Customer Reviews


195 Reviews
5 star:
 (153)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


158 of 162 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It's gone very organic"-Mr. Humphries
I am very happy that this adorable BBC series is now available on DVD. For fans of Are You Being Served?, Grace and Favour (known as AYBS? Again! in the USA) was a fun way to see Mr. Humphries, Miss Brahms, Capt. Peacock, Mrs. Slocombe, and Mr. Rumbold together again. Yes, there are often the same old jokes like the stuck elevator and Capt. Peacocks womanizing, but the...
Published on September 15, 2004 by mwreview

versus
23 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Lucus where are you !!!!! Still a must have.
Three stars!!! Are you crazy? I can hear all of you say, but I can't lie to the fans of AYBS that have never seen this show. However, for the TRUE fans of this show they will like seeing the cast back together again and will enjoy it I promise!!!. But if you are expecting every episode to be winner like the first show... It is not. On a personal note... Mr. Lucus (Trevor...
Published on August 18, 2004 by Jesse Tibbits


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

158 of 162 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "It's gone very organic"-Mr. Humphries, September 15, 2004
By 
mwreview "mwreview" (Northern California, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Again! (The Complete Series) (DVD)
I am very happy that this adorable BBC series is now available on DVD. For fans of Are You Being Served?, Grace and Favour (known as AYBS? Again! in the USA) was a fun way to see Mr. Humphries, Miss Brahms, Capt. Peacock, Mrs. Slocombe, and Mr. Rumbold together again. Yes, there are often the same old jokes like the stuck elevator and Capt. Peacocks womanizing, but the new setting brought a lot of freshness to the show. The Grace Bros. employees who stuck with the company until its closing (which, of course, does not include Mr. Lucas; Trevor Bannister probably would not have done this show anyway) receive, as their pension, a country manor house. They must abandon past titles (however reluctantly) and work together so that the manor house earns money. The best part of the series is the adorable character Mavis Moulterd, daughter of the gruff farmer of Millstone Manor (played by Fleur Bennett). As is customary, she shares the bed with the chef. Of course, with the staff quitting after meeting Mr. Rumbold, Mr. Humphries is given the chef's quarters. The sexual, but in a cute way, tension between Mavis and Mr. Humphries really makes the show. The rich colors of the countryside also make this series refreshing when compared to the monotonous store setting of AYBS? Plus, we finally get to see Mrs. Slocombe's pussy[cat]!

The DVD includes all 12 of the episodes that were originally aired on BBC in 1992-93. The first episode can also be found as an extra on the DVD set for seasons 6-10 of AYBS? The menu page is a little awkward to use when choosing an episode. To pick an individual episode, you click the arrow key on the DVD remote the number of times to correspond to the episode number on the disc (i.e. 5 times to get episode #5). Other than that, the shows play great. The extras include cast bios (only a list of T.V. and film appearances which was disappointing) and trailers of other BBC shows. I wish there was more on the history of the series. For more on this show, see volume 7 of the first AYBS? DVD box set where John Inman talks a little bit about it in an interview. Lack of extras aside, if you like the characters of AYBS?, you will like AYBS? Again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The further adventures of the Grace Bros. staff, August 25, 2005
By 
Jeanne Tassotto (Trapped in the Midwest) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Again! (The Complete Series) (DVD)
ARE YOU BEING SERVED? AGAIN! (aka GRACE & FAVOUR) follows the adventures of the Grace Bros. Dept. Store staff of ARE YOU BEING SERVED fame. Young Mr. Grace has finally passed on, under some rather remarkable circumstances, and has invested the Grace Bros. pension fund in some unconventional ways. The beneficiaries of the scheme are those loyal employees who remained with the store until closing day - Mr. Rumpold, Capt. Peacock, Mrs. Slocombe, Mr. Humphries, Miss Brahms and Mr. Grace's 'nurse du jour' Miss Lovelock. The staff learns that their pensions will keep them just off the dole and that their primary asset is Millstone Manor, a country bed and breakfast held in trust with Mr. Rumpold as manager. When they arrive to inspect the property they find the establishment in a shambles and Miss Lovelock in permanent residence. The group decides to run the manor with the aid of Mr. Moulterd, the home farm manager and his daughter Mavis.

As with the original series there are a series of running gags, some carried over from the original series. Mr. Rumpbold is still an incompetent bore, Capt. Peacock a skirt chaser, Mrs. Slocombe still fusses over her pussy, Miss Brahms continues to have things 'get up her nose' and Mr. Humphries' mother continues to supervise him from a distance. While still an ensemble piece the focus is very much on Humphries and his relationship with Mavis Moulterd. While still very much 'neither here nor there' the two share a bed and many clever double entenderes.

This series is as hilarious as the original series. We are treated to glimpses into some more of their lives and would probably had gotten more had the series continued. Sadly the series only ran 12 episodes, long before it considered all its possibilities. I would have liked to learn what happened to some of the other Grace Bros. staff, (Mr. Harmon, Mr. Lucas and others) and find out what happened to Peacock and Rumpold's wives. There was still lots to be said about Mr. Humphries and Mavis, Capt. Peacock and Miss Lovelock and Mrs. Slocombe and Mr. Moulterd.

I would recommend this to fans of the original series and also to those of TO THE MANOR BORN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like visiting old friends, August 31, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Again! (The Complete Series) (DVD)
Seeing the characters (minus Mr. Lucas and the maintenance personel like Harmon) back in action is like finding an old friend after 20 years abscense. The faces might have changed but the personalities remain the same. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are You Being Served, Again ( aka Grace and Favor )... A Fitting sequel, July 8, 2006
By 
Fred Klein (Monroe, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Again! (The Complete Series) (DVD)
As delightful as it was, the dated Grace Brothers Department Store set has been replaced by an English Manor. All of the old familiars are there along with some wonderful new characters. The earthy Morris Moultered (Billy Burden), his innocent "milk maid" daughter (Fleur Bennett), the forgetful corporate lawyer (Michael Bilton), and a feisty young lady (Joanne Heywood) who inhered the "groom's quarters" - make their appearances in these new adventures of the now-retired Grace Bros Staff.

Unlike the old series, this one has a continuing story line that includes "fillers from the past" - Mr. Slocumbe makes an appearance, and we learn of Mrs. Slocomb's antics in her youth. Mr. Moultered, played by the quirky Billy Burden is still smitten with Mrs. Slocomb in their earlier years when he knew her as "the Tiverton bicycle....".

The court scene - after Mrs. Slocomb "steals a gypsy cart" - has so much sidebar humor - it's worth watching several times. Add a rather unconventional Cricket match, a pub dart game, a village "Ripley type" museum, and you have a wonderfully balanced serving of British comedy that'll lift your spirits - just like the good old AYBS.

Now, some may object to the abundance of double entendres sprinkled throughout the dialogue; however, it's all done in character and "borderline good taste".

The country settings are nothing short of picturesque and charming - thanks to the excellent technical crew. The sound track is clear AND in stereo!

All said - this is a fitting reunion for our favorite department store sales staff.

John, Wendy, Nicholas, Mollie, and Frank - bravo! Oh, and Mr. Lloyd and Mr. Croft, thank you for serving us again.

Fives Stars? Yes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing comeback, September 5, 2004
By 
jmy9595 (Eagan, MN, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Again! (The Complete Series) (DVD)
This show didn't get the time or funding it needed from the BBC to develop as fully as it could've with even another 6-12 episodes. They were clearly building toward a marriage between Mr. Humphries and Mavis, which would clearly have been a marriage of inconvenience. But the series was cut short before they got there. John Inman even indicated that the cast would have leapt at filming a few more episodes if an independent production company had come along after the BBC backed out, but it didn't happen and we're now long past that window of opprotunity. Billy Burden ("Mr. Moulterd, M-O-U-L-... We know...") passed away a while back and Mollie Sugden and Frank Thornton are both into their 80s now.

Many classic moments here for even a 12-episode run. The hokey harvest dance brought back many impromptu Grace Bros. production numbers. Mrs. Slocombe turns up in court dressed head to toe in black only to be told by Mr. Humphries that "it's only a country court, it's not Nuremberg." I'll never lose the site of the Millstone Manor gang cleaning the sheets either. We also get some background on Mrs. Slocombe's youth when she was a "great big, walloping land girl" evacuated to the country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This show is Great :), July 4, 2004
By 
"im_greg_p" (MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Again! (The Complete Series) (DVD)
This show is a forgotten jem of Brittish Comedy. The show takes the orignal characters of Are You Being Served and sets them in a country setting. They have inheritted a manor owned by Mr. Grace after he dies and are forced to make money off of it. The show introduces some new characters, Mr and Miss Molturd and Ms. Locklock and none of the people who played the "junior" in the orignal series are there (no trever banister). I'm glad the BBC is finally making this product avaible for public purchase as hasn't been on TV for years.
The greatest shame is this show only had 12 episodes, partly due to Ms. Slocombe's actoress's illness. This show had alot of potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We LOVED "being served", again!, September 11, 2005
By 
Violet (Small town USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Again! (The Complete Series) (DVD)
My husband and I are big fans of British comedies, and when I discovered "Are you being served? Again!" I had to add this to our collection. We were not disappointed. True, this would probably not go over well with anyone not acquainted with the original series. But for those who remember (and loved) the antics of the staff at Grace Brothers Department store, this DVD series is well worth the cost. We only wished there were more than 12 episodes.

There is something quite funny and charming about the sexual innuendo of these characters; it just never comes off as offensive, but rather ribald. Miss Brahams tells about the blokes down at the local pub having their hands all over her, and you can see the wheels turning in Mrs. Slocumb's head as she casually asks, "Which pub was this, Miss Brahams?" We adored the young actress who portrayed Mavis the housemaid; her crush on Mr. Humphries and his dismay over it made the series. And it's rather fun to see pompous Captain Peacock finally put jug-eared Mr. Rumbold in his place.

A few episodes seemed to end abruptly, and we would have like to seen more about Mr. Moleturd (the hilarious caretaker) and Mrs. Slocumb's past relationship. Nothing's perfect. But this series is great fun if you're a fan of the original British show. Buy it, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Served with increased humor, July 7, 2004
By 
Terry L. Funburg "funny" (Checotah, Oklahoma United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Again! (The Complete Series) (DVD)
Loved this series even without the hierarchy of the GB's store.So great to see my favorite cast of characters in another setting which allowed for greater enjoyment.Lots of the same double entendre's the show is famous for and catch phrases each character is identified with.My favorite episode is when the mummified cat is found in the wall and the group takes it to a museum to be displayed.Mrs.Slocom tells a museum worker that she has a pussy of great antiquity and wants the curator to take a look at it. Hillarious.Buy it and enjoy if you loved the first series.The new characters are great, especially Mr.Molturd,and i am unanimous in that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You'll love it or hate it - I love it, June 24, 2006
By 
Severlupe (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Again! (The Complete Series) (DVD)
If a fan of the original series, you'll either really, really love this or really, really hate it. For me, I love it - actually, I enjoy it more than the original; same off colour humour, same great characters, but a much wider parameter for the humour to draw from due to multiple sets/situations/environs. My POV is that the original series became rather limited & singular due having to stay within the confines of the store. Mrs. Slocumbe and Mr. Humphries steal this series with some real sidesplitting one liners/situations... but didn't they always?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SHOW- TOO FEW EPISODES, July 16, 2004
By 
R. Siegel (Edina, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Are You Being Served? Again! (The Complete Series) (DVD)
This was the follow-up to ARE YOU BEING SERVED. Unfortunately, the BBC only gave it 2 seasons, and decided it wasn't getting the ratings they wanted. I think it is hilarious, a very funny, overlooked series that was almost as funny as the original show. For anyone who loves the original ARE YOU BEING SERVED, this is a must. If you aren't familiar with that show, this is still a VERY funny, light hearted comedy series, definately worth viewing many times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Are You Being Served? Again! (The Complete Series)
$24.98 $16.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.