Best Behavior and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Trade in your item
Get a $0.48
Gift Card.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Best Behavior Paperback – March 3, 2011


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from Collectible from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, March 3, 2011
$80.11 $14.36

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for FREE. Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Big Spring Books
Editors' Picks in Spring Releases
Ready for some fresh reads? Browse our picks for Big Spring Books to please all kinds of readers.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 164 pages
  • Publisher: Civil Coping Mechanisms (March 3, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0984603778
  • ISBN-13: 978-0984603770
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 9 x 0.4 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,879,418 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Noah Cicero is the author of The Human War (Fugue State Press, 2003), The Condemned (Six Gallery Press, 2006), Burning Babies (Parlor Press, 2006), Treatise (A-Head Publishing, 2008), and The Insurgent (Blatt, 2010). Since its release, The Human War has become a favorite of the literary underground and is being adapted to film. BEST BEHAVIOR is his sixth novel.

More About the Author

BIO: Noah Cicero is 32-years-old and has lived in Seongnam, Korea for the past year teaching English. He has several books coming out over the course of the next two years from Lazy Fascist Press, The Collected Works Volume 1 and 2 and a new novel called "Go to work and do your job. Care for your children. Pay your bills. Obey The Law. Buy products." He has many short stories and poems published at 3AM Magazine, Metazen, Amphibi.us and many other places.

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 17 customer reviews
I like the characters/dialogue a lot.
Jordan Castro
I also have to admit a personal preference for the subject matter of the book.
andrew worthington
There are some wonderful images and some absolutely dynamite lines.
D. S. Atkinson

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Tony O. on April 11, 2011
Format: Paperback
I read this book very quickly. I couldn't put it down.

In Best Behavior, a young man from a poor city visits NYC to do some things. He goes to parties, drinks, eats fried chicken, has sex, and feels alienated.

I like the way Noah Cicero writes. I recommend reading Best Behavior, as well as his first book, The Human War.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By monkey friend on April 16, 2011
Format: Paperback
this is a very good book that is sad and funny and terrifying in the way that one can be terrified by the overwhelming absurdity of life. the youngstown scenes are bleak and heart-wrenching as only the decaying rust belt can be. when the main character travels to new york, cicero makes the two places seem like they're populated by two different species and he is there serving as an emissary. or maybe new york is some weird dream sequence, and youngstown is reality. as always, the best parts are the quick-paced quirky dialogue exchanges between the characters.
this is one of my favorite noah cicero books. my other favorite is burning babies. noah cicero writes awesome books with aliterated B titles. if noah cicero ever writes a book called "brazen brash brawny bisons bickering badly" it would be so awesome, the planet would crack in half.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By S. J. Adams-florou on May 7, 2011
Format: Paperback
Best Behavior is a funny and intelligent novel about being a young American, struggling.

I loved reading the book and felt moved and alert at the end. I nearly cried a lot of times, which is unusual for me. I found the warmth and tenderness that the main character feels toward nearly all of the other characters very endearing. I found his tolerance and empathy to be exemplary.

All that I really want to say in this review is that the novel is worth your money, and is worth your time. It is better, I think, than most other books that most people will read this year, depending on taste and number of books read.

Noah Cicero seems to understand human beings.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By J. Peterson on April 25, 2011
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was entertaining and had thoughtful sections. It was easy to relate to and I feel it captures very well how people these days are. I really liked the discussion between characters. I read this book in spurts and it was nice to wind down at the end of the day reading this.
It's a good book you should buy it and read it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Becky McMillion on April 13, 2011
Format: Paperback
Cicero is taking it to a new level with Best Behavior. If you love Cicero, then you'll love this book. This book is ALIVE.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
For a book concerned with disconnection and living daily in a world that seems to have had the life drained out of it, Cicero brings out some surprisingly beautiful moments. Yeah, our world is crushed at the same time that is capable of functioning endlessly that way. No, we have no idea what to do about it or perhaps even capability to do anything. However, Cicero finds a human approach within a life lived in such a dehumanized environment. There are some wonderful images and some absolutely dynamite lines. I definitely dug the book.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By Jordan Castro on December 21, 2012
Format: Paperback
Best Behavior is an interesting, intelligent, and frequently hilarious novel written from the perspective of a writer from Ohio. The main character visits New York City, hangs out with other writers, has sex, does things in Ohio, and more. Cicero's commentary on art/the culture that surrounds art seems unique - even brave at times - and speaks to a certain part of me, I think, that exists in the context of social "scenes" or groups of people or thinking about/being aware of those things while alone and perceiving myself in the context of them or something. Maybe alienaton, or being from/living in Ohio. Not sure what I'm trying to say.

I like the characters/dialogue a lot. The way Cicero writes seems funny to me, especially the way he describes people. I've read this book ~3 times and plan on reading it more in the future.

Recommended for fans of William Burroughs, Charles Bukowski, Jack Kerouac, and/or Bret Easton Ellis.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Paperback
Noah Cicero knows how to write a book. I think he will write 20 more books like this, if not more. Well, not exactly like Best Behavior, but 20 more books that speak to me and people like me.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Product Images from Customers

Search
ARRAY(0xa4556558)

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?