Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Deals Gifts for Her Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Outdoor Deals on DOTD

Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

40 of 46 people found the following review helpful
on October 26, 2002
I've always liked Disturbed, but I never really thought of them as one of those bands that would stick around for a substantial amount of time. But after buying this CD, I might change my mind. Listening to The Sickness, I figured "this is good enough music for the moment." Enter their sophomore release, Believe. Disturbed have done EXACTLY what every band should do with their second release. This album, in a way, answered my "prayer" for a better and more diverse Disturbed. Believe improves everything that was wrong with The Sickness. There are no boring spots, this CD is pure energy and David's vocals and lyrics are so much more mature and not as repetitive as before (no monkey noises this time, either). There are songs on here for everyone: the heavy "Liberate" and "Bound," the melodic "Darkness" and nine other tracks that fall somewhere in the middle. Standout tracks: "Breathe" "Believe" "Liberate" "Rise" and "Bound." If you liked The Sickness, check this out. If you HATED The Sickness, check this out. Everyone can find something they like in it. Also, make sure you see them live, you'll appreciate their music so much more after you do.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on November 6, 2003
If ever there was a band that truly wanted to stand out for what it believed (no pun intended) in, Disturbed has truly become that band. This album is raw. There are no electronics on this album. This album separated Disturbed from the "nu" bands like Limp Bizkit, or Linkin Park. Disturbed bring out a new type of modern metal without it being "nu". With that brings a classic, unique, and well structured album.
David Draiman's vocals have had the biggest change. With his long throaty choruses there is also the distinguished "raspy" sound that is unique to this band alone. "Prayer" offers the biggest breakthrough, with a very hard beat, and heavy riffs that accompany Draiman's voice to deliver a religious message from the heavy burdens of Job. "Rise" brings out a very unique but familiar metal sound that has been forgotten by many metal enthusiasts.
The songs that really bring out David's voice the most, however, are "Remember", which appears to be about all the bad times he has had to endure, and overcome; "Darkness" is a softer, highly versatile change and in some ways almost gothic. It is a slow, lyrical project of disappointment and frustration. Not nearly a hit, but it offers a view of the potential of Disturbed, and the possibilities the band can offer it's fans to keep them guessing.
Although this album doesn't fall exactly in sync with the rest of the rock and metal coming out these days, "Believe" gives Disturbed fans a new approach to listen to heavy metal. Every song may not be an instant hit, but it's constant change and unique sound is a pleasant step away from the norm.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on September 22, 2002
Due to their commercial popularity, Disturbed can't help but be classified as a "nu-metal", mainstream band. Some people have a problem with Disturbed and their popularity, as any successful metal band these days is categorized as a sell-out. Call them whatever you want, but I say "Who cares?" When a band releases a CD as good as "Believe", the music speaks for itself.
While "The Sickness" DID have a more mainstream sound, it still was a decent metal CD. My real problem with that release was it's lack of diversity and the way that the songs really lost strength towards the end of the album. In this respect, "Believe" is the opposite of "The Sickness". Upon 1st listen to this CD, one will have no doubt that he/she is hearing the band Disturbed -- the traditional vocals and guitar of the band are well represented on this album. While retaining their signature style, Disturbed have greatly increased their musical range, voacally and (more noticably) musically. The songs, especially the later ones, are heavier and use more aggressive guitar and drum techniques. The CD starts with the excellent song "Prayer" and then evolves into a string of heavy, riff-driven tracks until the gentle, accoustic closer "Darkness". In between, there are several very good straight-forward metal tracks such as "Believe", "Intoxication", "Mistress", and "Devour". Most importantly, this is a complete CD -- a very solid listen from beginning to end.
"Believe" is an excellent album that metal fans should be eager to hear. With this CD, Disturbed have definately set themselves apart from the rest of the pack.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on January 25, 2003
...the music world had another bomb dropped on it...its name was "BELIEVE" because if anyone thought that Disturbed was a one album wonder or just another fake act (like I've read in some other reviews) Listening to Believe will convince anyone that Disturbed will be one of the top bands in the world for a long time...below is my list of ratings for every song on "Believe":
1. Prayer 10/10 - One awesome song
2. Liberate 10/10 - I didn't like this song right away but it grew on me and now its one of my favorites
3. Awaken 10/10 - Great opening and chorus, love that barking David!
4. Believe 10/10 - another song that became a favorite after consistent listening
5. Remember 10/10 - Great guitar opening and exellent guitars throughout
6. Intoxication 9/10 - Well no one is perfect, so thats why the perfect tens disappear...but I still like this one, again great barks from Dave in the song
7. Rise 9/10 - I just started liking this song...mainly due to the strong mid-song guitars
8. Mistress 10/10 - Love the guitars throughout, great pace and sang beautifully
9. Breathe 10/10 - not the usual guitar some of us may not be used to but still nice song and execellent chorus
10. Bound 10/10 - TURN YOUR SPEAKERS UP! The opening guitar blasts as well as the guitars that start the second verse...GREAT!
11. Devour 8/10 - Mainly the one song I'm still trying to get used to but I still like it!
12. Darkness 10/10 - Dave can sing and thats all there is to it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on February 26, 2004
Disturbed made quite a ripple in the music world with The Sickness. It was an album that was a perfect example of "nu-metal." Angry words, downtuned riffs, harsh electronics, and a crazy lead singer on top of it all. What caused this band to stand apart was the fact that their composition and arrangement skills far exceded those of the average teenagers and the idiots in Korn. Their innate ability to take elements of their influences and forge a somewhat new sound rather than imitate completely was equally commendable.
It took two years to use The Sickness as a springboard to create an album on the level of Believe.
All the pasty, 98-pound mallgoths hated this album upon first sight, much less listen. Less-than-subtle religious overtones, a banned 'spiritual' video, and the rumour of an acoustic piece frightened them away rather quickly. And what they feared I was nearly drooling to receive. Almost everything improved from their debut. The riffs increased their diversity, dynamics, and are much more \m/ worthy this time around. The lyrics lost much of the needless profanity. The animal grunting was lost, as was the shameful attempt at rapping. Double bass drums thunder along, guitar leads erupt from nowhere, and emotional, evocative singing soars over the mix courtesy of frontman David Draiman. A few singing lessons transformed his voice into a gorgeous instrument, proven by tracks such as the title track, "Remember," and the chilling acoustic/cello/piano closer "Darkness." That last song sounds like it could have come from the Opeth songbook.
Here, a startlingly mainstream band reveals the fruits of evolution, and proves 'maturity' doesn't always mean flowers in your hair or duets with Sheryl Crow.
If you liked The Sickness for its compositional skills more than its catchy, teen-angst element, I strongly recommend Believe. A metal album proving the future may not be so bleak after all...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on November 18, 2002
I bought this CD expecting to hear the same high-pitched growls and heavy music as the first. Well, I did get SOME of that. Disturbed have obviously evolved as musicians and have putten out a record that truly shows their talent. Even so, this record DOES take some getting used to. When I first listened to this I was, well, disappointed. But, after 3 or so listens, I began to feel comfortable with Disturbed's new sound.
0 Stars: Absolutely horrible.BR>1 Star: Skip it
2 Stars: Skipabble
3 Stars: Good
4 Stars: Great
5 Stars: Excellent
1. Prayer-4/5-The album's first single, which I had not heard before buying the CD because of MTV's banning of their video. But, it's one of the most melodic songs on the album, with great guitars and lyrics.
2. Liberate-5/5-Starts out with a sound that seems like it would've been from "The Sickness", and then slows down into a slower song (but he still sings fast), and then goes back to the fast part.
3. Awaken-3/5-I started off listening to this song, and thought, "yeah, this is gonna kick ... Well, I wasn't exactly right. The music's good, but the singing and lyrics kind of dull it down. They could've been more creative.
4. Believe-4/5-That's twice now the title song's been track 4. This song starts out with a somehwhat boring, yet good, guitar part, then moves into another melodic song in which David really shows off how good he can sing. It's no "Down With the Sickness", but it's up there.
5. Remember-5/5-Possibly the best song on the album. Everything's great on it. Another heavy yet melodic song, with an amazing guital intro. Dan Donegan is one of the best guitarists in Nu-Metal.
6. Intoxication-5/5-Like "Liberate", this is another fast-paced song that sounds like something out of "The Sickness". The music and singing are great, but the lyrics are awesome!
7. Rise-4/5-Starts on the chorus, which is another familar sounding fast paced section, and slows into a very short verse, then picks up pace again. The lyrics are pretty cool.
8. Mistress-4/5-A song that takes some real getting-used to, but once that's been over come, you love it.
9. Breathe-2/5-There's always one of those songs. I always skip this one, as there's nothing really special about it, and it drags a lot.
10. Bound-3/5-A comeback from the last track, but still not an outstanding performance. It is, however, worth listening to instead of always skipping.
11. Devour-4/5-The song title even sounds cool.
12. Darkness-3/5-A much-talked about acoustic track. I usaully like acoustic stuff, and this is no exception, but it doesn't amaze anyone. The lyrics are good, but they get repeated over and over, which gets old pretty quick. Still, it's worth a listen, and is probably the best choice for a closing.
Get this CD now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on July 8, 2004
I'm not a big fan of Nu-metal. Generally speaking these are immature bands with a whining singer screaming on top of his voice, forgettable guitar-work, no bass, simple beats, and repeating every cliché KoRn originally came up with.
This album, however, is a very pleasant surprise. It stands high above the majority of nu-metal bands. Unlike most bands, Disturbed has a clear own sound. They allready showed some of this with their debut "The sickness". Now, with "Believe", they expand and improve on it.
Guitars, drums and bass (yes you can actually hear the bass!) are all quite good, together creating their own, unique sound. Don't expect incredible firework or solo's though.
However, the thing that takes Disturbed to a higher level are the vocals of David. He's without a doubt one of the best singers in today's music scene. Not only has he an amazing voice, going from thundering and majestic to very soft and tender, he also comes up with beautifull singlines and powerfull lyrics. Just compare Davids majestic voice to the singer of Linkin Park blurting out "I wanna heeeeeal I wanna feeeeeel". There's no competition.
The combination of these 4 elements result in some iron-strong songs such as "Prayer", "Breathe", "Rise", and the beautifull song "Remember". Especially the latter sounds very epic and haunting, despite the fact it's running time is only 4 minutes. After 11 songs, varying from heavy to more melodic, the album ends in a perfect way with the beautifull acoustic "Darkness".
"Believe" proves that not all Nu-metal is immature crap, as long as the musicians are ready to expand their horizons and stop repeating all cliché's over and over again (like Linkin Park did with Meteora).
I really recommend this album, even if you're not into metal. The strong melodies will surely get you hooked.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on September 18, 2002
I'm quite pleased with this album. When I first bought it, I was expecting not much more than The Sickness Part 2... what I got definitly hold it's own as an impressive release from this windy-city quartet.
There are many of the songs that have the signiture Disturbed feel to them that was established in the band's debut, yet many of the tracks sound very fresh. Songs such as "Rise", "Believe", "Breathe", and Mistress" are an example of some tracks that show that these guys can definity write heavy material, yet remain true to melody and harmony... some of Disturbed's mellowest work, yet, still undeniably well-written.
Tracks such as "Prayer", "Intoxication", "Bound", and "Rise" have the pummeling brutality (yet well-balanced melody) of the Disturbed we all have come to know and love.
Then as we come to the end of this album we reach the closing track, entitled "Darkness". Only one word can describe this song (and it's a word I never thought I would associate with Disturbed)... Beautiful. What a way to end an album.
This album proves that Disturbed is truely the future of modern rock music... though some headbangers may have dismissed them as simply another nu-metal act in a community of hundreds more, they've proved themselves to be much more than that with this, their latest, and best written, offering.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on March 13, 2003
Let's all be realistic - there was no way Disturbed could live up to the expectations left by The Sickness, their debut album, and it's not fair to compare it as such. The Sickness raised the bar with urban and techno backbeats combined with crunchy guitar and the growling vocals of David Draiman. It is still the only Nu-metal CD I would dare give a 5.
Believe is definitely a case of taking one step forward and two steps back. On the positive side, DAVID SINGS! David has one of the most distinct and powerful voices in hard rock today, and he is showcased even more on Believe. "Prayer" and "Remember" probably best show off his abilities, though on other tracks his more melodic voice occassionally gets lost amongst the instruments.
There are definitely two things that seem to be missing from Believe. First, what happened to the techno and rap influences? With the exception of the "Liberate" and perhaps "Bound," this CD takes on a quite different sound than the Disturbed we once knew. The breakdown raps, almost club-worthy beats and smooth, eerie bass lines have basically disappeared in favor of melodic croonings and choppy, treble-heavy riffs. Bands like POD and Linkin Park just don't fill that rap-rock void like Disturbed (and once upon a time, Bizkit) used to do.
Secondly, Believe just seems to lack originality in terms of sound and tone. Nine out of the 12 songs start in such a similar fashion as to make them indistinguishable the first couple times through the CD. I swear my equalizer looks identical from song to song as well - every song starts with heavy guitar and ends with heavy guitar. I'm a big fan of bass...
However, on a brighter note, Disturbed is still disturbed. The message is perhaps more psychological than The Sickness, which was more emotionally driven, but it gets across just the same. The first two tracks really set the tone for the CD, strongly indicting religion, fate and complacent thinking.
All in all, this CD is relatively strong, and Disturbed is still a step above most of the Nu-Metal one-hit-wonders being spit out over the last year and a half. However, Believe is a step below its predecessor in terms of originality and catchiness. Some people will understandably miss the heavy bass and beat of The Sickness, while others may appreciate the new sound and David's "not-so-much-like-a-gorilla-anymore" voice.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on September 17, 2002
In a move that is becoming more and more commonplace these days, neo-metalers Disturbed have moved away from the angst-driven crossover formulas of past efforts and embraced a more traditional, straightforward metal sound that features a wealth of uncharacteristic melody and commercial appeal. Of course, that's not to say that Disturbed does not retain the same elements that listeners have become familiar with, nor which differentiates the group from other bands within their genre. On the contrary, the band's trademark, aggro-inspired, chunk-filled riffs and pummeling, rhythmic beats return in full force, accompanied this time by more creative guitar play, a greater infusion of melody, and a noticeable lack of electronics. Songwriting meanwhile, remains in that familiar loud|soft formula complete with predictable melodic/aggressive breakdowns, although the group does manage to create some unique arrangements and greater song dynamics, while also demonstrating improved musicianship & more polished execution. Vocally, frontman David Draiman, who has established himself with his distinct-sounding vocals, dynamic range, and trademark barks/grunts, returns in top form displaying all of his old tricks - fast-paced, rhythmic singing, aggressive shouts/screams, demented "noises", etc. Yet David has also elevated his performance to a whole new level that features even greater aural versatility, mesmerizing goth-like/emotional harmonies & epic choruses, and intense, passionate lyrics that deal with self-exploration, religion, individualism and other topics of serious matter.
For a young band, one of the most difficult tasks they must overcome is following a successful debut effort with a sophomore album that is at least as good, if not better than its predecessor. In this situation, many factors are against the band, including dealing with the pressure of making a better record, trying to satisfy their fans - many of which do not like change - and trying to satisfy them selves artistically, all of which, amongst various other issues, results in a challenging situation that few bands are able to triumph over. Fortunately for Disturbed, the band has successfully recorded a sophomore effort in Believe that not only improves on their debut release The Sickness, but also finds the group progressing to a new plateau without alienating their hardcore fans. On that note, Believe is a 12-song odyssey that bridges the gap between the past, present, and future of Disturbed, led by the opening track and first single Prayer, which perfectly captures what the band is trying to accomplish with its aggro-driven verses, catchy, melodic choruses and angry breakdown. Immediately following is the invigorating Liberate, an upbeat track featuring frenetic verses, equally frantic pre-choruses, a dark, spoken word breakdown, and powerful, soaring choruses. From there, the album does a great job of balancing, ranging from the aggressively familiar Intoxication and Rise, both of which hearken back to the days of The Sickness, while the loud/soft contrasting Bound and Awaken, with its superb melodic breakdown, follow a formula similar to Prayer. It is with the remaining songs that Disturbed is able to truly reveal their growth as musicians and songwriters, as the band fully embraces their melodic tendencies resulting in the creation of such compelling tracks as the rock-oriented Remember with its unforgettable choruses, the soulful title track Believe, the dynamic & catchy rock-based Devour, the radiant Mistress, and the intriguing Breathe, a uniquely hooky song with goth-like harmonies and an almost pop/rock edge. Ending the album in dramatic fashion is the stunning epic ballad Darkness, a track that includes an acoustic guitar arpeggio, a piano melody, a cello, and the hauntingly beautiful vocals of David Draiman, and is hinted at as a precursor of the band's future direction. As a whole, Believe is an impressive second outing that more than lives up to its billing, though it does suffer from the same problems its predecessor did, including repetitive riffs and song structures, the occasional over-dramatization of vocalist Draiman, and lack of overall diversity. It also has the unfortunate luck of coming at a time where music of this nature is over-saturated with likewise bands. That's not to say that The Sickness was an original album and Believe is not, but The Sickness came out at a time where music of its kind was at a peak, and it brought with it a freshness, energy & flamboyance that seems to be lacking on Believe. Nevertheless, in the end, Believe is a record that will undoubtedly appeal to both hardcore listeners and attract brand new fans, while propelling Disturbed into the rock star spotlight that they have worked so hard for...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Sickness by Disturbed (Audio CD - 2000)

Immortalized [Deluxe]
Immortalized [Deluxe] by Disturbed (Audio CD - 2015)

Ten Thousand Fists
Ten Thousand Fists by Disturbed (Audio CD - 2005)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.