Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Monitor
This is a fantastic monitor. I really wanted an IPS panel but bleeding and glowing were a problem for me, so VA panel was the next natural route and here we are :)

Pros: Great colors, good viewing angles, decent gaming performance, no bleed, no visible glow, no dead pixel. Flicker Free: this is a must for me. Vesa mount.

Cons: Not an IPS panel, out...
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's ok.
It's ok. Ok, at best. It does its job, and nothing else. I am going to get a second monitor (AOC) and use that for gaming, and this for surfing the web and other non-demanding tasks. It's good for a backup monitor, and for doing low level tasks. Even so, games will look decent on it. Just not the great look which I would've liked and expected from the much-hailed BenQ...
Published 5 hours ago by Christopher W.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Monitor, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BenQ VA LED GW2255 21.5-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Accessory)
This is a fantastic monitor. I really wanted an IPS panel but bleeding and glowing were a problem for me, so VA panel was the next natural route and here we are :)

Pros: Great colors, good viewing angles, decent gaming performance, no bleed, no visible glow, no dead pixel. Flicker Free: this is a must for me. Vesa mount.

Cons: Not an IPS panel, out of the box wayyyy too bright!, and even after adjusting the brightness it's still too bright! :(

Go for this monitor if:
-You want something way better than a TN panel, great colors and decent viewing angles.
-Great for movies and almost everything else.
-You are the casual gamer.

Avoid if:
-You are used to IPS and need perfect viewing angles.
-You are a pro-gamer and need lag-free performance.
-You need HDMI or DisplayPort.

Other things to consider: If you expend most of your time programming then you should consider 16:10 aspect radio instead of 16:9, or at least go for a monitor with portrait capability. I still do some programming and web design, and for me it's OK but I can see how it can be a problem for someone else. You will also need to buy a DVI cable or DVI to HDMI cable. (only came with vga)

PS: I will upload some pictures of the box so that you can see it's ZeroFlicker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fairly good monitor, December 21, 2013
By 
G. Larson (Elysian Fields) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BenQ VA LED GW2255 21.5-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Accessory)
My old monitor was dying and this was on sale. For just under $100, this seemed a good buy.

Text is easy to read. Pictures look good. The viewing angles are okay, but not great. Colors will change from the side. The LED back-lighting is much brighter than the fluorescent of my old monitor. I immediately cranked the brightness down to 20 and it's still very bright.

The power indicator light, dim green, doesn't distract much. The lettering on the frame is gray. I barely notice it when the monitor is on. The anti-glare coating on the screen works well. They should have put some on the glossy black frame. Please, monitor makers, no more glossy frames!

The buttons on the side are easy to operate. The stand seems firm enough. The power and video cables hang straight down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded expectations, January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BenQ VA LED GW2255 21.5-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Accessory)
These monitors look amazing for the price. I would definitely buy them again. Hopefully they last for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bought this for my son..., February 13, 2014
By 
V. Edwards (metro atlanta) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BenQ VA LED GW2255 21.5-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Accessory)
an avid gamer. He was then obligated to swap out to a higher graphics card and WOW! The display is so clear and graphics so much more life like. Also, game lag is a thing of the past. He's had it over several months now and does not come out of his room except to eat. I don't know if that's good or bad, but the screen is an excellent buy. Mom did good this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Objectively great image quality, fantastic value, June 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BenQ VA LED GW2255 21.5-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Accessory)
Measured using XRite i1 Display pro.

First off, calibration settings (Standard mode):
- Gamma 1 (most important setting)
- Contrast 50
- Color: R100 G99 B99
- Brightness appropriate for environment; at night I use 0 with ambient lighting behind the display (*strongly recommended to greatly reduce eyestrain* with any display)

Results:
- great gamma tracking to 2.2
- grayscale deltaE under 1 average, no obvious tint (particularly no green tint, which was awful on my Asus VG236H before calibration)
- roughly 3600:1 (!!!) static contrast
- color accuracy (to the usual Rec 709 / sRGB color space) is pretty good, dE 3.7 for primaries & secondaries. Saturation sweep shows no compression thankfully.

Color accuracy isn't good enough for pro use but color *saturation* is very good and it's accurate enough. I can't emphasize enough how much more important the static contrast is than perfect color accuracy for general image quality (and even among pros, some argue for the highly improved dynamic range over IPS being more important than marginally more accurate colors). The colors are close enough to hardly be noticeably 'off' (I can hardly notice even after applying the ICC profile calibration), but try watching any show or game or whatever (basically anything) next to a high quality IPS (e.g. a top notch tablet display like an iPad 3+ or Nexus 7) to compare and it will spoil that panel for you. You have been warned.

Pros:
- fantastic IQ per above, better than basically any TN or IPS/PLS for virtually any price due to *VA contrast
- no calibration instrument needed for good gamma and other image accuracy, just use my settings above (this is a big deal for a monitor at this price)
- overdrive (AMA) 'Advanced' mode does its job fairly well for a *VA panel
- useful OSD adjustments available especially for this price range
- has standard 100mm VESA mounting holes
- PWM not used to control backlight brightness
- effective (and not overly dirty-looking) anti-glare coating

Cons:
- responsiveness is clearly a weak point. AMA 'Advanced' setting is recommended and good enough for me, but might bother some, YMMV. Do not use "Premium", it overshoots like crazy. If you've used any typical IPS from the past few years, 'Advanced' is a bit slower than that.
- why is the frame glossy? WHY BENQ, WHY??? GRRRRRR. Very cheap-looking glossy plastic everywhere
- control buttons are somewhat unintuitive, and there is no shortcut button for brightness.
- stock gamma is set to 3 when '1' is clearly the most accurate; Picture modes other than 'Standard' are pretty useless (this is par for the course for pretty much all monitor manufacturers)
- backlight could dim a bit lower ... but at least it doesn't use PWM
- ships with VGA cable instead of DVI (again, wtf, why Benq why????)

Conclusion:
Highly recommended for any general usage (including gaming, photos - as explained above) unless you're sensitive to the average/poor motion performance.

Updated review on 8/5/2014 with minor changes to calibration settings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good at the price., January 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BenQ VA LED GW2255 21.5-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Accessory)
The first thing you have to do with this monitor is turn the brightness down. It is very bright and sharp and the picture is very clear. The viewing angle is very good, much better than most monitors. That said, there is two negatives. It has only a vga cable instead of a dvi, the picture is so good that it is a minor thing. The other negative is the resolution. It has a native resolution of 1920X1080 and at this size the words are small and can be hard to read. Depending on what you use it for it may not be a problem for you. The resolution can be changed but you get nagged for it. Over all it is a good monitor especially for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture quality, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BenQ VA LED GW2255 21.5-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Accessory)
I use this monitor in my home office and not as a gaming screen. I like the crisp quality and its VESA mountable on top. It was a lot lighter than I expected though. Definitely would buy again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great moniter, December 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BenQ VA LED GW2255 21.5-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Accessory)
It looks great but take notice you need a DVI cable to get the best picture with this moniter (DVI cable not sold with it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks nice., November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BenQ VA LED GW2255 21.5-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Accessory)
The Monitor looks great, has the connection ports I need (though HDMI would have been a nice addition), and fits well on my desk. There are no speakers, so if you need one with those, look elsewhere. Otherwise, great monitor at a fair price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, August 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: BenQ VA LED GW2255 21.5-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor (Accessory)
This monitor is great. That god-tier resolution of 1920x1080. Wouldn't recommend late nights and sitting too close. Very bright but that is good for the most part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

BenQ VA LED GW2255 21.5-Inch Screen LED-lit Monitor
$199.00 $119.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.