Best Behavior and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$0.01
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: This is a very good copy with slight wear and does not include a dust jacket;
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Best Behavior Paperback – March 3, 2011


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, March 3, 2011
$0.01
Best%20Books%20of%202014
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 164 pages
  • Publisher: Civil Coping Mechanisms (March 3, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0984603778
  • ISBN-13: 978-0984603770
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 0.4 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,731,720 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Noah Cicero is the author of The Human War (Fugue State Press, 2003), The Condemned (Six Gallery Press, 2006), Burning Babies (Parlor Press, 2006), Treatise (A-Head Publishing, 2008), and The Insurgent (Blatt, 2010). Since its release, The Human War has become a favorite of the literary underground and is being adapted to film. BEST BEHAVIOR is his sixth novel.

More About the Author

BIO: Noah Cicero is 32-years-old and has lived in Seongnam, Korea for the past year teaching English. He has several books coming out over the course of the next two years from Lazy Fascist Press, The Collected Works Volume 1 and 2 and a new novel called "Go to work and do your job. Care for your children. Pay your bills. Obey The Law. Buy products." He has many short stories and poems published at 3AM Magazine, Metazen, Amphibi.us and many other places.

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 16 customer reviews
I like the characters/dialogue a lot.
Jordan Castro
I loved reading the book and felt moved and alert at the end.
S. J. Adams-florou
It's just solid writing that is Zen in its simplicity.
Jeremy

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Tony O. on April 11, 2011
Format: Paperback
I read this book very quickly. I couldn't put it down.

In Best Behavior, a young man from a poor city visits NYC to do some things. He goes to parties, drinks, eats fried chicken, has sex, and feels alienated.

I like the way Noah Cicero writes. I recommend reading Best Behavior, as well as his first book, The Human War.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By monkey friend on April 16, 2011
Format: Paperback
this is a very good book that is sad and funny and terrifying in the way that one can be terrified by the overwhelming absurdity of life. the youngstown scenes are bleak and heart-wrenching as only the decaying rust belt can be. when the main character travels to new york, cicero makes the two places seem like they're populated by two different species and he is there serving as an emissary. or maybe new york is some weird dream sequence, and youngstown is reality. as always, the best parts are the quick-paced quirky dialogue exchanges between the characters.
this is one of my favorite noah cicero books. my other favorite is burning babies. noah cicero writes awesome books with aliterated B titles. if noah cicero ever writes a book called "brazen brash brawny bisons bickering badly" it would be so awesome, the planet would crack in half.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By S. J. Adams-florou on May 7, 2011
Format: Paperback
Best Behavior is a funny and intelligent novel about being a young American, struggling.

I loved reading the book and felt moved and alert at the end. I nearly cried a lot of times, which is unusual for me. I found the warmth and tenderness that the main character feels toward nearly all of the other characters very endearing. I found his tolerance and empathy to be exemplary.

All that I really want to say in this review is that the novel is worth your money, and is worth your time. It is better, I think, than most other books that most people will read this year, depending on taste and number of books read.

Noah Cicero seems to understand human beings.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By J. Peterson on April 25, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was entertaining and had thoughtful sections. It was easy to relate to and I feel it captures very well how people these days are. I really liked the discussion between characters. I read this book in spurts and it was nice to wind down at the end of the day reading this.
It's a good book you should buy it and read it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Becky McMillion on April 13, 2011
Format: Paperback
Cicero is taking it to a new level with Best Behavior. If you love Cicero, then you'll love this book. This book is ALIVE.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is my favorite Cicero book. It's not a 'multilayered extravaganza', nor is it a 'mosaic novel of different American cultures' or any of that crap that a book critic would ordinarily dream up. It's just solid writing that is Zen in its simplicity.

We see many different facets of American behavior, each one equally as stunning as the next in its own way. We have Amanda crying as she writes checks to pay the bills. Fresh from earning a Masters Degree, she has emerged as a force in the white collar class, and the epiphany of her newfound responsibilities is enough to intimidate her as she realizes she grew up around mostly blue collar influence.

Then we have the old lady on the bus as Benny Baradat travels to New York for a photoshoot/interview feature for a popular alternative magazine. She regales Benny with stories of how picaresque and ideal her life once was until her husband, the love of her life died and she and her daughters 'dropped out' to do drugs to ease their pain. She's so sex starved that out of sympathy, Benny offers to finger her on the bus. The beautiful thing is that he follows through on his promise, despite the fact that he's not remotely attracted to her. A sad old woman and a sad young man, connecting through pleasureless sex is such an alien panacea for sorrow, but it works beautifully on the page.

There's The Big Smooth, a man with a taste for whiskey and a temper to match who has plenty to go around in both the height and weight department, but whom everyone loves, like one of those 'characters around town' which we've all known at one time or another.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
For a book concerned with disconnection and living daily in a world that seems to have had the life drained out of it, Cicero brings out some surprisingly beautiful moments. Yeah, our world is crushed at the same time that is capable of functioning endlessly that way. No, we have no idea what to do about it or perhaps even capability to do anything. However, Cicero finds a human approach within a life lived in such a dehumanized environment. There are some wonderful images and some absolutely dynamite lines. I definitely dug the book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Jordan Castro on December 21, 2012
Format: Paperback
Best Behavior is an interesting, intelligent, and frequently hilarious novel written from the perspective of a writer from Ohio. The main character visits New York City, hangs out with other writers, has sex, does things in Ohio, and more. Cicero's commentary on art/the culture that surrounds art seems unique - even brave at times - and speaks to a certain part of me, I think, that exists in the context of social "scenes" or groups of people or thinking about/being aware of those things while alone and perceiving myself in the context of them or something. Maybe alienaton, or being from/living in Ohio. Not sure what I'm trying to say.

I like the characters/dialogue a lot. The way Cicero writes seems funny to me, especially the way he describes people. I've read this book ~3 times and plan on reading it more in the future.

Recommended for fans of William Burroughs, Charles Bukowski, Jack Kerouac, and/or Bret Easton Ellis.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again