Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A few laughts
Well, hello folks. This is my first Amazon review. I own this album. It's not really a five star album but it isn't a 1 star album either. It's a budget entry to get people into "The Velvet Fog". I'm not a fan of early Torme. His voice is too sweet and he really learns to read and interpret a lyric later in life. That said, if you need a starting place, here is is. The...
Published on January 3, 2008 by David A. Barrios

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ...AND ALL THAT JAZZ
A FAN OF MEL'S VOICE "THE VELVET FOG". HOWEVER; THE MUSIC IS TOO STRIDENT FOR ME.. THAT'S JAZZ SOME WOULD SAY.
IF YOU LOVE JAZZ GO FOR IT.
Published 1 month ago by Lynn L. Brown


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A few laughts, January 3, 2008
Well, hello folks. This is my first Amazon review. I own this album. It's not really a five star album but it isn't a 1 star album either. It's a budget entry to get people into "The Velvet Fog". I'm not a fan of early Torme. His voice is too sweet and he really learns to read and interpret a lyric later in life. That said, if you need a starting place, here is is. The only reason I rate this album 5 stars is to even out the score. I gotta admit; the other fella wrote a hell of a funny review. I almost sure it's in jest. But this album isn't worth 1 star. So here I am to correct that error.

For the real goods, listen to Mel Torme with George Shearing. Any of those albums is WELL worth listening to and are almost as impressive as Tony Bennett's great work with Bill Evans in the mid 1970's.

That's all folks. Good night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ...AND ALL THAT JAZZ, June 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A FAN OF MEL'S VOICE "THE VELVET FOG". HOWEVER; THE MUSIC IS TOO STRIDENT FOR ME.. THAT'S JAZZ SOME WOULD SAY.
IF YOU LOVE JAZZ GO FOR IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, November 16, 2013
I am a big fan of Mel Torme; have been for years. The music selections on this CD are good; however, the audio quality is appalling. Not a fitting tribute to a super talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mel torme, October 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Going through a "listen to old classics" time of my life and this certainly fits the bill. Mel Torme had one of the smoothest listening voices ever and I'm thoroughly enjoying having this as part of my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic early jazz, January 30, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wish there were more of Torme's original works on the disc, but this is classical Mel Torme--smooth voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Antimusic, December 24, 2007
The Velvet Frog indeed. This "Night Court"-lovin', chin-happy hotel clerk somehow slept or blackmailed his way to the top of the vaudeville nutbin. And there he sat, munching on piles of nougat lip paste. As if he had sat down one day as a young man after a long, arduous, internal journey to discover how best to send music to its grave and decided, that's it! I'll sing in this really grating, lilting manner! That'll do the trick. And braindead, shock therapy patients, so many nobody realized how many people had lobotomies in America at the time, but now they're back on the streets where they belong -- it was a real eyeopener indeed. So that was a good thing, at least. Go, idiots! Oh, I mean to say that these mall zombies came out of the woodwork to buy Mel Torme albums, but as they lived 24/7 in locked, padded cells, it was unknown at the time. At press time, the only people who willingly listen to this calamity are the retrochic and buzzards. Military scientists use this album at Guantanamo, you know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Best Of/20th Century
Best Of/20th Century by Mel Tormé
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.