Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...a hot thing."
Beloved is a spell-binding masterpiece that captures the true plight of slaves and the horror slavery brings. I have never read a novel as touching, maniac, and traumatizing as this. The story revolves around Sethe, a devoted mother and runaway slave, who fights to keep her past buried, but finds that it keeps "...[coming] back whether [she] want[s] it or not," (Chapter...
Published on November 19, 2010 by FMT

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beloved
I've decided to give Beloved 2 stars because this wasn't what I expected. Beloved is fill with poetry and imagery, if you are a reader that is into poetry literature I assume this can be a great read. I found the story to be very confusing and hard to keep track with the characters in the book.
Published on December 5, 2010 by Simon M. Lam


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...a hot thing.", November 19, 2010
This review is from: Beloved (Paperback) (Paperback)
Beloved is a spell-binding masterpiece that captures the true plight of slaves and the horror slavery brings. I have never read a novel as touching, maniac, and traumatizing as this. The story revolves around Sethe, a devoted mother and runaway slave, who fights to keep her past buried, but finds that it keeps "...[coming] back whether [she] want[s] it or not," (Chapter 1, 16). We follow her story, as well as others', as we learn of the real story of slavery and all the terror and pain that come with it through connections that turn arbitrary facts into startling revelations.

Throughout Beloved, Toni Morrison switches from one character's perspective to another. As the novel begins, we learn that Sethe (a former slave) and her daughter, Denver, have been living in 124 for many years. Once a strong, independent woman, Sethe's state deteriorates as a new woman named Beloved, who appears out of nowhere, arrives and takes claim to Sethe, exclaiming "She mine" (Chapter 20, 236), thus forcing Sethe's childhood friend, Paul D. out of the picture. Paul D, who appears unannounced, is Sethe's acquaintance from her earlier home, Sweet Home. They both have memories to reminisce on and they do so openly at first, which upsets Denver. Although she is immature towards Paul D in the very beginning, Denver eventually becomes a woman as she protects Sethe from Beloved.

Although this riveting account of Sethe's struggle to move on seems entirely plausible, this work is a Neo-slave narrative. Morrison brilliantly uses her imagination to depict the perfect insanity that unfolds within Beloved. Although this is not a real-life experience, Morrison plunges you into her world, making her story a reality. This work is also a prime example of philosophical fiction. Though this genre usually deals with a dystopian or imagined world, the events in Beloved, such as the "...hot thing..." (Chapter 22, 249) that brands Beloved and Sethe's frantic dash to "'...put [her] babies where they'd be safe,'" (Chapter 18, 193), may have actually happened to slaves when they were enslaved and as they were trying to do anything to protect themselves from being enslaved once more.

I was thoroughly entranced by Morrison's depiction of slavery throughout her book, but what captures my attention the most is the fact that she does so with eloquence, style, and mastery. It is clear why Beloved was awarded to Pulitzer Prize. Morrison captivates your mind and soul as she takes you through all the trauma, pain, and love that Sethe experiences throughout her life. Beloved is unrivaled and has become branded in my mind. It is "... a hot thing." (Chapter 22, 249)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, shame about the prose, January 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beloved (Paperback) (Paperback)
There are moments when the book soars to heights that I have rarely seen in my life. But there are also moments when the prose is simply too clunky (sorry, I know that post modern writing can be about the prose, but when it comes in the way of a story it's doing just that).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good!, May 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beloved (Paperback) (Paperback)
Great service and great book. Nothing else to say about it! Everything came quickly. (I actually had to replace a book from school that was my teacher's that i lost...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, February 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beloved (Paperback) (Paperback)
Morrison's book, Beloved, is an excellent example of post-modern literature written in the natural vernacular of the setting. Truly an excellent read, providing an in-depth look at parent/child relationships and post-bellum society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Novel, February 5, 2011
This review is from: Beloved (Paperback) (Paperback)
I have wanted to read this novel for a very long time, but am glad I waited. This book takes a certain level of maturity on the part of the reader and certainly should only be read if you are ready and willing to devote a lot of time and thought to the reading.
As for a quick rundown of what the book is, it is about a woman who escapes from slavery and is forced to make very difficult decisions for herself and her children. It takes place in both her "present" and various points in her past and explains how she comes to terms with the scars (physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual) that cling to her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A++, November 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Beloved (Paperback) (Paperback)
The book was in very good condition, just as described. I received it well before the estimated date. I definately recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beloved, December 5, 2010
This review is from: Beloved (Paperback) (Paperback)
I've decided to give Beloved 2 stars because this wasn't what I expected. Beloved is fill with poetry and imagery, if you are a reader that is into poetry literature I assume this can be a great read. I found the story to be very confusing and hard to keep track with the characters in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beloved (Paperback)
Beloved (Paperback) by Toni Morrison (Author) (Paperback - 2004)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.