Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical
It makes a great bait board and for cleaning fish, very light but metal clamp needs to be rinsed and wiped clean it will rust fast.
Published on February 11, 2013 by Joe

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very questionable design, no improvement over a normal cutting board.
I bought this board expecting something different, and somewhat more practical. What I got was a hollow plastic board with a clamp on one end. Why hollow? Maybe someone thought a lightweight fillet board would be more convenient, but it seriously harms its usability. It can slide around on a table or countertop because there's very little traction with the surface...
Published 5 months ago by Maxwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Practical, February 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Berkley Fillet Board with Built in Ruler (Sports)
It makes a great bait board and for cleaning fish, very light but metal clamp needs to be rinsed and wiped clean it will rust fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very questionable design, no improvement over a normal cutting board., September 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Berkley Fillet Board with Built in Ruler (Sports)
I bought this board expecting something different, and somewhat more practical. What I got was a hollow plastic board with a clamp on one end. Why hollow? Maybe someone thought a lightweight fillet board would be more convenient, but it seriously harms its usability. It can slide around on a table or countertop because there's very little traction with the surface underneath and little mass in itself. It's almost flimsy in its own right; being soft and flexible is not an asset in something that's supposed to support the fish underneath your very sharp fillet knife.

Additionally, I have a hard time understanding how the clamp on this board is supposed to be useful. It can just about grasp a fish's tail, but no filleting technique I've seen involves cutting from the tail up. Don't even consider trying to fit the head in there; I couldn't even do it with an 8-inch bluegill.

I must express my confusion for this kind of lack of consideration for the user. Even an old-fashioned wooden cutting board would be preferable for the specific purpose this thing was made for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slides on counter top, July 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Berkley Fillet Board with Built in Ruler (Sports)
If it had rubber tabs on the four corners it would stop it from sliding/moving around when I scale and gut the fish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is a pretty terrible fillet board, May 2, 2014
By 
AndyB (Redding, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Berkley Fillet Board with Built in Ruler (Sports)
I don't understand Berkley sometimes. Some of their products seem pretty good. Others are awful. This is one of the awful ones.

The clamp only open about an inch. Not even big enough for a 12 inch trout's head. I had to bend the handle end of the clamp with pliers to get it open farther. (and now I can't return it). Then I found the other problem. The plastic is slippery. The board slips around on most surfaces and the fish slides around on the board.

I truly hate this product, but I can't return it because I modified it. I put it in the same category as the completely useless "hook pliers" I got from Berkley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars crappie fisher, July 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Berkley Fillet Board with Built in Ruler (Sports)
the clamp only opens less than an inch meaning U can only fillet small 5 inch bluegills,the big ten to
12 inch crappies cant fit under clamp as the clamp wont open up wide enough to put the head in
so its useless to clean bigger fish.and it doesn't need all the grooves in the plastic board, it would be better just flat, sorry I bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor design, might send it, May 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Berkley Fillet Board with Built in Ruler (Sports)
Has hollow bottom unlike the Rapala board. As this is the case, I cannot add non-slip adhesive feet to keep Berkley board from sliding across counter.

Poor design, might send it back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of all, August 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Berkley Fillet Board with Built in Ruler (Sports)
What an improvement to have this fillet board to clean fish. Instead of fish sliding or flipping all around the kitchen, the firm grim holds the fish firmly in place while you clean and fillet your catch. Best of all, before you begin using it, you can measure your prize catch and have bragging rights. Having this immensely improved the messy process of trout cleaning. It does not do the work for you, but it sure makes it easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good idea, February 11, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Berkley Fillet Board with Built in Ruler (Sports)
Bought this as a present for a neigbor friend in the Florida Keys. We have a cutting board that we made using a similar clamp and a homemade board so he was very impressed wiht the idea. We were just a little disappointed that this one was as lightweight and tended to slide around when in use. For the money and it's intended purpose it was a good buy, but we will defintely suggest that he mount it on a hard surface.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Berkley Fillet Board with Built in Ruler (Sports)
Works well, frees my hands, less chance of getting nicked or cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, once it got here....., January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Berkley Fillet Board with Built in Ruler (Sports)
This is great, and exactly what i wanted, however, it took a LLOOOOOOOONG time to get here. It was supposed to be a Christmas present, and didn't get here until 2 weeks later, but it is just what I needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Berkley Fillet Board with Built in Ruler
$10.99 $7.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.