Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars God book on contemplative prayer
This is an excellent resource for those who have an interest in learning more about contemplative prayer. A caveat - some other books would be a better introduction to the subject. Richard Foster has a good chapter on "Centering Prayer" in "Prayer: Finding the Heart's True Home" and Thomas Keating's "Open Mind, Open Heart" is a better...
Published on May 6, 2000 by Kindle Customer

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated
I did not like this book at all
Old concepts about Christianity that I
No longer believe to be true
I give this a zero rating
Sorry it was recommended reading
I will not read other books recommended
As they are from same old outdated
perspective
Published 7 months ago by Susan Liddy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars God book on contemplative prayer, May 6, 2000
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Being in Love: A Practical Guide to Christian Prayer (Paperback)
This is an excellent resource for those who have an interest in learning more about contemplative prayer. A caveat - some other books would be a better introduction to the subject. Richard Foster has a good chapter on "Centering Prayer" in "Prayer: Finding the Heart's True Home" and Thomas Keating's "Open Mind, Open Heart" is a better staring place for a novice. Having said that, however, Johnston's focus on love is what is most interesting about this book. He states that "Christian contemplation is a path of love" and I couldn't agree more. If you have begun to study and practice contemplative or centering prayer, then you will definitely want to read this book. I would give it 5 stars except it is not for all readers. One of my favorite quotes from this book is a simple declaration that I try to live every day: "Devote time to study each day". Make each day a day of learning and you will make life worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, August 17, 2014
This review is from: Being in Love: A Practical Guide to Christian Prayer (Paperback)
Make everything you do as a prayer offering!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Being in Love, December 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this book. It has helped me in my spiritual life. I used it this year for my annual retreat and felt very blessed by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a recipe for a prayer life, October 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Being in Love: A Practical Guide to Christian Prayer (Paperback)
As the title indicates, this is a practical guide to Christian Prayer indeed! Its simplicity makes it attractive to the beginner. One feels one can manage what is being suggested. The content covers particularly well the meditative/contemplative prayer life, how to start, how to persevere, the pitfalls. It shows how one's prayer-life becomes an act of being-in-love and so becomes a transforming power in one's day-to-day living. Johstone explains the difference between essential and existential prayer and urges the person, while maintaining the former to try and move into the latter on a daily basis.

This is an invaluable little book for the beginner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Being in Love: The Practice of Christian Prayer, October 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I've only begun to read it and I see it's potential of having great impact in my spiritual walk, translating to my experiential walk in this life as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Being in Love: A Practical Guide to Christian Prayer (Paperback)
I did not like this book at all
Old concepts about Christianity that I
No longer believe to be true
I give this a zero rating
Sorry it was recommended reading
I will not read other books recommended
As they are from same old outdated
perspective
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Being in Love: A Practical Guide to Christian Prayer
Being in Love: A Practical Guide to Christian Prayer by William Johnston (Paperback - June 1, 1999)
$30.00 $19.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.