Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie - sad news.......
As stated many times in other reviews this is the story of Coach Jim Keith - he was my Dad. I can tell you the book was written by Harold Keith. Harold was the Sports Information Director at the University of Oklahoma (1930-1969)as well as an author. The original title was "Brief Garland". Dad was Coaching at Sayre, Oklahoma when Uncle Harold researched the book. Uncle...
Published on December 25, 2011 by James Keith

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars - Surprisingly Enjoyable, "Feel Good" Sports Drama
This is a charming, feel-good sports film based on the real life of Coach Jim Keith. I believe that the movie is loosely based on Coach Keith's first coaching position in the 1960s. He showed up to coach boys' basketball and was assigned to coach girls' basketball instead. To add insult to injury, the girls were one of the worst teams in the state of Oklahoma and were not...
Published on May 25, 2010 by Silmarwen


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie - sad news......., December 25, 2011
This review is from: Believe In Me (DVD)
As stated many times in other reviews this is the story of Coach Jim Keith - he was my Dad. I can tell you the book was written by Harold Keith. Harold was the Sports Information Director at the University of Oklahoma (1930-1969)as well as an author. The original title was "Brief Garland". Dad was Coaching at Sayre, Oklahoma when Uncle Harold researched the book. Uncle Harold would drop in from time to time and have Dad tell him storys. Some I am sure Dad embellished - you'd have to know dad - he was a great story teller. It was when Hollywood decided to make a movie out of it that the title changed to "Believe in Me". Mom and Dad were elated to be asked to go out to Moriarty, NM to be a part of the film. They were cast as extras as were the remaining "Girls" from when the book was researched. Watch the credits to see all of them. Bob Collector, Jeffery Donovan, Samantha Mathis and Bruce Dern all held a special place in my folks heart. Dad told me when he met Bruce Dern that Bruce asked if dad knew who he was - Dad replied, "Your the man who shot John Wayne!" They got along great after that. For the sad news, I have to tell you I was with Dad on the morning of Dec. 5, 2011 when he passed on and went to be with Mom. He will be missed. As you know, Hollywood takes "Poetic Liberties" from time to time - I am the little girl who is adopted at the end of the movie. I got lucky that day in 1960 when they adopted a BOY. I can't imagine a better set of parents. If you like sports or a story with a good ending and a few lessons learned in-between then buy this movie. You will not be disapointed. I will leave you with something Dad told me years ago that has helped me all my life. He said "Son you have to play the 4th quarter in the 1st quarter." Know what you are going to do when things are going your way and when they aren't. I still play the 4th quarter everyday. James Harold Keith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Based on a true story, January 4, 2008
By 
Karen Potts (Lake Jackson, Texas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Believe In Me (DVD)
A young man shows up at a small-town Oklahoma high school, expecting to coach the boys' basketball team. Instead, he is informed that he will be coaching the girls' team. The girls' team has never done well in this town, but the new coach decides that he is going to treat them as if they are boys. That plan comes under some fire from his wife, but eventually the coach gets it right and the girls begin to win some games. This is an inspiring story of a man who thinks that girls deserve the same opportunities to play sports and to be successful at it as boys do. Unfortunately, not everyone in the small Oklahoma town agrees with him, but that just makes the story more interesting. This is an enjoyable and inspiring movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars - Surprisingly Enjoyable, "Feel Good" Sports Drama, May 25, 2010
By 
Silmarwen (Huntington Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Believe In Me (DVD)
This is a charming, feel-good sports film based on the real life of Coach Jim Keith. I believe that the movie is loosely based on Coach Keith's first coaching position in the 1960s. He showed up to coach boys' basketball and was assigned to coach girls' basketball instead. To add insult to injury, the girls were one of the worst teams in the state of Oklahoma and were not used to having a regular training regimen. I am not sure how many of the subplots in the film were based on fact or were entirely fabricated, but these secondary stories really added to the main story of the girls' struggle to win the state championships against all odds. This, like so many good sports drama films, is a movie that uses a sports team to tell a story about a place and a time and is really about so much more than basketball. It also tells the story of girls' sports not being as important as boys' sports, school district power struggles, domineering parents refusing to let their girls play sports, young marriages & pregnancies, adopting children and more. I felt that the director did a fine job setting the scene for this film and everything seemed very believable.

The movie has a very mellow, easygoing pace, which I felt represented the 1960s setting well. The beginning was a little slow for me, but it picked up not too far in as I got involved in the characters lives. I wish that there had been a little bit more distinction between the players as I had a hard time keeping them straight. This was difficult as there was not real superstar player on the team so there wasn't even a few players that I could keep track of. Still, the girls all seemed to do a decent job and really got into their roles with the costumes, hair and make-up. The music was lovely and it was fun to hear some of the older songs again. I wish that they had incorporated the music better, though, as it always seemed that a song started playing out of the blue and that is what I would focus on and then it would stop rather abruptly. There is so much good music from the time period that I feel they could have woven it in and out of the story a bit better.

If you like feel-good dramas, sports dramas or biopics, then give this little charmer a chance. There are not many girls' sports movies out there, especially ones where they start from such lowly beginnings and are able to achieve so much. A great empowering film for families to watch together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solidly grounded, September 8, 2007
This review is from: Believe In Me (DVD)
This movie is solidly grounded in the story of a real coach and a real team. At the end of the movie, the actual person who inspired the film is shown being showered with the devotion of his players decades after they were on the basketball court together. Donovan, Mathis, and the young women who play ball are entertaining as well as in touch with the heart of this true story. Well-worth the purchase price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't get enough play, October 25, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Believe In Me (DVD)
What a shame that this movie did not get the advertizing that it deserved. This is a movie that I want to own and recommend to anyone of any age. I particularly liked watching the extras on the DVD which gets into the real people that are depicted in the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent movie,, October 28, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Believe In Me (DVD)
Believe In MeWhat more can I say,I was captivated. This is a must see for drama and girls basketball fans. Wonderful story, based on a true story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something for everyone in the family-male/female, parents/kids, sports fans/romantics, August 29, 2008
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Coach Driscoll (Jeffrey Donovan) finds his chance to head-coach boy's basketball is shifted to a girl's HS team. Nightmare #2 is that it is a consistently loosing girl's team. Girl's basketball isn't taken seriously till Driscoll decides to give it a try. You know he'll make a difference.

You will fall into being a fan of the small Oklahoma town team. You will cheer the team and boo the villain heading the school board. It is a story well written and acted, so well, in fact, that it seems a true story. Perhaps that's because it is based on the real story of Jim Keith and the Lady Cyclones (Oklahoma famous.) And the older, real, original team and coach, gets to play as extras in the movie. The coach is a true-to-life basketball hero. Nobody can write realistic stories like true life. This coach's life and his teams will take you on an emotional spiral--UPWARD.

"Believe In Me" Coach Driscoll and his wife have no children even though they want one so adoption is considered. The story sounds a bit like a girl's basketball answer to the boy's football story of "Facing the Giants." Both are great and recommended.

Being a Hoosier, and growing up in what the Indiana state calls "Hoosier Hysteria," I find this a story very rewarding.

Bonuses: Violence equals only a donnybrook on the court. The nudes in the shower scene show nothing. Druggies are nonexistent. Bottom line--it's a family film--and the girl's acting can play a pretty mean game of basketball, more like the girls of the 21st century.

One goofy highlight to watch for: see girl's basketball being played by one team in dresses. Now that's shocking! You'll have to remote in reverse and see it again, not believing your eyes. Funny!

A good movie to play the week before the basketball season begins--year after year after year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the Movie? Read the book!, June 27, 2009
This review is from: Believe In Me (DVD)
This movie is based on the book "Brief Garland" by Harold Keith. He wrote the book about the experiences of his nephew, Jim Keith. The story is true. Coach Keith assured me himself when we met at basketball camp. (Coach Keith is a girl's basketball legend in Oklahoma, where girls played high school basketball 6+ decades before Title IX.) The movie is family oriented, suited for all ages, and sticks very closely to the book. Jeff Donovan does a wonderful job of capturing the persona of Jim Keith. I'm sure it wasn't easy casting the ball players since there aren't that many basketball playing actresses. The one poetic license taken in the movie is the way the girl's game was playing in Oklahoma. Girls played a 6-on-6, half court version. The 5-on-5 game (played like the boys) only took over in the past decade. (It's difficult to imagine if you've never seen it played that way.) If you like seeing the 'good guy win', enjoy girls' basketball or just want a wholesome movie to show, this is a good pick. If you like the movie give "Brief Garland" a read. It was reprinted a few years before the movie was made so it's much easier to find now. I searched 15 years before I found one from the first edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jlg1024, September 17, 2007
This review is from: Believe In Me (DVD)
AN AWESOME "HANG IN THERE" MOVIE, WHICH IS BASED ON A TRUE STORY. IT'S NOT OVER TIL IT'S OVER IS A LESSON LEARNED FROM WATCHING THIS MOVIE. TRULY INSPIRING. DEFINATELY WORTH THE PURCHASE!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jeffrey Donovan is the next best thing, March 17, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Believe In Me (DVD)
This tale of women's roles in sport, pre Title IX, is wonderfully acted and the scenery and costuming are remarkable. Although the cynical audiences of today will no doubt be waiting for a shoe to drop, the story winds itself up nicely. The real draw here is Jeffrey Donovan's performance. He does not disappoint in the title role of Coach Clay Driscoll, a man of few words. Once again Donovan shows us his Master's Degree in Theater was well earned. His facial expressions say it all and prove why this actor is on everyone's hot list, especially in his current role in cable television's best show, Burn Notice. Not to be missed. Family friendly, no foul language or sex, but enough story to hold the attention of the teenagers also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Believe In Me
Believe In Me by Robert Collector (DVD - 2007)
$6.95 $5.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.