Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!
The world lost a real gem of a writer when Stan Berenstain passed on November 29. Together, Berenstain and his wife, Jan, and eventually their two sons, created books featuring lovable but flawed characters who tackle just about every real issue that faces families.

This book is a great example. Almost all parents are familiar with the difficulty that kids...
Published on December 14, 2005 by Megan Romer

versus
66 of 84 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chores are NOT appropriate punishment for bad manners . . .
My 4-year-old son LOVED The Berenstain Bears' New Baby and it was a big help in preparing for the arrival of his baby sister. So when we were struggling with remembering manners, I bought this book, certain that it would help. However, I ended up disagreeing with the approach to correcting bad or forgotten manners and rude behavior. This book outlined specific chores...
Published on April 9, 1998 by kclark@acad.com


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, December 14, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners (Paperback)
The world lost a real gem of a writer when Stan Berenstain passed on November 29. Together, Berenstain and his wife, Jan, and eventually their two sons, created books featuring lovable but flawed characters who tackle just about every real issue that faces families.

This book is a great example. Almost all parents are familiar with the difficulty that kids have in learning and practicing good manners, and often have a tough time in teaching kids how to be polite. One of the best things about this book is that it's not just the kids who are the naughty ones, Papa Bear has some rudeness problems, and even Mama Bear succumbs to an issue at one point. It's great for kids to learn that manners are a lifelong skill that will always take a little bit of practice. This book is a wonderful place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book for manners, December 28, 2005
By 
csm (The great Midwest!) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners (Paperback)
We love this book in our house. It teaches what happens when a home runs amuck with bad manners. Shoving, name calling, blaming, throwing food, you name it, the bears have it and mama is tired of it. So, she puts together the bear family manners plan and if they forget them, then they have certain chores they have to do as reminders. Now, I agree with the other reviewer that chores as a punishment isn't exactly the best approach, but when they're chores that normally are not pleasant (such as cleaning up after an animal's waste) and have to be divided equally, then I can see the punishment factor coming into play there as being appropriate. I've emptied cat boxes most of my life and I still don't enjoy doing it so I can see that as being an effective punishment for bad manners.

Anyway, that said, the cubs go way overboard in being nice to one another. So much so that it's sickening and their goal is to have mama cancel the whole thing and let them go back to being ridiculous. However, mama doesn't go back and they learn to enjoy each other and treat each other with respect. Papa, however, learns the lesson the hard way and does many chores. But, when he runs into another car and a very angry bear gets out, he remembers his manners and a potentially ugly situation was avoided just by using good manners.

This book has been read quite a bit in our house and has had a wonderful effect. I sincerely highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 84 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Chores are NOT appropriate punishment for bad manners . . ., April 9, 1998
By 
kclark@acad.com (San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners (Paperback)
My 4-year-old son LOVED The Berenstain Bears' New Baby and it was a big help in preparing for the arrival of his baby sister. So when we were struggling with remembering manners, I bought this book, certain that it would help. However, I ended up disagreeing with the approach to correcting bad or forgotten manners and rude behavior. This book outlined specific chores as punishments for various offenses. As parents, we have learned that allowing children to help around the house with things like sweeping, taking out the garbage, and helping Mommy empty the dishwasher (the plastic stuff!) is very empowering and makes kids feel like they can contribute to the household and they enjoy being part of the "family team" (hopefully this will continue into their teens since we've started them as toddlers!). Also, I learned that I should probably read through any new book by myself at least once before sitting down to read it to my children (parents can learn too!). Just a thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "An Educating Book", February 25, 2001
By 
Tara Bond (Wyoming, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners (Paperback)
The story "The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners" by Stan and Jan Berenstain is a very educating book. There are two specific reasons for why it is educating. It teaches children a lesson and it helps parents. The first reason for why this story is an educating book is because it teaches children a lesson. It teaches them that if you don't follow the rules or do what's polite, there are consequences. In the story brother and sister bear learn to be polite after getting a certain punishment every time they said or did something rude and discourtious. The other reason is that the story helps parents. Parents can not only read this to their children to entertain them but can at the same time get ideas on how to teach their children about remembering their manners and being polite. They can take what they've read from the book and apply it to their own home life.In conclusion, this story is very educational. It should be read to all young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prince Charles wanna-be, December 18, 2003
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners (Paperback)
This book was an excellent influence on my child's rude behavior. My son, (being a huge fan of this line of books) has gone from a barnyard animal to a Prince Charles wanna-be. He now thinks twice before belching in public, he asks to excuse himself from the kitchen table, the list goes on and on. Thank you Jan Berenstain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Say It's Not So! The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners?, August 12, 2007
This review is from: The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners (Paperback)
In my opinion, this is THE BEST Berenstain Bears book we have read. It not only does a very good job describing what good manners are, but also why not having them is bad.

The book begins with the cubs displaying some downright familiar examples of bad manners. There is a lack of 'please' and 'thank you' and 'I'm sorry' which leads to the usual sort of familial squabbling. Seeing what's going on, Mama and Papa make a gentle attempt to push the family back on track; but nothing works until Mama creates a chart with a penalty scheme to help everyone 'remember' what appropriate behavior is.

The reaction to the chart is not all that surprising. Brother and Sister Bear think the penalties are unfair. Which is when they decide to undermine Mama's efforts by being so 'super polite' that she will get "fed up and call the whole thing off!" [Ha!] Of course, that doesn't work as we all know that Good Manners lead to harmony and happiness and that you can't really overdo it.

Five Stars. In my opinion this is as good as the Berenstain Bears books get. The message of Good Manners is important, the examples good, and the story is told at just the right level. Okay Read-Aloud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Berenstein Bears Forgot Their Manners, September 24, 2003
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners (Paperback)
The Book the berenstein bears forget their manners is about brother, sister, and papa bear. They slowly forget about what they are doing. Everything goes wrong, brother and sister fighting. Papa Bear Yelling telling them to stop. Mama Bear is getting mad and starts a new manners plan. This books lesson is to always be grateful with you got, and be respectful. I think the age level on this book is the ages 4-7. I really like this book it teaches kids manners and what do, and what not to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book and Good Lesson but unfavorable portrayal of Dads, January 28, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Zurich, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book is helpful to facilitate the introduction of rules to cope with bad manners and to encourage good manners. However, what I do not like is the unfavorable portrayal of Dads in this story (as also in Too Much TV). Sadly Dads seem z
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teachable moments, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners (Paperback)
This book made quite an impression on my 3 yr. old granddaughter. She is now 4 and is very polite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift for emerging readers!, January 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners (Paperback)
This was a gift for our grandchild and she read it and the other 3 books purchased before she left our house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners
The Berenstain Bears Forget Their Manners by Stan Berenstain (Paperback - August 17, 1985)
$3.99 $3.59
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.