Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVDs... astonishing bargain!
This set contains all the specials Benny did for Thames between 1969 and 1989. It was from this material that the syndicated Benny Hill Shows which ran in the U.S. were compiled. If you purchase this set, you will have the complete, original & unedited source of all the Benny Hill shows - including lots of bits and pieces that never made it across the pond.
This...
Published on December 25, 2007 by M. J KILLEEN

versus
17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This set is NOT complete as advertised.
The set when you buy all the boxes is missing the Australian episode which is rather famous. Frankly, the box set is as close as you are going to get to a complete set and would deserve ***** stars but the packaging and title is clearly misleading.

Currently, there are no complete sets. The Australian episode is not available in this set (or any other that I...
Published on July 23, 2009 by MNP


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great DVDs... astonishing bargain!, December 25, 2007
By 
M. J KILLEEN (Collingdale, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Benny Hill: The Complete & Unadulterated Megaset 1969-1989 (DVD)
This set contains all the specials Benny did for Thames between 1969 and 1989. It was from this material that the syndicated Benny Hill Shows which ran in the U.S. were compiled. If you purchase this set, you will have the complete, original & unedited source of all the Benny Hill shows - including lots of bits and pieces that never made it across the pond.
This "megaset" is also a terrific bargain. Buying the volumes individually would cost you over $100 more! I recommend it highly for Benny fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the Benny Hill show!, May 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Benny Hill: The Complete & Unadulterated Megaset 1969-1989 (DVD)
I have fond memories of this show from my childhood, so when I saw this box set I had to grab it. And - what can I say? The Benny Hill Show is funny stuff. His songs are clever, and who can forget the trademark chase sequences to the tune of "Yakety Sax"?

Some have said that Hill's humor is sexist - however, it is not demeaning to women at all. Nearly every time Benny himself, in the form of the "dirty old man," randy doctor, et cetera, is the butt of the joke.

The video quality is not the best, and in fact some episodes are in black and white. I'm sure this is because of the quality of the original masters. In any case, this set is quite watchable. Also, note that it includes the complete run of shows he did for Thames TV, which are the ones that were repackaged for overseas markets, but not the preceding BBC shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WARNING! - NO SUBTITLES!, June 19, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Benny Hill: The Complete & Unadulterated Megaset 1969-1989 (DVD)
The Benny Hill collection is great but it is sometimes very difficult to understand waht is being said despite the fact that they are all speaking English. Keep in mind that this is not American English and many of the jokes may be missed completely if you do not listen closely. Subtitles would have helped greatly and I am very surprised that A&E did not include them in this collection. Other than that, this set is great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection., December 29, 2008
By 
Paul (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Benny Hill: The Complete & Unadulterated Megaset 1969-1989 (DVD)
I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my stepfather. The first DVD was playing in the living room about 14 seconds after the wrapping was torn off. So many of the sketches are timeless and universally funny. We sat around for about an hour while laughing like crazy.

What's great about the Benny Hill DVD set is that it's all about remembering and appreciating the comedy sketches of legend. Leave any concerns of 1080p and 7.1 surround sound at the door and just enjoy the show.

Some other notes:
There seem to be two sets of Benny Hill DVD's on Amazon. This is the one that hasn't been sterilized to some ridiculous post Janet Jackson Superbowl level of boring.

There are a couple sketches that will not make any sense because they're making jokes about stuff specific to English pop-culture of the time. Thankfully the DVD is sectioned off per skit so you can just skip it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This set is NOT complete as advertised., July 23, 2009
This review is from: Benny Hill: The Complete & Unadulterated Megaset 1969-1989 (DVD)
The set when you buy all the boxes is missing the Australian episode which is rather famous. Frankly, the box set is as close as you are going to get to a complete set and would deserve ***** stars but the packaging and title is clearly misleading.

Currently, there are no complete sets. The Australian episode is not available in this set (or any other that I know of).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Greatest, December 11, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Benny Hill: The Complete & Unadulterated Megaset 1969-1989 (DVD)
Benny is one of the greatest comedians. No product quality issues to report. The discs are the same as the individual sets. The biography episode is a plus. I own the 2007 set. The new one appears to be the same but in different packaging. Contains the full 20-year Thames span. A must have for Benny fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God! I Miss Benny!, February 13, 2008
By 
Jeremy (Washington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Benny Hill: The Complete & Unadulterated Megaset 1969-1989 (DVD)
As comics come, Benny was pure, simple, and damn funny. I miss him, but this set will fill the gap. He was the most genuine comic of his time. And you can tell from watching this complete set that he had a beautiful sense of humor about his life, and the world around him.

Thanks Benny, we'll keep laughing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful British Humor!, January 11, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Benny Hill: The Complete & Unadulterated Megaset 1969-1989 (DVD)
Benny Hill was definitely the King of British Comedy of his time and without question, must have inspired the Monty Python group. His self-deprecating and impish style can be compared to no one else. Some people might consider him sexist, but he was actually pointing fun at the male of the species who first goes after the woman, but ends up being very unhappily chased by her, instead. The films present a wonderful time trip to an era of wide lapels, wide ties, bell bottom trousers, short mini skirts and long boots on a bevy of lovely young ladies. A very enjoyable burlesque romp through the past! My wife and I both love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Benny Hill, December 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Benny Hill: The Complete & Unadulterated Megaset 1969-1989 (DVD)
Bought as a Christmas present for my husband, who is a fan. Christmas day he was watching and laughing. Always a fan of humor that's a
little off and suggestively naughty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gary Hoyt, November 19, 2009
By 
Gary Hoyt (Boulevard, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Benny Hill: The Complete & Unadulterated Megaset 1969-1989 (DVD)
A well done production except the words (audio) are very hard, sometimes impossible to understand. There is no provision for closed captioning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Benny Hill: The Complete & Unadulterated Megaset 1969-1989
$229.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.