Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 11, 2013
When I read the pages of this report I was concerned by the degree of manipulation that surrounded this debacle. The US State Department lost a good man in Chris Stevens. As hard as it may sound, Americans die to insure the liberties of other Americans. The four men that died in the attack at Benghazi paid the price for our mistakes. The idea that any one entity of our government can run secret para-military missions on foreign soil with minimal oversight and minimal responsibility is verging on the criminal. The shadowy world of statecraft is more bloody than any of us could guess. I for one welcome this report, especially falling on the tail end of Mr. Panetta's and Secretary Clinton's appearances before the Senate.

Pointedly I find the refrain we did not have any idea of what was happening to be insulting! The men on the ground had the video from the orbiting drone, that's called "ground truth." Normally in those occasions it is policy to defer to the units in contact on the ground. The fact that even now there is still manipulation of the information is the most troubling part of the whole thing.

This plain language, written for the average guy, report lays out a large amount of information in a manner that could be used in a high school class on current events. The fact that the information was compiled and cross checked with several sources marks it as a journalistic touchstone. I challenge other media sources to continue this trend.

The failures and the following cover up exhaust me. The loss of these good men could have been prevented. Instead their deaths have been surrounded by lies of the most childish nature, for what? This report released by the editors of SOFREP.com is a SHOCK TO THE SYSTEM!
44 comments| 122 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
With a very contentious election swirling around an infamous anniversary, and the death of a US Ambassador hanging out as a pinata at each sides birthday party we all saw an amazing amount of garbage across all parts of the reporting spectrum. This quick read cuts to the chase and details the heroic deeds of the hard men who died that night and points the finger right at the source - what the First Amendment is all about.
The authors tap into their sources, which for obvious reasons can not be named, to give the truth about what cycled around the annex that night. They fill in the holes based on their own personal experience in the Middle East with these type of situations to connect the dots that can not be openly sourced.....but give it time and this account will come out as the whole truth.
I found myself cheering for Ty and Glen to pull this one off but knew they did not do it that night. In the finest tradition of the American fighting man they ran to the sound of the guns to save their fellows without regard for their own safety. From guards armed with baseball bats running off to real men staving off the hordes the story reads like fiction, but will be shown as the truth by history. Should these men be CMH winners? No doubt. But what we will get is at least what they did - and the basis which we must continue to question the media with on what really happened that night. The future of our Republic depends on this tale being added to the famed "shores of tripoli" - this is not finished. The nugget about General Petreaus begs for more information....
Thanks go out to SOFREP for getting this out. It reads like a James Bond Novella.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
I'm the SOFREP webmaster and architect. I had nothing to do with writing the book, but I read it and was awed by the sacrifices I learned about.

Chapter 4 got me. I found myself rooting for Ty while I was reading the account of the attack, and getting maybe a little choked up too. Even knowing the outcome, I just wanted him to make it out alive.

"At the State Department compound, Ty's team had set up and started to unleash everything they had on the attacking force. His guys had one MK46 machine gun, and individual H&K 416's complimented with GLM's (H&K 40mm grenade launchers). One of Ty's team members was a USMC veteran of Iraq and the blood bath of Fallujah. Ty's team unloaded on the enemy and soon had them on the run. The former Marine, having a bandolier of "golden eggs" (40mm grenades), would lob grenades as Ty directed; they worked with such efficiency that their teammates would describe it as witnessing a conductor working with a master musician. Within minutes the small six-man team had turned the tide: dead enemy littered the compound and the rest were confused and running for cover. At this point Ty signaled for the team to head for the main TOC building.

The GRS agents would fire and maneuver their way to link up with the DSS agents. It was the effort of Ty's team that enabled a lull in fire long enough for the remaining DSS in the outlying Villa to join up with the main element. It was here that Ty and the TL made the decision to send the DSS team back to the CIA compound. The DSS guys were too inexperienced to be of much help; but Ty and the GRS team were another breed: would stay a bit longer and search for the Ambassador and Sean Smith."

This book is a great read because Brandon and Jack know people and got information that other 'journalists' just can't access. It's $2.99 - Chapter 4 alone is worth that. Buy the book and see for yourself!
88 comments| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
Interesting, fast read. Solidly researched by subject matter experts that know the players, terrain, and organizations. Much more has been written by those who know far less. This is a compelling piece of research that offers a counter-editorial to the current main stream media narrative of "what happened". It deserves your attention and more importantly...your questions.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
I found this book very easy to read and well researched. I found the history of the area to be very helpful as it includes what has went on from the time Libya was destabilized leading up to the event and Islamist "actors" that I am interested in.I wish I could say "I am shocked" but I am not. I really wish I could say that I am. Unfortunately for me as good as it was it raised many many more questions. What a mess. Good book. Thank you.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
This book should receive a Pulitzer prize. Exposes the months of lies of the Obama administration about what happened in Benghazi on September 11-12, 2012 during the attack on the US "Consulate" by islamic jihad's, which resulted in the deaths of four Americans: Ty Woods, Glen Doherty, Chris Stevens, and Sean Smith.

I read the book in one sitting. What a bunch of lies the American people have been fed for the last five months by Obama; the White House team; Hillary Clinton, SecState; Leon Panetta, Sec Def; Martin Dempsey, Ch. JCS; Susan Rice; Democrats in general, and other pathetic liars.

After reading the book, the best description I can provide is taken from the author's website. This describes very accurately the information provided in the book.

Without any doubt, this book provides the simplest, clearest answers to the "mysteries" surrounding the Benghazi attacks -- Occam's razor -- finally the truth.

From the website SOFREP.com:

"This Tuesday, White House Counter-Terrorism adviser John Brennan will sit down for the closed door classified portion of his confirmation hearing. Brennan brings a lot of baggage to the table and has taken some fire from both the Left and the Right for his support of para-military activities and so-called Enhanced Interrogation Techniques. This last week we've seen puff piece after puff piece as our 4th Estate absolutely gushes over John Brennan to pump him up for the confirmation hearings that will determine whether or not he will be the next Director of the Central Intelligence Agency, filling the void left by General Petraeus' resignation."

"Perhaps it is then a happy coincidence that the ebook I wrote with Brandon Webb about Benghazi is coming out on the same day as Brennan's classified hearing. The ebook will begin to peel back a few of the layers of secrecy that have thus far protected John Brennan and some very shady activities undertaken by the National Security Council."

"The book includes many never before revealed details about the Libyan Civil War and the post-war reconsolidation efforts undertaken by Private Military Companies, the CIA, and Ambassador Chris Stevens. This sets the stage for the situation that led to the attack on the US Consulate (technically a Temporary Mission Facility) in Benghazi. We then tell it like it actually happened that night and detail the heroic actions of Ty Woods and his fellow OGA operators. We will also shatter some myths and misconceptions about denied air support and the resignation of General Petraeus."

"Perhaps most damning is the question of why. Why did the attack happen? What got AQIM elements operating under the Ansar Al-Sharia banner so angry that they decided to over run the Consulate? Perhaps events in Egypt and a silly Youtube video helped some of the Sheiks mobilize a large group of extremists but there is more to this situation. Much more. Ambassador Stevens and David Petraeus never could have seen what was coming. They were left in the lurch due to covert operations initiated by the White House, a secret war in North Africa being orchestrated by John Brennan."

"Written by the team of former Special Operations warriors who run SOFREP.com, here is the definitive account of what happened before, during, and after the deadly Benghazi attack."

"On September 12th, 2012, Brandon Webb learned Glen Doherty, one of his closest friends and his former Navy SEAL teammate, was killed alongside Ambassador J. Christopher Stevens and two other Americans when the U.S. State Department and CIA headquarters in Benghazi, Libya, were sieged in a shocking terrorist attack. For the next four months, Webb and his team at SOFREP.com, the world's premier Special Ops website, embarked on a relentless investigation to understand exactly what happened to their countrymen, as well as the roles played by the Obama administration, State Department, and CIA. Drawing on unmatched sources, they spoke to individuals who would talk to no one else, including fellow Special Operations team members familiar with the African theatre, and well-placed contacts in the Washington intelligence community. This is their report-an unforgettably gripping minute-by-minute narrative of the events and their aftermath as they really unfolded on that terrible day in Libya."

Read original source: [ sofrep.com/17087/benghazi-report-jack-murphy-brandon-webb-sofrep/ ]

PS: I am not in any way associated with the authors or the Special Ops community. I'm a concerned American citizen who does not like being lied to by my government. Lying undermines our democracy -- the Republic.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
Thank God for this form of media. Thirty years ago this perspective on the terrorist attack on Benghazi never would have been heard. The big three networks(back then)and the major newspapers would not have published it. Once the media crafts a narrative like the one they crafted for the Benghazi attack they are loath to retract it. If it wasn't for this report the American people would be left thinking that this act of war on the United States was just a big misunderstanding over a video some crank made about Islam and that American prestige and influence in the region was on the rise. This report puts to the lie this media narrative which uncritically repeated whatever the administration told them. And in doing so cheated the American people of the facts and set the goal of transparent, accountable government back a generation. This report is the new iteration of journalism in this country. Told by those who not only went to the trouble the to uncover and source the facts but as military professionals had the training and knowledge that enabled them to understand how those facts fit into the larger story. If you do not buy and read this report you could not even pretend to understand what really happened there.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
Well written and easy to read, Benghazi does an excellent job explaining the events that took place as well as sorting out the complex issues leading up to the tragedy. It also bravely shines light on current issues ongoing in Washington DC. Highly Recommend!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
As a friend of both the authors and a part-time writer for SOFREP.com, I can say that these men bleed the truth. It is very evident as you read each page that their final goal is a well informed public. They have no initiative, no large profit gain, only the truth about what happened during that horrible 24 hour period. The book takes you to Benghazi and allows you to stand face to face with the men who sacrificed their lives for fellow Americans and the injustice that resulted from shady dealings and uncoordinated efforts. I believe this book is a must read if you want to get a microscopic view of the tip of a political iceberg. Thank you Brandon and Jack for being informative, just, and honorable in your writing.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2013
Thank you for shedding light and insight on the events, the background, politics and cover-up of this dark tragedy. Clearly indicates the levels of government corruption & deception. Further demonstrates that Brennan is unfit to be the CIA Director and should not serve in any national security capacity.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.