Kindle Price: $6.89

Save $1.10 (14%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Get the Free Kindle App

Enter email or phone number to get a link

Processing your request...

Beguiling the Beauty (The Fitzhugh Trilogy Book 1) Kindle Edition

52 customer reviews

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$6.89

Length: 304 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $3.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Audible Narration: Ready

Sing for Us
Historical Fiction
Based on a true story, Sing for Us is a riveting tale of love and hope in the last days of the Civil War. Learn more

Complete Series

Editorial Reviews

Review

“With the first in a new trilogy, RITA Award winner Thomas distills superbly nuanced characters and flawlessly re-created settings worthy of Merchant and Ivory into a gracefully witty and potently passionate love story that sets a new gold standard for historical romances.”  --Booklist (starred review)

"Tender, discerning, and lushly romantic, Thomas's latest offering drills down into the characters' emotional depths to produce a devastating love story that may appeal to fans of Mary Jo Putney and Laura Kinsale." --Library Journal (starred review)

"I enjoyed Beguiling the Beauty tremendously. Ms. Thomas is a writer whose craft grows more dazzling with each book she writes. In this novel, she explores deftly the nature of love, the power of beauty, and the damage men and women do to each other in the pursuit of both. If, as Keats said, 'A thing of beauty is a joy for ever,' readers will be enjoying Beguiling the Beauty for years to come." --All About Romance



"Searing, tender, and filled with passion, [Sherry Thomas's] writing is nothing short of a revelation." --LISA KLEYPAS

About the Author

The USA Today bestselling Sherry Thomas is one of the most acclaimed historical romance authors writing today, winning the RITA Award two years running, and appearing on innumerable "Best of the Year" lists, including those of Publishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal, Dear Author, and All About Romance. She lives in Austin, Texas, with her husband and sons.

Product Details

  • File Size: 809 KB
  • Print Length: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Berkley (May 1, 2012)
  • Publication Date: May 1, 2012
  • Sold by: Penguin Group (USA) LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0072O00RK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #112,347 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


More About the Author

Sherry Thomas writes both historical romance and young adult fantasy.

On the romance side, she is one of the most acclaimed authors working in the genre today, her books regularly receiving starred reviews and best-of-the-year honors from trade publications. She is also a two-time winner of Romance Writers of America's prestigious RITA® Award.

On the young adult fantasy side, there isn't much to report yet, her debut book, THE BURNING SKY, book 1 of the Elemental Trilogy, has received a starred review from Publishers Weekly and been named to the Autumn '13 Kids' Indie Next List.

Sherry writes in her second language. She learned English by reading romance and science fiction--every word Isaac Asimov ever wrote, in fact. She is proud to say that her son is her biggest fanboy--for the YA fantasy, not the romances. At least, not yet...

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

31 of 35 people found the following review helpful By okeydokie on May 29, 2012
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Let me say first I usually love Sherry Thomas' books. "Beguiling the Beauty" is the exception. No amount of wonderful writing can overcome the ill-considered plot. *****SPOILERS***** 1st. Christian has been in love with Venetia for 10 years and never tried to know her better. Unbelievable! 2nd. For a week they make love on a ship with either her disguised or him blindfolded. Then he proposes to her without ever seeing her face. Give me a break! 3rd. A problem from a week of unprotected sex shocks Venetia. Christian believed her when she said she could not conceive. That put them both in the TSTL category. Finally, their confessions of love are brought about by one of the most unbelievable plot twists I've run across. Two busybodies defend their reliable gossip while Christian and Venetia confess all. I wish I saved my money.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
32 of 37 people found the following review helpful By Suzy Q-ed on August 16, 2012
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Sorry for the LONG review, but I owe it to other readers in providing a good enough detail in order to make the best informed decision on whether or not to invest in a book. I am sure glad that other readers take the time in providing such eloquently detailed reviews so that I don't have to, and for that, I thank you.

Contrary to one reader's suggestion of reading this trilogy in order, I am extremely glad that I chose to read the sequel to this book, "Ravishing the Heiress" first, since the summary captioned in the book's back cover seemed far more intriguing than this one. Well thank goodness for "gut instincts." Although this book starts off well with what should be a promising storyline, into a trite and unrealistic story.

This story takes place in the same year that its successor, "Ravishing the Heiress," takes place. In this book too, our author had our lovers meet one another eight years ago when our flaming beauty is already married to her first husband and becomes completely obsessed with her, to the point of establishing a scientific statement based solely on his obsession. Upon meeting the beauty's husband one day, he is recognized immediately as the Harrow player that almost needed to be offered a fork in order for him to devour her more thoroughly since it was so obvious the effect said beauty had on him (eyes rolling here).

Eight years later, our heroine is widowed for the second time and is attending a lecture/seminar at Harvard University given none other than by our hero, the Duke of Lexington, since he is an acclaimed scientist back in England.
Read more ›
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful By I. Wu on June 18, 2012
Format: Mass Market Paperback Verified Purchase
I was really hooked into the first few chapters. I like how Ms. Thomas draws out the dramatics of grand misunderstandings. It's exaggerated, not very believable, and yet in that time period, with a culture that values what's not said just as much as what is, I suppose the dramatization somehow prevents from becoming melodrama.

What disappointed me was the last few chapters. Without giving too much away, I'll just say that the ending was rushed. Suddenly, within a couple of chapters, all is forgiven and loose ends tied into neat little bows. I found the entrance of righteous gossip mongers (a paradox in terms) too sudden, and the baring of private information by the hero and heroine to these strangers as they confessed their love for each other in the process too incredible.

Instead of a grand finale after the grand build-up, the ending fizzled and abruptly...ended. Very disappointing.

The other irritation was the constant description of the heroine's surpassing, mind-boggling, literally blinding beauty. I lose count of how many times people have to squint because they cannot look upon her directly, she is so radiant. It makes the character unreal. I can't imagine any real woman being that beautiful to a man, that he would be obsessed for 10 years over her when he's never even spoken to her, and for many of those years, he's assumed she has a terrible character.

The plot was shaky. The ending was unfortunate. But the writing was good.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Lola Jane on August 29, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'm somewhat new to Sherry Thomas's books. I have found that they are oddly plotted with strange and complicated yet original premises that somehow manage to be charming despite the oddness. This book was very odd. Nonetheless, Thomas managed to write a sweet love story underneath all the plot devices. You just have to have some patience with this book.

Spoilers!!! I won't bother to summarize the story, in detail, but the plot is so odd that I cannot avoid writing about it. If you are reading reviews to see if you'll like this book, then you will need to read a few spoilers.

My biggest criticism of this book is that the author does too much of the work or, more appropriately said, her work is too visible as she is not fully hidden behind the Great Oz's curtain. A really fabulous story flows in a somewhat comfortable way and, while the author is always there steering, it appears that the story is flowing in the way it was meant to flow. Here, Ms. Thomas is way too present in the outlandish plot devices she choose to move her plot along. We have love at first sight, we have love from afar, we have star-crossed lovers, we have grave misunderstandings, we have a good heroine who is desperately misunderstood as "The Whore of Babylon", we have fateful coincidences, we have mistaken identities, we have revenge, we have an unplanned pregnancy, and we have a marriage of necessity. And as the most egregious manipulated plot device, we have a version of a Greek Chorus who literally end the book for us by summing the entire tale up. Be warned, the book takes a byzantine path to a happily ever after. It is just plain odd.

However, if you can stand all the devices, the hero and the heroine are really enjoyable.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?