Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Mary Carpenter Headphones for Everyone Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Grocery Mother's Day Gifts Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer seeso seeso seeso  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars18
5 star
72%
4 star
28%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$17.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon September 11, 2000
Brett delivers another book that is richly illustrated and holds the attention of young children.
The story is a simple tale of a bear and his band on their way to a concert. The wagon gets stuck and a menagerie of creatures tries to get them out of their rut. It introduces a number of different animals, which aided our two year old in identifying about a dozen of the "must know" four legged creatures.
The illustrations accompanying Brett's story are terriffic, with vivid colors and rich detail. Each page also has sidebars that foreshadow what's coming next and what has just happened. This prooves to be an excellent technique to keep youngsters in tune with the tale.
My children like it, almost as much as Brett's other book, "The Mitten." A good purchase for the 2-6 year old set.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 1998
My daughter and I love to read and re-read this picture book, looking at all the humorous moments of Berlioz and his Bear Band's trip to a town dance and the side pictures of other animal couples journeying to the celebration. We keep this beautifully illustrated book on display on our living room book case. We have all of Jan Brett's books.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
I am a general music teacher and love to read this book to my younger students usually first or second grade. It is good for recalling and sequencing. It also teaches what an encore is and some of the instruments especially the bass. The encore tells of how Berlioz performs The Flight of the Bumble Bee by Rimsky-Korsakov. I then go ahead and play the music of Flight of the Bumble Bee as program music. The kids love the story and The Flight of the Bumble Bee music. It is a great lesson for the beginning of the year.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2004
This is a cute little story. Berlioz is late for a concert and having trouble with his double bass to boot (a strange and unwanted buzzing noise accompanies his playing). The bandwagon gets stuck in a pot hole and the draft donkey just won't budge. A series of animals in increasing order of size and strength--from a rooster to an ox--think they are the solution, but all fail to move the donkey. In a surprising twist we discover the source of Berlioz' bass's buzzing and the donkey suddenly finds motivation. As a result, they make it on time and we learn that the ability to effect change does not always depend on size and strength. Very nicely illustrated. Each lavish page is framed with marginal drawings which show you the country folk gathering at the village in preparation for Berlioz' concert. This is a nice touch and heightens the drama. There's something almost Aesopian about this delightful book. Highly recommended; a great bed-time story.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2015
Fine story with the best of illustrating. One could talk about the illustations for says or even weeks. The book might have devoted a few lines on who Hector Berlioz, and Rimski-Korsakov were and what the Flight of the Bumblebee is? The story is actually the least important aspect. A bee is in a double base and emeges to get the musicians to their concert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2004
My 5 year-old daughter loves this book. Not only are the illustrations fascinating and detailed as in all of Brett's books, but the story is very charming and funny. The surprise ending will make you and your child giggle for certain.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2000
Some of my students over the years have found the illustrations a bit too busy, but they love the story of the bear and his musical friends.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2013
great story as well as illustrations, one that has a moral for children and would be a great addition to anyones library
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon March 31, 2007
I've never heard the name Berlioz before reading this book. Oh well, that's no big deal. Berlioz proves to be a likeable guy, even though he doesn't really do anything. He doesn't come up with a great plan to save the day or anything. In fact, he CAUSES the conflict of the story. You see, he's all worried about the performance he and his band have to give and he's not paying attention to the road. He's lucky he doesn't run a stop sign and get hit by a train. Instead he get stuck in a pothole. A bunch of folks offer to help pull him out but no one succeeds. Then a little bee ends up saving the day. And that seems to be the story of Berlioz the Bear.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 4, 2004
This is another fun book that my toddlers love to read ~~ ok, have mom read to them. This one is fun to read ~~ with a band of traveling bears. They are getting ready to play at a ball in a nearby town when their wagon hits a hole in the ground and a wheel gets stuck ~~ then their donkey decides to sit. A bunch of animals offer to help but none of them were strong enough to get the wagon of bears out of the hole. Till an angry bumblebee flies out of one of the instruments and stings the donkey into action.
How clever is that! If my toddlers were older, I know they would laugh with glee. I did!
This is another book to add to your collection of Jan Brett's books ~~ she's a guarantee when it comes to entertaining children and their parents with beautifully illustrated books and wonderful storylines.
2-4-04
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.