Customer Reviews


182 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


211 of 218 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GRUMPY OLD MAN REVIEW
I'm the grumpy old man. I needed a air gun that was fun to shoot, good for target practice and get rid of destructive squirrels and crows. First, I tried a break barrel 1000fps 177 cal. It did not shoot straight and vibration was annoying. Next, I tried a 177 cal. CO2 rifle six shot. I could throw the pellets harder than that thing would shoot. Then I tried a 22 cal. CO2...
Published on January 13, 2012 by James D. Lindsay

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars i want to love this rifle....
...but the same rivet i wrote about a year ago has broken lose and worked itself out on my new 392 also. i punched it out and replaced it with a small flathead machine screw and nut, used a dremmel to cut grind the edges down but it just isn't the same. a little more detail to quality would make this the favorite in my collection for everyday plinking. as it is, i've...
Published on July 1, 2011 by mike h.


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

211 of 218 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GRUMPY OLD MAN REVIEW, January 13, 2012
This review is from: Benjamin 392 Bolt Action Variable Pump Air Rifle (.22) (Sports)
I'm the grumpy old man. I needed a air gun that was fun to shoot, good for target practice and get rid of destructive squirrels and crows. First, I tried a break barrel 1000fps 177 cal. It did not shoot straight and vibration was annoying. Next, I tried a 177 cal. CO2 rifle six shot. I could throw the pellets harder than that thing would shoot. Then I tried a 22 cal. CO2 pistol that also had good reviews. Good shooting little gun, but so loud that it sounded almost like a 357. Out of respect for the neighbors, I don't use it. All these guns plus a couple of BB guns are now buried in my closet, probably never to be shot again. Then I finally decided to try the Crosman Benjamin 392. People this is THE pellet gun. Shoots hard, shoots straight right out of the box. Looks nice and built well. Fills everything I expected of it. The only slight negative thing I have, it is a little hard to pump. You might consider this if you are purchasing for a small framed lady, young person or grumpy old, old person. Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still An American Icon, November 19, 2012
By 
JPG (Northern Michigan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Benjamin 392 Bolt Action Variable Pump Air Rifle (.22) (Sports)
I purchased my Benjamin 392 (.22 caliber) air rifle in 2010. This rifle is a companion to my Benjamin 397 (.177 caliber) and my Sheridan Blue Streak CB9 (.20 caliber) air rifles.

I am gratified that the Benjamin 392 quality is still on par with my older air rifles I purchased in 1990 prior to Crosman acquiring Benjamin/Sheridan. Crosman has maintained the Benjamin/Sheridan tradition and reputation of making a good quality, reasonably priced, reliable, and durable air rifle.

In addition to being made in the U.S., the stock and forearm are made of walnut-stained hardwood. The rifle barrel and plunger tube are brass and the bolt is chromed. My Benjamin 392 now has a plastic crossbolt style safety built into the trigger guard (AKA Lawyer Trigger), unlike the 2 older rifles which have steel trigger guards and tang safeties. Like my 2 older rifles, the Benjamin 392 is powerful, reliable, well made, accurate and trouble free. The rifle has heft without feeling heavy. The rifle is solid and tight. No rattles/loose fitting parts.

The rifle's included open sights are adequate. There is a rear aperture sight available, from Williams/Air Venturi, made specifically for the Benjamin/Sheridan variable pump rifle's pre-drilled and tapped receivers. This upgrade is an easy, affordable installation. The aperture sight greatly improves my accuracy over the standard sights equipped with these rifles. I put a dab of florescent orange paint on the tip of the front sight blade to see the sight easier through the rear aperture sight ring. If you want to scope the rifle, I recommend a pistol scope with a long eye relief, mounted further down the barrel, so the breech is still open to load a pellet easily with your fingers.

This rifle is an excellent purchase for the following reasons:
1. These rifles are renowned for their longevity. (Brass barrels don't rust, corrode, and resist lead fouling)
2. The quality of materials, fit and finish, hardwood stocks, and simple design have remained virtually unchanged throughout this rifle's very long and distinguished production history.
3. Versatile, variable power for plinking, pest control and, because it fires a hard-hitting .22 caliber pellet, small game hunting.
4. These rifles can be carried all day at full charge without damage.
5. Scope selection is not limited to special-purpose scopes because there's no backward/forward thrust caused by piston motion and inertia inherent to springer-type air rifles. Almost any rifle or pistol scope can be used with available mounts and adapters.
6. These rifles require very little maintenance if properly cared for.
7. They're a practical and economical alternative to shooting rim & center-fire rifles.
8. The rifle is short, light, and easy to carry.
9. They're an excellent platform for teaching firearm safety and basic marksmanship fundamentals to beginning shooters.
10. They're accurate and not too picky about pellet selection partly due to the lubricity of their brass barrels.
11. They can't be beat for the fun of shooting spinners, breaking balloons, knocking over cans or punching holes through paper plates.
12. The rifle's performance isn't dramatically affected by cooler temperatures, unlike a conventional springer type air rifle.

Some drawbacks:
1. It can take up to 35 foot-pounds of force (per pump stroke) to pump up the rifle; so these rifles may be difficult for someone of small stature or weaker upper body strength to pump up the air reservoir. It's a chore pumping up the rifle during a long shooting session.
2. The rifle's report is loud, with a sharp "crack" from the muzzle at or near full power.
3. If a scope is installed, it may be awkward to firmly hold the rifle with one hand and pump up the rifle with the other hand.
4. The rifle can be damaged if the air reservoir is excessively pressurized by over-pumping.
5. The pump plunger tube wall is thin and can be dented if the rifle is bumped hard or dropped.
6. The flat black finish on the receiver, barrel and pump plunger tube is easily chipped or worn off.
7. Heavy, non-adjustable trigger pull.

This rifle is not a toy even though it may look like one, so it NEVER should be regarded or treated as such. This rifle is powerful enough to kill so responsible adult supervision is required if used by children or inexperienced/novice shooters.

In my opinion, this rifle delivers a very good return on its investment. I can't say enough praise for this air rifle. It is reasonably priced, accurate, powerful, versatile, well-made with high quality materials, and guaranteed to last decades if properly cared for.

One thing about these multi-pump rifles: Prior to storage, give the rifle one pump. This will keep air pressure in the air reservoir, keep out dirt and dust, seat the seals and keep the rifle problem free for many decades. I've enjoyed my Benjamin 397 & Sheridan Blue Streak for over 2 decades and the Benjamin 392 promises to be another rule and not an exception. I've fired over 800 pellets through it without a single problem or mishap.

I highly recommend this product.
Be safe and happy shooting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


99 of 110 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Benjamin 392- READ THIS, April 6, 2011
The Benjamin 392 is at the top of its class in terms of looks, quality and power for multi-pump air rifles. Its hardwood stock makes it a great 5.5 pound weapon. I recommend this more for hunting/pest control than target shooting. Only 8 pumps are required but the cocking effort is measured at 35 pounds! So for just targets 3-5 pumps will do it. 685fps (with light weight pellets) its relatively slow but delivers 14fpe with a .22 caliber pellet. Not bad. This is a short 35'' rifle but recommended for adult shooters. It does feature front and near iron sights but they are AWFUL! if you get this gun you MUST buy a scope with it because you could not be more inaccurate with just the iron sights. trust me. the trigger is crisp, the rifle is not too loud, has a rifled barrel, looks great, works great and has a cool bolt action. Depending on your liking, this can be an amazing pellet rifle or a little too much.

SCOPE information: there are two places on this rifle to mount a scope. You can mount a pistol scope over the forearm or a rifle scope over the bolt action like normal rifles. I strongly recommend the pistol scope because it gives you long eye relief and if you put a rifle scope on it pumping the rifle becomes much harder and more awkward to hold. For pistol scope: you will need 11mm 3/8 dovetails mounts. (Crosman B272 to be exact). 1'' rings. and any kind of PISTOL scope for example a 4x32mm. (make sure its a pistol scope though)

Pellets: this obviously takes .22 caliber pellets. It is very accurate with Crosman premier hollow points. A good light weight pellet would be the Crosman lead-free pellets. Good for hunting are the crow magnum and JSb exact pellets because they deliver good power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I made the right choice, March 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Benjamin 392 Bolt Action Variable Pump Air Rifle (.22) (Sports)
The Benjamin 392 air rifle is accurate and well made, and I'm happy to say, right here in the USA. Both front and rear sights are metal, the rear being fully adjustable for windage and elevation. You can add a Williams Peep Sight easily as the barrel is pre-drilled from the factory to accept it, or there are a couple options to mount a scope. For me, keeping it simple is best, and I find it perfect as is. After sighting in and using the open sights, I have no problem blasting holes in the bottom of a soup can that is 2-3/4 inches in diameter, at 102 ft(34 yds) with only six pumps, that is impressive! I'm sure with a scope you could do better, but that's good for me. Right now I'm using Crosman Premier hollow points - does well with these or the regular Premier domed. What a difference from the springer rifles I've used. There's no need for a special hold, and NO annoying twang and vibration when it fires. It has a nice American hardwood stock and the finish on mine is decent despite a couple of small flaws that aren't worth complaining about. The barrel is rifled, made of brass and has a black outside coating that you can scratch off if you are not careful. I love the bolt action and how efficiently the pellets load in the chamber. The trigger pull may be a tad heavy for some, but I don't mind it enough to change it, there are mods available online if you feel the need to tweak. This is no toy; being a .22 cal. It hits hard and has a nice solid feel to it, just the right size and weight to carry with you all day. The only plastic on the rifle is the trigger guard and the butt on the end of the stock, which I would have preferred be more rubberized, but it all seems quality and has taken accidental blows without a problem. I cleaned some paint overspray from the first 1/2 inch of the inside of the barrel's muzzle end, don't know if this would have affected accuracy, I read someone else said it did for them, but that's just one person out of many reviews. I didn't do a before and after cleaning comparison, so I may have wasted my time. I used carb cleaner on a q-tip and a barrel cleaning brush. If you decide to do it, you need to be careful not to get it on the outside of the barrel, go easy on the amount of cleaner you use. Grandma is not going to like pumping it, but for most people it's not a problem, and I find 5 or 6 is ample, it takes up to 8 pumps to get the max fps. You can't go wrong with it for plinking, hunting small game and pest control, and a plus is being able to vary the power by the number of pumps. An American made Classic that's been around for a long time, now I know why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars benjamin 392 air rifle, August 24, 2009
the benjamin 392 was everything pyramid airguns said it would be, and more. would i reccomend this product?? definately yes I own six other air rifles and would not hesitate to say that this air rifle is the most accurate of them all it hit a milk bottle cap at twenty yards the first shot out of the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars i want to love this rifle...., July 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Benjamin 392 Bolt Action Variable Pump Air Rifle (.22) (Sports)
...but the same rivet i wrote about a year ago has broken lose and worked itself out on my new 392 also. i punched it out and replaced it with a small flathead machine screw and nut, used a dremmel to cut grind the edges down but it just isn't the same. a little more detail to quality would make this the favorite in my collection for everyday plinking. as it is, i've owned two in less than two years and had the same rivet come lose and work it's way out making it impossible to pump. the 2 stars isn't for the gun, it's for the quality of workmanship.

Got my first 392 from Amazon two months ago and after 50+ rounds wouldn't pump; a rivet was working it's way loose on the cocking arm and was hitting the slide rail. Sent it back and Amazon fully refunded me because they had none in stock.

Bought another from Airgun Depot and it's working fine. I really like this gun, fun to shoot and short enough to carry around the property without feeling like you're lugging a canon. I have many other air guns in my collection and have as much fun if not more, with this pumper. Very accurate with just the iron sights at under 50' and has lots of torque to knock off whatever you're knocking off. At about 20' it goes through an empty beer can so fast and hard the can barely moves but still has a new hole in it. I've never put more than 6 pumps in it and it seems to hit like a cannon.

I must have received the one faulty gun made in the past 60 years as my first purchase but Amazon did me right and the new one seems to be solid. As much fun as you can have with an airgun and the .22 cal. is what it's all about when you're trying to dispatch the evil red squirrel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yesteryear's quality, today, believe it, or not......, March 20, 2013
This review is from: Benjamin 392 Bolt Action Variable Pump Air Rifle (.22) (Sports)
i held my nose, recently, in buying a Benjamin 392, expecting typical modern junk cheapened to make a profit while only approximating the original item, and generally only in appearance, and generally with masssive substitution of plastic parts disguised as original materials.

i even felt this way after examination of the gun, yep, plastic lower trigger housing, yep, plastic front sight assembly etc etc.....and then looked a little harder past expectations and found i was WRONG......it is all metal.....metal and wood.....just as with the guns of childhood....

ok....maybe not the cheap walnut of times past, but entirely useful gunstock use of birch, as used worldwide....and soldered brass barrel and compression tube....metal trigger group housing (aluminum? zamak? who cares on an airgun?!)

the only external use of plastic appears to be the buttplate and the safety crossbolt button.....the only internal use of plastic appears to be a large white delrin or nylon "needle" check valve in the solid brass air chamber, and excellent choice of material for such a use, far better than something brass and with lead or silicon washers subject to repetitive wear....the plastic could even be refaced if desired, but entire rebuild kits for the gun are well under $40...

Accuracy?.....on par with my Anschutz at identical close ranges, and better than many/most .22 rimfires out to 50yds (obviously not as flat shooting, nor near the versatility of a single sight setting, but the accuracy is there).....it will shoot as well as you can hold, and probably do this with one of the two pellet brand/types first bought to try with gun.

No, it ain't as pretty as many firearms....it is, after all, an air rifle of medium/low price, and often considered a (thoroughly lethal) toy, and has always been so...it also is an air rifle your yet unborn grandchildren could be driving tacks with years from now.....it is an incredible amount of quality for the cost....

Don't expect finest fit and finish and sights....it is, after all, a "bb-gun".....but WHAT a "bb-gun"!!! i have gone from holding my nose when purchasing, to holding gun with both clenched greedy hands knowing i will NEVER get rid of this gun....it saw ten times more actual use in two days of eradicating pests, than any gun of my recent memory has seen actual use in hunting or similar pest control the entire time i have owned them....

and no trip to range required for plinking, serious target work, zeroing.....nor the plethora of firearm cleaning supplies, ammo, chemicals, nada....just some air rifle oil every once in a while...and pellets....and miles of smiles....miles and miles of smiles....

wanna see inside one?.....great explanation of how it all works, too....
go to the gatewaytoairguns site and search "benjamin 392 disassembly video" by author limbshaker

or, same video on youtube titled "benjamin 392 disassembly how-to" by author DifferentWayDown

Edited in PS.....have been browsing other reviews, both here and elsewhere.....without a doubt, as with anything, one can buy a total turkey, but they seem relatively rare. One commenter had something coming to pieces inside gun and destroying seals, and can only say there is very little inside gun, a solid threaded two-piece airchamber which screws togther with a standard (what appears to be steel) automotive-intake-type valve inside at one end depressed to vent/fire gun, and a fat plastic cone shaped check valve inside opposite end which allows pumped air inside to build pressure while sealing against outflow...all i can say is must have been a flawed valve or perhaps cast sliding hammer(?even though hammer external to pressure chamber and appears machined from barstock)

As for criticisms of finish?....the majority of gun (barrel/chamber and pump tube) are brass, soldered together, and black paint seems about only option aside from expensive two part epoxies or plating with unobtanium....the rear trigger group housing appears to be aluminum also painted black, as does the cast steel trigger and moving parts.....i used a can of rustoleum matte black spray paint on front (brass) and rear (blued steel) sights for better visibility which hardly shows, and a satin paint would probably be invisible for touch-up or complete repaint of gun....how hard can it be?

Sights seem to be most consistant bugaboo on internet, as for getting gun zeroed within range of adjustable rear sight....considering barrel, pump tube and front sight are all soldered together, and only THEN can rear sight be installed in a fixed position, and only THEN can zero-ability be determined, i would say such problems are about inevitable....

considering half the shooters don't care either because they never touch the sights, or perhaps scope the gun, i would be as Crosman, and simply let folk return a gun which cannot be zeroed....yes, you will be out the shipping apparently.....personally, i think the gun is well made enough as to warrant the extra expense, which after all, likely won't get total cost up to MSRP in first place.....consumers today are so spoiled, expecting first rate goods at discount wholesale prices.....have Crosman testfire and check every gun for zero, and likely most folk couldn't afford the gun.

Personally, my gun needed rear over to max adjustment to right, and zeroed....it is a tack driver...i would happily send it back for whatever work it required....it is a remarkably simple robust interior design and should last and last.....i have only had gun for 2wks and put over 500 pellets downrange....

as for maintenance, a little research showed the Crosman Pellgun oil MSDS as submitted by them to be nothing but rebranded 30W Diesel Marine oil, while other secret recipes rebranded appear to be nothing more than repackaged modern hydraulic oil (possibly synthetic), so i just use Mobil 1 synthetic 10W30 the required 4 drops every 250 shots....

there is no chance of internal rust of brass barrel or pump tube, nor external parts aside from steel trigger, screws, and pump arm, no fouling to remove, no firing residue...a couple of drops of oil is all it needs....how simple can it get, folks?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Air Rifle for Target and Hunting!, September 19, 2007
By 
Robert S. Digh (Key West Florida) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Top notch American made quality, accurate and in the .22 cal, plenty of punch to dispatch small game. Most of the shots I take with it are at or under 25-30 yards. Use high quality pellets for the best accuracy. I have found that most of the reports that some people make about less than great accuracy, really are not taking responsibility for their own inadequate shooting skills. Should last a lifetime too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable, accurate and decent power. Excellent pellet rifle, January 8, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great pellet rifle with a long history behind it! Accurate, reliable and nice craftsmanship. This gun will last a long time and requires very little maintenance. The 22 cal has nice stopping power and can be used for hunting small game and target shooting. There are plenty of articles on the internet praising this gun. This gun has been around for a long time. Your grandfather might even have owned one. Still made with the same great quality and in USA. Will probably out last all your other air guns. The only thing I noticed is the eighth pump is a little difficult, but well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid air gun!, November 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Benjamin 392 Bolt Action Variable Pump Air Rifle (.22) (Sports)
I purchased this gun with a bit of apprehension after reading a lot of reviews about it. Apparently, since Crosman took over Benjamin years ago and shipped manufacturing overseas, the quality as been hit or miss. I guess I got lucky with this one... haven't had problems with it so far. I've put about 300 pellets through it so far... It's pretty accurate, and dishes out a ton of power.

Things to note:
-Gamo Hunter and Gamo Magnums are a tad too wide, and pinch sometimes, throwing fliers around.
-As stated many times before, this thing is HARD TO PUMP. I can't pump past 3 pumps without slapping the handle into the gun (maybe stronger people can handle this better). However, it is not impossible to get 8 pumps into it even though I have a fairly slim build, so don't let this deter you!
-Also, it can get pretty loud when firing a full 8pump shot, so best keep it at 3 if doing indoor shooting and/or if you live in close proximity to neighbors.

------EDIT------

Okay I'm super excited! After hundreds of rounds through this gun I finally figured out the key to perfect shots! I've been getting inconsistent shots... with like 3 in a circle around the bull, one bull, then one flier off to a random direction.

1) Part of it is the pellet... because this is a bolt action, and because there's a little lip upwards between the pellet well and the chamber/barrel, large width pellets (especially large skirts) will get crimped or damaged by sliding the bolt forward.
--I found that Crosman Premiers work very well in this gun, as well as Benjiman and JSB Diablo pellets.

2) Next, this is the key! WHEN YOU GRIP WITH YOUR FOREHAND, GRASP THE REAR OF THE LEVER FIRMLY IN PLACE. I believe holding too far forward or holding behind the lever will allow it to wiggle when the shot is fired, thus throwing off your shot by a random amount in a random direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Benjamin 392 Bolt Action Variable Pump Air Rifle (.22)
$229.99 $157.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.