Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.05+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 2, 2001
About six months ago, I bought the "Planet Of The Apes" box-set with the herald "sixth" disc, "Behind The Planet Of The Apes". So why did I also buy the new 2 Disc "Behind" version recently? Because it doesn't monkey around like the original "Behind" did! This version has the two-hour retrospective like the original, but so much more too! "Apes" N.A.T.O. presentation, more behind the scenes footage, extensive photo galleries, three totally different 1960's featurettes, the full complete E.G.Robinson screen test, and last but not least, an intimate rough-cut interview by Roddy McDowell himself, and it's over AN HOUR AND A HALF LONG! Along with brand new menus, totally different from the original disc, this is a must have for any Apes fan! I'm just goin' Ape with this!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2001
I was pretty happy with the previous documentary only version of "Behind the Planet of the Apes" which came with the DVD Box set released a couple of years ago. This updated version just blows if off the map! So many great added features and footage, as others have said a treasure trove of behind the scenes information. The interview with Roddy McDowall on disk 2 is fantastic. his insight into the film and television series are riveting. He does tend to ramble off topic from time to time but the places he wanders into are even more fascinating than where the interviewers intended! Great stuff. He is such a gentleman throughout it makes the loss of him even more keenly felt. When the topic gets to the possibility of his appearing in a sequel it really makes one wonder what he would have thought of Tim Burton's incarnation, I kind of think he would have liked it from his comments. If you think you have this disc because you have the DVD box set, you are wrong.Stand up and BUY THIS DISK LIKE APES!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2001
As stated before, the main feature (Behind the Planet of the Apes) is the same as that in the 30th Anniversary VHS and DVD sets, so nothing new here. But included are great extras, such as featurettes and previews (one even containing deleted footage) and the entire screen test as seen in the 'Behind ...' feature. There are also outtakes and dailies from the first film, though they contain no soundtrack so the score is played instead. All in all, some pretty darn good extras. The real treat is the full unedited Roddy McDowall interview which is almost 2 hours. The only problem with the set is that the feature which is the basis for the set was included with both the out of print and upcoming re-release of the dvd sets and by mail order from the vhs set. Thus, all the new features could have been put out on a single dvd. If the dvd set had been done right, all the extras (except maybe the full interview) could easily have been included earlier and it would have been even better. As it stands there's a great interview and over an hours worth of extras avaible nowhere else. The only reason I gave it four stars was I had to pay twice for something I already had just to get some great new stuff.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2005
This documentary covers the original Planet Of The Apes films and TV series' (including, briefly, the cartoon). Extremely well done. Hosted by Cornelius/Caesar/Galen himself, Roddy McDowell. This documentary tells the complete story of the films, with loads of behind the scenes information, photos, and footage. You also get to see some of the original makeup test used to sell Fox on the film (but not the ENTIRE test, as the packaging implies), as well as some promotional material, and an interview with McDowell. The interview is a mixed-bag, as there is no microphone on the person CONDUCTING the interview, so you can bately hear the questions (if at all). That minor grievance aside, this is a fantastic, 2-disc set, and I recommend this to any Planet Of The Apes fan.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2002
This film was the documentary that revealed it all, even the make-up test with Hollywood legend Edward G. Robinson. Hosted by Roddy McDowall, this film goes behind the scenes at all five apes films, the two television series, the mass merchandising campaign, and beyond. Learn that this whole thing started with a novel that was rejected by its own author, and that Arthur Jacobs, the producer, had his wife in all but one Apes film.
Interveiws with Charlton Heston, Kim Hunter, John Chambers, Natalie Trundy, and Ricardo Montalbahn are also included. The Ultimate Ape Event!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2001
Behind the Planet of the Apes
Personally, I find behind the scenes documentaries about how films were made to be one of the more desirable extras found on DVD's. This two disc release from Image Entertainment consists of only such a documentary (none of the "Apes" series is included) but it is a good one. The disc looks to cash in on the interest in the classic "Apes" series created by the release of Tim Burton's remake of the film that started it all.
This release was first broadcast by American Movie Classics (AMC) and is hosted by the late Roddy McDowell who played "Cornelius". Included here is three plus hours of footage (in addition to the main documentary) that will be most welcome to fans of the series and a pleasant surprise to those like myself who are not that familiar with "Apes". All five films in the series are covered and trailers included for all. Also here is the 1967 North American Theatre Owners (NATO) presentation as well as a fascinating screen test featuring Charlton Heston and Edward G. Robinson, who was originally tapped to play Heston's ape nemesis, but later bowed out due to health concerns. However, only diehard fans will appreciate the uncut interview footage with MCDowell, especially since the questions he is asked are mostly inaudible.
All in all, this will appeal to two groups of DVD fans-those that love the "Apes" series and those who love behind the scenes and "the making of" type documentaries. You may want to wait awhile as the price could come down after the buzz about Burton's remake wears off.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2014
This was a fantastic find. It gives loads of information from the actors/actresses in the movie. I viewed it twice so far and plan another showing for my brother, He can't wait to see this. A must have for Ape fans!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2001
This was a great disc but I dont feel that the extras included here warrant a repurchase. I was glad to have seen it but watched it once and resold. The menus are different. All you're really missing is an LONG interview with Mcdowell, alot of 'trailer variations' and a pretty lengthy section set to the theme music that shows all the outtakes and unused footage run together. I'm not sure it's worth 21.00 considering the repeated viewing value....For die-hards only if you already have the box set version.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2012
I grew up on this movie, the first Sci-Fi movie I ever saw, this behind the scenes expose is informative for movie making before the dreaded 1-2 punch of CGI and Green Screen (remember Jar Jar Binkx?). We should outlaw CGI.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
Since I saw the original Planet of the Apes as a child, I always had a great fascination for this movie! It was very well made and I enjoyed it very much. If you were or are a Planet of the Apes fan, then I would highly recommend making this purchase!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse