Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


127 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bernstein's final word on his beloved musical... Fine DVD from Deutsche Grammophon
This is the historic concert performance of the final operatic version of Bernstein's Candide. It was recorded on December 13, 1989 at the Barbican Centre, with Leonard Bernstein conducting the London Symphony Orchestra and Chorus, with a stellar cast of operatic stars gracing the solo parts. The programme lasts a full 2hrs 27 mins. It marks the end of a long and tortured...
Published on November 26, 2006 by dooby

versus
6 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Smug Bernstein At His Worst
Rarely, but once in a great while, we hear of a father murdering his children and then killing himself. Surely, it must be hard to be old and fat and sick and gay. How can we otherwise explain this mess that Bernstein had created a year before he died? It's sad enough to make one cry what he's done to his child in this performance. Nobody, including Bernstein, ever...
Published on February 18, 2012 by Michael Miano


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Treat for the eyes and eyes, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bernstein: Candide (DVD)
Wonderful performances from my favourite musician and sadly, almost his final one. A disc to treasure and enjoy time after time.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bernstein: Candide (DVD)
I had this recording on a cassette set and loved it. Love it on DVD although I wish they would have had wide screen back then and purchased the CD set also which is the same as the cassette set which is what was hoping for. How could I not be pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bernstein: Candide (DVD)
If you like Candide, Lenny, and great singing, you must have this recording; it is the last major event of his life and amazes with how good he and his music were, and still are with this great recorded evert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SOMETHING TO SEE BEFORE YOU DIE., August 21, 2013
By 
Osvaldo O. Duarte (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bernstein: Candide (DVD)
ASIN:B0007WFXZI Leonard Bernstein's Candide (Great Performances)

Candide is one of the greatest works from Leonard Bernstain. In addition to the value of the play itself one thing that increase the value of this DVD is that the political plot of the play can be easely identified
with recent historical occurences like the Castrism in Cuba or the McCartysm in the United States.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great musical!, June 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bernstein: Candide (DVD)
I perfect condition as well. Thanks! A friend recommended this DVD and it's excellent. I've loaned it to a friend who is a big fan of Bernstein's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bernstein at his best, August 28, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bernstein at his best. There are a few good and several mediocre Candides available. This is the one the composer was proud of. And our favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A welcome addition to my library, October 23, 2013
By 
I. Zaneres (west midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bernstein: Candide (DVD)
I have heard the overture many times in concert, so when I saw this production whilst browsing I jumped at the chance.
Bernstein gives an opening introduction, conducts, and occasionally interjects with anecdotes.
The production is a simple stage performance with the artists singing from scores.
Adolph Green is Dr Pangloss, the narrator and linkman, he does a good job.
The strong cast includes the excellent Jerry Hadley, the delightful June Anderson and Christa Ludwig. They are ably supported by Della Jones and Kurt Ollman.
The soloists are in evening dress and fine gowns according to gender.
There is however certain amount of interaction.
Highlight of the show is June Anderson singing Glitter and be gay.
I also have the Lincoln centre version with Paul Groves. It is difficult to compare the two as they have a different approach, with the Paul Grove being a semi staged version, and is great fun. I suggest you have both versions then you cant go wrong.
The singers are mainly on a par except that June Anderson sings better than Kristen Chenoweth, but what fun Chenowith is! Patti Lupone has a show type of voice whilst Christa Ludwig is operatic.
The pamphlet is glossy with timings and synopsis in a number of languages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How write this opera is in the scheme of life!, September 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bernstein: Candide (DVD)
Hat's off to Leonard!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Candide candidly candy, January 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Bernstein: Candide (DVD)
Candide conducted by Bernstein, his 35 year old baby, it doesn't get any better. Musically, this Candide doesn't compare with the Broadway one. Don't waste your time and/or money on the latter, get this gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 39 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Smug Bernstein At His Worst, February 18, 2012
By 
Michael Miano (Middleport, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bernstein: Candide (DVD)
Rarely, but once in a great while, we hear of a father murdering his children and then killing himself. Surely, it must be hard to be old and fat and sick and gay. How can we otherwise explain this mess that Bernstein had created a year before he died? It's sad enough to make one cry what he's done to his child in this performance. Nobody, including Bernstein, ever thought that "Candide" was a grand opera. So, why the deathly slow tempi here? Is it REALLY necessary to create such a tedious two and a half hours in order to stay true to Voltaire? The spirit of "Candide" is joy mingled with the energetic stupidity of innocent youth. That spirit is captured in the lyrics and music removed from the Bernstein "Candide" trunk. But, just as surely, there was included in the trunk's contents a lot of chaff amongst the wheat. Let's omit, if you please, "Universal Good," "Nothing More Than This," "Money, Money, Money," "The Kings' Barcarolle," "Words, Words, Words," and "Westphalia"...as well as (long-time Bernstein friend) Adolph Green, if possible, and you've got a spicy operetta on your hands, as many others recognized since 1956 who were smarter than Bernstein had at last (alas) become.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Bernstein: Candide
Bernstein: Candide by Humphrey Burton (DVD - 2006)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.