Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beneath a Meth Moon, A BookBandit Blog Review
Before the moon Laurel was a normal girl. A girl who had dreams and aspirations of one day becoming a writer. A girl who had friends and family. But that was before. Before Hurricane Katrina. Before her, her daddy, and younger brother Jessie left to go stay with her aunt. Before the water washed away her home. Before the water washed away her mamma and grandmamma. Before...
Published on May 2, 2012 by N., The BookBandit

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written, but Wanted More
I liked this book. It was a quick read, and I loved how the writing style reflects Laurel's state of mind. Laurel's story is told in brief, halting flashes, jumping from past to present. I really felt like it was written in moments between her highs -- small moments of lucidity when she wasn't feeling the effects of meth. And then, there was a dreamy, almost ethereal...
Published on May 21, 2012 by Alyssa Marie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully Written, but Wanted More, May 21, 2012
This review is from: Beneath a Meth Moon (Hardcover)
I liked this book. It was a quick read, and I loved how the writing style reflects Laurel's state of mind. Laurel's story is told in brief, halting flashes, jumping from past to present. I really felt like it was written in moments between her highs -- small moments of lucidity when she wasn't feeling the effects of meth. And then, there was a dreamy, almost ethereal quality to the language, which made the narrative seem like Laurel was in-between states. Not quite high, not quite grounded in reality. I thought it was perfect for a journal of a girl who is trying to break her addiction and start a new life.

The story Laurel tells is heart-breaking, and I love how Woodson is able to bring together recent events to tell a story that some teenagers can really relate to. Beneath a Meth Moon tackles the after-effects of Hurricane Katrina and paints a small picture of the suffering and devastation that followed the event. It also goes into the widespread use of meth among teenagers, and how their lives are ruined by their addiction. And despite these horrific and depressing events, she turns it into a hopeful message. Life goes on. We are able to go on with it by just putting one foot in front of the other and getting through bad times step by step.

However, while I appreciated the link between the style and Laurel's frame of mind, I would have liked there to have been more development. In the flashes we get of Laurel's life in a new town, I don't feel as if she has moved on. I don't feel like she has a best friend, or even get the sense of a boyfriend from T-Boom. The way she started meth confused me. T-Boom held out a meth-covered finger to her and told her to sniff. Why did she? Why didn't she just leave the guy? What was going on in her mind while she did this? We don't know. Laurel never tells us. And while theorizing would make for good discussion in a book club or classroom, I would have liked a little more in terms of why and how, besides the fact that she is depressed about the deaths of her mother and grandmother. I didn't need a lot, but something that hints as to why she felt compelled to start meth in the first place.

Still, I do think this book has a lot going for it. It's a quick read and can be used in a classroom as a perfect source of metaphor, symbolism, and style. But maybe supplement it with a lesson on the dangers and effects of meth, because while Laurel's life does fall apart, the health consequences are briefly mentioned. And with the dreamy quality of the narrative, I'm not sure the second-hand stories of death have enough of an impact.

*I received this book from LibraryThing as part of the Early Reviewers Group in exchange for my honest review.*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beneath a Meth Moon, A BookBandit Blog Review, May 2, 2012
This review is from: Beneath a Meth Moon (Hardcover)
Before the moon Laurel was a normal girl. A girl who had dreams and aspirations of one day becoming a writer. A girl who had friends and family. But that was before. Before Hurricane Katrina. Before her, her daddy, and younger brother Jessie left to go stay with her aunt. Before the water washed away her home. Before the water washed away her mamma and grandmamma. Before life as she knew it ended.

But when new boyfriend T-Boom turns Laurel onto Moon a new life opens up to her. A life she never knew was possible. Feeling higher than life, the moon allows her to move forward and to forget the past.

Her new life means forgetting. Forgetting the past, the people she loves and who love her, forgetting herself. Is Laurel strong enough to shake her habit, or will she die before she has the chance to?

Written by acclaimed author Jacqueline Woodson, Beneath a Meth Moon is a gut-wrenchingly painful, yet beautiful examination of addiction.

Just under two hundred pages Woodson's has brought the life and struggles of a meth addict to light. These struggles aren't pretty, they are gritty and often ugly. These struggles aren't easy, they're ruthless and full of frightful emotions. These struggles, as Woodson presents them, are startlingly realistic.

Woodson's writing is sharp and purposeful. Beyond that there is a poetic quality to her writing. And even though as hopeless as Laurel's story is, there is a hopeful tone to the overall book. As the story bounces from one point in time to a completely different, unrelated point, readers won't only understand Laurel's life as a meth addict, but will come to appreciate the brutal honesty in which her story is told.

Laurel, who's often portrayed as weak due to her crippling meth addiction, is a strong character. Not just strong, but memorable. Reader's will carry her story with them, in the minds and hearts long after the book has ended. At first glance Laurel often appears helpless, lost, and weak. But the perseverance that lives inside of her makes her a powerful character that is determined to make a better life for herself dispite her problems.

Beneath a Meth Moon is a one of a kind book. Reader's will appreciate Woodson's delicate handling of the subject matter, and will applaud her honesty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A transformative novel, April 9, 2012
By 
This review is from: Beneath a Meth Moon (Hardcover)
Renowned YA author Jacqueline Woodson writes poetically about an intense and sobering subject: teenage drug addiction. BENEATH A METH MOON is a touching novel that challenges many commonly held notions about teenage drug use and the way society treats young addicts --- the idea that addicts begin with a lesser substance, that they are troubled kids, that they lack good parental support, that most are criminals or misfits, that addiction doesn't happen to smart, good kids. This is the story of a good-natured girl who falls easily into a haze of invisibility, a peculiar kind of elegy to family and friends who support and inspire substance abusers, and to the twisted poetry of "the moon," the euphoric substance with deadly appeal for those with a death wish.

By all standards, Laurel Daneau was a good girl before using meth. She came from a loving Southern family and was a cheerleader in her Mississippi high school, the new kid in town who had made a few solid friends and had shown fair prospects. But her emotional troubles began long before using meth or becoming friendless and hopeless. Laurel lost her mother and grandmother in a tragic flood during a hurricane that hit much of Mississippi hard and left the family drifting.

Laurel's father was unaware of the degree of Laurel's emotional displacement when he moved the family away from their home at Pass Christian, Mississippi, to live with relatives in Galilee. He had been dealing with his own grief along with his daughter's and was just hoping to "make a new start." Unfortunately, Laurel was still in shock even while attempting to relive many cherished childhood memories. Ironically, her grandmother's words would become prophetic and redeeming for her: "While you're living...It's the rocks in your life that will stand by you. Your words, your friends, your family."

This girl's complex psychological state is revealed very subtly and makes for some interesting reading from beginning to end. Obviously there is some increased susceptibility to peer pressure here and dangerous modes of coping. In no time at all, after her first use of "the moon," Laurel becomes a deranged beggar, her family unaware of her whereabouts and her father worried sick about her as she's out begging, unsettled, freezing, and nearly starving to death on the streets --- but still in denial. It is too easy for "respectable society" to forget and ignore kids like her, people who do nothing more than throw a coin and not look at or recognize the homeless --- something most of us are guilty of, a simple means by which we deal with our feelings of guilt, worry and disgust. Were it not for the saving grace of true friends, children like Laurel wouldn't stand a chance at recovering from serious drug addictions.

BENEATH A METH MOON is intoxicating, very artistic and emotive. It will capture hearts even while it educates readers about the complex, difficult experiences and mindsets of drug-addicted teens. Woodson is very honest in her writing style and provides a direct but caring perspective for teenagers and parents. She also provides an equal focus on society's ill treatment of the homeless, a marginalized group that is much too easily discarded and forgotten by everyone but their own families. This is a transformative novel I would highly recommend to any young adult reader, and every parent or adult who seeks a better understanding of the nature and victims of deadly substances.

Reviewed by Melanie Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Disturbing Topic but a Beautiful Book, April 13, 2012
This review is from: Beneath a Meth Moon (Hardcover)
Although the topic of Jacqueline Woodson's latest novel is dark, her impeccable writing skills, a well known trademark for her readers and admirers, once more work their magic. Only she could bring beauty through the horrifying world of meth. In addition to the pitch perfect description of heartbroken Laurel and of the ravaging consequences of addiction, no other writer tells about first love as well as Woodson. In each of her books, she manages to make my heart beat in the exact same way it did when I was also a young girl in love for the first time. And that is proof of a fine understanding of the teenage heart and of an immense talent.
A small book in comparison to the typical contemporary YA novels, Beneath a Meth Moon holds in 180 pages the essence of what it is to be a teenager in the 21th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Makes me glad for my calm little life, May 14, 2012
This review is from: Beneath a Meth Moon (Hardcover)
Laurel used to have a fairly average life - school, cheerleading, hanging out in Mississippi. Then a boyfriend introduced her to meth and now she's begging on street corners, knowing her life is in the toilet but unable to shake her cravings. Not nearly as bleak as the writings of Ellen Hopkins (CRANK, et al) or the classic GO ASK ALICE, but still a fairly heavy-handed cautionary tale. A quick read and a great choice for readers who want to spend a few hours immersed in the druggie world, and still be able to sleep in their own beds at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful, life-changing book, February 3, 2012
This review is from: Beneath a Meth Moon (Hardcover)
This is one of those books that you can't help but talk about to every single person you meet. I had heard about it a couple of times, ended up picking it up one rainy day and literally stayed up all night reading it. I don't know very much about addiction so I wasn't sure if I would relate, but I was completely drawn in from the first page. At the end, I literally felt winded, like emotionally my jaw had dropped -- but in a completely positive, transformative way. I can't say enough good things about this book. Please do yourself a favor and read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true realistic story, June 24, 2012
Hardly ever is the story of addiction told so honestly. Drugs affect teenagers more than parents think. The book shows how little thinking goes into the fact of a friend offering something to another. Drugs have an allure, especially with all the pressure on teens nowadays. The way the bookis written takes away all the judgement and just leaves the bare bones of what happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Emotional Short Read, June 3, 2012
This review is from: Beneath a Meth Moon (Hardcover)
Beneath A Meth Moon moves back and forth through time and is told by the main character, Laurel. She's lost both her mother and grandmother in Hurricane Katrina and moves from her home to a new town with her father and little brother. Laurel is a writer and was encouraged by her grandmother to keep writing everything down and this encouragement continues when she meets a new friend, Kaylee. The words aren't enough though and in her despair she finds solace in a new boyfriend and with him comes his addiction and supply of meth. She quickly becomes addicted as well and ends up living on the streets due to her addiction. There she meets Moses, an artist, who knows just what Laurel is up to and calls her on it, letting her know that she is going to end up dead if she continues on this way.

This book is written as an elegy, which I have never read before. I read this quickly and in one evening, it is short and the words are printed in a large font on the pages. Even if it weren't formatted that way, I still would have finished it quickly as it was truly engrossing. It is a very emotional story that deals with loss and being lost and not knowing how to process the feelings. The author has handled all of these thoughts and feelings wonderfully and made it very easy to relate to what Laurel is going through. Tears flowed again and again as I was reading and I was surprised that a short read could be so emotional and compelling. I can see this book being something teachers and parents will want their children to read as well due to the life lesson learned and the horrible reality of addiction.

Reviewed by Jessica for Book Sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should be reading this., January 31, 2014
This book is powerful. After turning the last page on most books, I sit for a while and consider the journey I just went on with the characters.

But with Beneath a Meth Moon, it haunts you.

For days, I have thought about Laurel. I know Laurel. I see Laurel on the faces of too many who are prisoners to their meth addiction. I see Laurel through the actions of my father’s ex-girlfriend who couldn’t overcome her addiction.

I’m struggling with an appropriate review for this book. It exceeds any star rating system that we can drum up. It exceeds the definition of book. Beneath a Meth Moon is real. Dangerously real. Everyone should be reading this book.

I’ve read a few other books on addiction, but nothing has gotten my attention like Beneath a Meth Moon. I’ve noticed that some complain about the story jumping from memories to present day. But it’s brilliant. It truly shows how the mind of someone on meth works. There is no present, there is no past. Everything blends into one macabre reality that you cannot escape.

I really do not have words for how good this book is. I’ll only say that everyone should read it. Even if you can’t relate to Laurel, you need to experience this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars wish the story was longer to connect with the characters, March 6, 2012
This review is from: Beneath a Meth Moon (Hardcover)
3.5 stars

Although i've never had problems with addiction, I have known people that have struggled with these issues, and the mind of an addict is something that truely intrigues me. This story focuses on the demise of Laurel, who after losing her monther and grandmother during Hurricane Katrina, moves to a new town, and meets T-Boom the star basketball player who has eyes for only Laurel, but also has eyes for the moon, aka meth.

Laurel gets caught up in the moon and quickly falls subject to a serious addiction. Her life spirals out of control and Jacqueline Woodson really puts you inside of an addicts head with her writing. This book is extremely fast-paced and intense, which I liked, but I felt like I couldn't really connect with any of the characters, they felt fleeting and I felt like I couldn't really grasp who they were.

If you like books that deal with addiction, then I feel like you'd enjoy this book, I just felt that it was too short for me to really connect with the characters enough to feel their emotions in a way that made it really hit home for me, but still feel like it's worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Beneath a Meth Moon
Beneath a Meth Moon by Jacqueline Woodson (Hardcover - February 2, 2012)
$16.99 $12.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.