Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality Video
This component video cable(combined with progressive scan) produces a much better picture quality over S-video & Composit Video connections.

The cable & the connecters are solid. I got a Monster THX 4 Ft compnent video cable and do not find any difference in picture quality comapared to this. Monster THX 4 Ft is priced almost double(29.99) in amazon. Though it...
Published on January 27, 2006 by Sree

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Consider the length before you buy, not flexible
While I have no issues with the quality of these cables, they are not very flexible. This may be true of many other component cables as well, but in my case I would have been much better off with just the 3-foot length. Given the stiffness of the cables it is difficult to manage the exta length. If you read the reviews of the 3-foot version you will see similiar comments...
Published on November 24, 2007 by D. Veldkamp


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality Video, January 27, 2006
This review is from: Belkin AV21000-06 6 feet PureAV Component Video Cable (Electronics)
This component video cable(combined with progressive scan) produces a much better picture quality over S-video & Composit Video connections.

The cable & the connecters are solid. I got a Monster THX 4 Ft compnent video cable and do not find any difference in picture quality comapared to this. Monster THX 4 Ft is priced almost double(29.99) in amazon. Though it did not show any difference, the connector of monster cable is more solid than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Consider the length before you buy, not flexible, November 24, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Belkin AV21000-06 6 feet PureAV Component Video Cable (Electronics)
While I have no issues with the quality of these cables, they are not very flexible. This may be true of many other component cables as well, but in my case I would have been much better off with just the 3-foot length. Given the stiffness of the cables it is difficult to manage the exta length. If you read the reviews of the 3-foot version you will see similiar comments saying to but the 6-foot version. Bottomline: Know where you will place your components and the minimum required cable length before buying this product. It is too stiff to easily manage extra length.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best quality, second only to HDMI, April 18, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Belkin AV21000-06 6 feet PureAV Component Video Cable (Electronics)
Belkin makes a top quality, dependable cable at affordable prices. Virtually the same performance as Monster Cables, for 1/2 the price. And with Amazon's prices, it's hard to find a reason not to buy Belkin.

Component video cables offer better quality video than the older red, yellow, and white cables and the single S-video cable. HDMI is the only cable better than these Component Video cables.

So if you have HDMI, use it. If not, then use Component Video YPbPr cables. THe next step down in quality is S-Video. And finally the red, yellow, and white cables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality, Durable Cables, December 14, 2007
By 
Nate S. (Portland, OR) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Belkin AV21000-06 6 feet PureAV Component Video Cable (Electronics)
These cables have thick shielding and durable connectors. The plugs fit nice and tight. I did however discover that 6 feet is not as long as I thought it was. The cable just barely reaches where I need it. I would recommend using a sewing measuring tape to make sure 6 feet will be long enough before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great, March 13, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Belkin AV21000-06 6 feet PureAV Component Video Cable (Electronics)
These cables seems to work fine. For the price it works great. Heavy duyt material and well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good cables, July 25, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Belkin AV21000-06 6 feet PureAV Component Video Cable (Electronics)
I looked around and found these cables are half the price of the cheapest brand found in Radio Shack. I hooked up a HD DVR to the component connections of my 72" Toshiba HD TV. The picture is nearly as good as the HDMI connection from the Dish HD satellite receiver connected to this TV. Now I can't say that expensive Monster cables are not better than these but I seriously doubt they are much better than these Belkin cables. I suspect Monster makes money off of people who operate on "the more expensive, the better" theory. I seriously doubt that the average viewer could tell any difference on a smaller screen using these component cables versus an HDMI connection. I'm happy and I've got the extra bucks in MY pocket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Value Component Cables, February 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Belkin AV21000-06 6 feet PureAV Component Video Cable (Electronics)
These are good quality, good fit on the connectors and have sturdy cabling. I installed them with no problems and the video picture is great. As you can somewhat see in the picture, the plug grip is flattened on both sides which makes it easier to grip getting it on and off. The grip is also 1 1/2 inch long including the colored band. Longer than any others I have. If clearance behind your unit is tight these might pose a problem. Otherwise, I'd call these a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a/v cables, April 9, 2009
This review is from: Belkin AV21000-06 6 feet PureAV Component Video Cable (Electronics)
The cables worked fine when connecting a new, or 2009 lcd from vizio, to a new, or 2009 phillips-magnavox dvd player. How ever when trying to connect a old, or 2005 samsung dvd player to a new, or 2009 vizio 1080p lcd the cables did not work. I had to use regular cables, i.e., red, white, yellow connectors for audio, and an s-video cable for video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Color at a Good Price., February 10, 2009
This review is from: Belkin AV21000-06 6 feet PureAV Component Video Cable (Electronics)
Belkin advertises this Pure AV Component Video cable as the "ideal video solution for HDTV and progressive-scan DVD players." I've found that this is true. I need to connect a standard definition DVD player to my HDTV, and component video is better than S-video or composite. It separates colors into their primary components (YPbPr) and isolates them from interference, to produce a sharper picture with better color. These Belkin cables have a 99.99% pure copper conductor, surrounded by an aluminum/mylar foil shield, tinned copper-braided shielding, encased in a PVC jacket. The 6-cut RCA conductors and split-center pin of the plug are plated with corrosion-resistant 24 kt gold.

The result is that I get excellent color when I watch movies on my HDTV. I'm very pleased with the picture quality I'm getting from my 5-year-old SD player, and part of the credit goes to a good cable. This cable is 6 feet (1.8 meters) long and a bit stiff. It's not as pretty as pricier cables from Monster, but the performance is good, and the cables are sturdy. Belkin offers a lifetime replacement warranty against defects in design, assembly, materials, or workmanship. If you're connecting a DVD player to a TV, you'll also need audio cables. You can use the red and white ones that are attached to a yellow composite video cable, which you probably got with your DVD player. If not, Belkin makes audio cables too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Stuff, September 22, 2009
This review is from: Belkin AV21000-06 6 feet PureAV Component Video Cable (Electronics)
If you're involved in the pursuit of the Ultimate Budget Video Cable, this Belkin won't be the last stop in your journey. It's only average performance, with a suprisingly soft image despite the use of solid-core wire (I find this to be characteristic of Belkin's entire line of video cable). Contrast is low, which gave the tv image a flat, slightly pale look; tv picture controls can accomplish only so much, which was not enough to make this cable's image look any more spiffy. The connectors are a bit loose, so that swiveling your tv side to side often drops a connection or two. One owner's advice to slightly crimp the plug's edges is really NOT what you should be forced to do, but it's likely the only method for keeping these critters secured. Reviews of this wire from other buyers are as puzzling as ever, especially those stating that this wire is "better" than such-and-such brand or "can't see" any difference between this product and their old Monster Cable (admittedly the Monsters are awful, but they do have decent contrast). I don't know what kind of alien-planet tv some people are watching, but if you can't detect a major difference between these and the few really good (and many bad) budget video cables around, it doesn't make any difference whether you buy $500 dream-wire, $4 super-cheapies, or these Belkins. The gold plating is no help; everyone reading this knows that gold isn't used in pro video shops because of its poor conductivity. Anyway, how much gold can you get at this price? Nickel-copper alloy would make more sense. In this case the price is about right for this level of performance. The search goes on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.