Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.

Used - Very Good | See details
Sold by Go_Deals.
Access codes and supplements are not guaranteed with used items.
 
   
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

BRS Behavioral Science (Board Review Series) [Paperback]

Barbara Fadem PhD
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)


Available from these sellers.


Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Paperback --  
Unknown Binding --  
There is a newer edition of this item:
BRS Behavioral Science (Board Review Series) BRS Behavioral Science (Board Review Series) 4.2 out of 5 stars (8)
$32.94
In Stock.

Book Description

October 1, 2008 0781782570 978-0781782579 Fifth

The Board Review Series (BRS) is aimed at providing basic knowledge as it relates to clinical situations and is used primarily by medical students studying for the United States Medical Licensing Examinations (USMLE). BRS Behavioral Science, Fifth Edition covers material on this subject that is addressed on USMLE Step 1, written in outline format to provide an efficient method of studying behavioral science for USMLE. The book includes at least 500 USMLE-style questions with accompanying annotated answers. An exam follows each chapter and a Comprehensive Exam is included at the end of the book.

A companion Website will offer the fully searchable text and an interactive question bank.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Series: Board Review Series
  • Paperback: 318 pages
  • Publisher: LWW; Fifth edition (October 1, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0781782570
  • ISBN-13: 978-0781782579
  • Product Dimensions: 7 x 0.6 x 10 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.2 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (24 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #69,753 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
(24)
4.6 out of 5 stars
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
By Vickram
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I have really fallen in love with this book. The majority of information says to either go with this or High-Yield for Behavioral Science and I feel I made the right choice.

Although the information in both is predominantly the same (written by the same author) and would more than likely have the same effect on your board score, I enjoy this book much more.

Versus High-Yield:

I find that information is presented in a better pattern that is easier to read.
QUESTIONS, QUESTIONS, QUESTIONS. If you're like me, what you learn from doing a sample board question is much more potent that any amount of reading. At the end of each chapter is 15-20 questions that reinforce key topics in the chapter, as well as some topics that I believe to be relatively obscure. This really helps me learn and keeps me entertained.

The only drawback is not one that I have personally identified, but in the back of FA, it says the ethics chapter is short, however it has all in the information in FA 2009 ethics section and then some, so I think it should be sufficient. Anyway, in summary this is a product I would definitely recommend because I have had a lot of fun reading it and I have learned a lot.

Hope this was helpful and good luck to everyone taking the step 1.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What makes it so great? August 16, 2008
Format:Paperback
Taking this class in medical school was a breeze with this book. I read it cover to cover easily. The author is very good about keeping each individual chapter only a handful of pages long, but the text doesn't become too wordy or detailed. Diagrams are very well done, and it would be worth it to have this book for these alone. However, this book isn't the perfect reference. It is a little long for a review before the boards, especially since this is a low yield topic. Though I highly recommend using it during class. If you want to slim the book down even more, the high-yield series has one that is equally as good.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't neglect behavioral sciences May 21, 2011
By L. Sun
Format:Paperback
This book is easy, concise and comprehensive. Most people ignore behavioral sciences because it is easy and "low yield" but that is their fatal mistake on the test. There are a significant number of behavioral questions and mastering this book WILL raise your score. The book is so short that it is worth going over at least once.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing for the usmle exam August 20, 2011
By maansdr
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
really amazing book for the usmle test ..it boost my performance in behavioral science from very low to high on the actual usmle test..really great.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Behavioral Science book July 18, 2009
By KG
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is a must have to review for behavioral science. Dr. Fadem does an amazing job condensing everything into this book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Review for USMLE June 4, 2009
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is one of the better BRS books. It's an awesome, concise review and study aid for the USMLE and one's Behavioral medical school course.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars rough electronic copy May 17, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
definitely needs some edits but the vast majority is okay; note that you will not be able to highlight items in tables
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars . February 17, 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I always select a book in good conditions or better and this one met my expectations. Thank you I am very happy with my purchase.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete and concise review book for behavioral science and psychiatry...
EXCELLENT review book for the behavioral science and psychiatry shelf exams. Lots of good review problems in the book and online, with custom test-making capabilities for the... Read more
Published 6 months ago by Paolo Grenga
5.0 out of 5 stars great book!
Book is delivered within estimation. This book is really helpful for board study especially when you need a good summary.
Published 10 months ago by TrevorN
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Book
I read the book twice for my exam and it is really good book to cover important items that is very high yield in the real exam.
Published 15 months ago by MGH
5.0 out of 5 stars USMLE Bible
the best book for reviewing for step 1, can be used as a primary learning tool but is better for review only.
Published 15 months ago by J.L
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for Step 1 or Regular Coursewok
Outstanding Text.

Must have for Step 1 and regular behavioral coursework; easy to read and follow; great practice questions.

You cannot go wrong.
Published 17 months ago by R. McLoughlin
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for Exam Preparation
I rarely take the time to write a review but I felt it is totally worth it in this case. The book is organized wonderfully and the sections are seperated well into topics. Read more
Published 18 months ago by Vered
5.0 out of 5 stars Great
Book new and got here fast! Such a succinct, efficient review of behavioral science. Perfect for shelf exams and the USMLE step I. Really helpful.
Published on March 16, 2012 by Angie
4.0 out of 5 stars Good material.
I got this book after reading some reviews on amazon. I am pleased that i found it comprehensive and detailed enough for what i needed it for. Worth every penny!
Published on March 12, 2012 by duroag
3.0 out of 5 stars Mostly the same as the Behavioral Sciences textbook
Essentially the BRS trims down about 100 or so pages from the textbook. However, the questions are much the same (same author), and the concepts are exactly the same. Read more
Published on April 4, 2011 by Medguydan
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category