Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Benny Hill Complete and Unadulterated - The Hill's Angels Years, Set Four (1978-1981)
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars29
5 star
86%
4 star
14%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 26, 2006
As a Brit who followed Benny's great TV shows in the 1970s and 1980s, it pains me to see how the Great Man is so poorly treated by the country that he brought so much laughter to.

No reruns on TV's UK Gold... no anniversary tributes... no specials celebrating his fantastic humour... nothing. Not even this DVD set, which is only available in the USA! It's as if the whole establishment is ashamed of him.

And why? Because he had a few scantily-clad girls in his shows.

Quite why this is sneered at with such venom by today's politically correct critics is beyond me - to me it's no worse than any of the vile so-called humour peddled by the likes of Julian Clary, Graham Norton, Ben Elton, Eddie Izzard and a whole host of current 'right on' so-called comedians, who aren't fit to lick Benny's boots.

There's nothing wrong with a bit of wholesome heterosexual titillation - in fact, in this day and age it's positively refreshing.

So a huge thank you to A&E from one very grateful Brit for releasing every one of the Great Man's shows, in full, unedited, and with no adverts either! Absolutely fantastic top drawer laugh-out-loud comedy, delivered with that famous cheeky twinkle in Benny's eye. A gold-topped DVD set!
44 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2005
This was when Benny and his gang had truly hit their stride and decided to go into overdrive with the cheeky humor. Thank goodness they brought in Hill's Angels to give his gang of elder comics something worthy of being dirty old men over. I've been trying to watch these episodes on BBCAmerica, but they butcher them up. There's no need to feel the mercy of a bunch of TV programmers - get your Benny Hill uncut and not ready to be passed off as family friendly.

So sing along with Benny's wicked tales and follow his lusty leer. This is a series worth putting on your shelf.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2006
Yes it is Benny the Great, and "not a lot of people know that." Benny Hill was one of the greatest comedians of the 20th century and this DVD set showcases some of his best work. It includes classics such as "Wonder Gran v. Dracula" and "Friday Night Fever." I remember watching these episodes on cable and laughing my head off. When I saw these DVDs coming out, I made sure to pre-order as soon as I could. Don't listen to the detractors and help yourself to a dose of Benny today.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2006
I grew up watching these shows having always been a fan of British humor. Monty Python shows and films are still some of my favorite. Benny's humor is a bit racey but now that we've gotten to the "Hill's Angels" years, it's interesting to see the documentary from many former "Angels" and hear there take on the show and it's critics. They felt the men came out looking stupid; or someway or another, were the loosers.

Critics were always harsh on this style of "sexist" humor but I feel it's far more innocent than some of the trash out there today, and I'm not talking about porn or cable shows but regular TV. Tell me Desperate Housewives or I'll bet many soap-operas aren't far worse than any cheeky humor from this kind, baby-faced British treasure.

Benny still makes me laugh...

-D3
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2006
I love Benny Hill. I can't believe that every time I watch the shows I find them funnier and funnier. I have seen the 4 DVD sets and I can't tell which one is the best. Benny Hill is truly a genius and you can see it through his sketches, songs, silent mini-movies, bloopers and more. This set is really good indeed, one of my favourites. I can't wait to have the next set.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2006
Kudos' to British television and Benny Hill for pushing the naughty button. Set four offers more cheeky British humor and the beautiful hill's angels. The video transfers are well done and the audio is clean & crisp. Once again A&E Home video has done a fantastic job with this set. British audiences have always known what a comedic talent they had in Benny Hill, but I really never appreciated his brand of humor until now. With the way everything has to be politically correct, many of the Benny Hill sketches wouldn't make it to air on regular television today. I've really enjoyed every minute of this hilarious three disc set. Thanks Benny !!

DVD Features Include:
*I Was a Hill's Angel Featurette
*The Benny Hill Cheeky Challenge Trivia Quiz #4
*Interactive Menus
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2006
This fourth installment of Benny Hill The Early Years focuses on the Hill Angels skits and musical numbers.The best skits are the Wondengran Vs Dracula and Dr.Jackal and Mr Hyde(a spoof of Wonder Woman,Saturday Night Fever,A Tribute to the Low Tidmarsh Fire Brigade,Big Poppa,The 3 Musketters Man Wanted and many more specially the fast skits.Also included is a featurette with some of the Hills Angels talking about their experience on the show best moments and sketches and also about Benny how he was,rehersals and much more.I'm waiting to see next installment.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
Perfect gift for my dad who has everything and I don't know what else to get him however he is a long time Benny Hill fan. I got it for him for his birthday and he couldn't wait to watch it. I can't tell you exactly what the episodes were about because. . . well. . I didn't watch it however my dad loved it and still talks about this dvd today. I keep adding to his collection and it sure beats buying him socks and shirts for his birthday and makes gift giving for him much easier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
Yeah, I'm homesick now for the past. I miss this guy's corny jokes and the amazing women he acted so inappropriately with. These discs are a little difficult at times to get playing in my LG Blu-Ray/DVD writer/player, for some reason, but once they're playing, they're fine. The image resolution is very good, but the sound at times seems sort of washed out, making it hard to understand some of the dialogue. But it's rare enough to not be that much a bother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2013
It was so much fun sitting down with my husband and watching Benny Hill old shows. We refuse to have cable at our vacation home instead we have chosen to purchase dvd's to watch and we love all the old shows
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse