clyde LeBonz

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good book to start with
to learn the basic VB application and creating VB programs this book will do the job. It is a bit dated, 2005 so I'm sure there are other, newer version, especially since this is 2013.
Published 16 months ago by Jones


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Intro to Using VB.NET with SQL Server, June 17, 2008
By 
Clyde LeBonz (PORTLAND, OR United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beginning VB 2005 Databases: From Novice to Professional (Beginning: From Novice to Professional) (Paperback)
This really is an outstanding book. My background? Years of C and VB development, but no .NET; then tons of SQL Server 2000/2005 work (am MCITP, MCT in SQL Server).

I specifically wanted a jump-start on accessing SQL 2005 databases from VB.NET, and this book does it. The same method is used throughout the book: (1) briefly explain a topic; (2) write some code to illustrate its usage; (3) explain salient points in the code. The examples are extremely short & simple. Each stands alone and illustrates a specific point about .NET or SQL 2005. The authors do not, as some do, create huge coding projects in which learning points are too easily lost. And, not a trivial point, each example works!

If you are a SQL Server professional, you can skip or quickly flip thru some sections that focus on T-SQL, but if you are already a .NET developer you probably won't want to skip anything, because virtually every code sample deals with database access.

Excellent, excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best for beginners and intermediate in VB.Net05 Databases, February 27, 2008
This review is from: Beginning VB 2005 Databases: From Novice to Professional (Beginning: From Novice to Professional) (Paperback)
It's the Best for Beginners and intermediate in VB.net05 Databases,I have read several Books previously and I Couldn't Understand well ,From Beginning to The end This Book explain step By Step all you Need For starting Programming in Databases using VB.Net 2005 and gives you a guide of Books to continue the next grade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book to start with, March 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beginning VB 2005 Databases: From Novice to Professional (Beginning: From Novice to Professional) (Paperback)
to learn the basic VB application and creating VB programs this book will do the job. It is a bit dated, 2005 so I'm sure there are other, newer version, especially since this is 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for beginners, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beginning VB 2005 Databases: From Novice to Professional (Beginning: From Novice to Professional) (Paperback)
This is a very good introductory book to using VB with databases for beginners. I appreciate the fact that the author uses console applications for his examples, well done. Don't mistake this for an intermediate or advanced book as it's written for beginners and it's a fine book for that audience only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really useful so far, February 25, 2010
By 
Ken B. Pierce Jr. "kbp135" (Corvallis, OR United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beginning VB 2005 Databases: From Novice to Professional (Beginning: From Novice to Professional) (Paperback)
I'm trying to pick up a lot of different technologies right now and have been really happy with the 4 chapters I've read so far in VB 2005 Databases. I've read most of chapters 5 and all of 7-9 and they've really filled in some details I wasn't getting from other sources. While a lot of the examples deal with console applications, it was the improved understanding of datasources and datatables that helped me diagnose and fix the problems in my windows forms application. I expect I will read this one cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Good for infomation, but not examples., November 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beginning VB 2005 Databases: From Novice to Professional (Beginning: From Novice to Professional) (Paperback)
I purchased this book from Amazon to help with the transition from VB 6 to VB 2005.
It's an OK book but all the code examples are written for the console, I.E. Command line.
I was looking for examples using Visual compaonets tied to data fields.

I guess some may get more out of it espcially if your needing to run database commands
in the background via the console device out of sight of the user.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beginning VB 2005 Databases: From Novice to Professional (Beginning: From Novice to Professional)
$39.99 $30.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.