Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I never get tired to listening to this album
If the number of times I listen to it each year means anything, "The Best of Blondie" is the best greatest hits CD in my collection. Yes, the New Wave classics like "Dreaming," "Hanging on the Telephone," "One Way Or Another" and "Call Me" are here, but like with most artists the songs I really seem to enjoy are those...
Published on June 2, 2001 by Lawrance M. Bernabo

versus
42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get the updated collection instead
Blondie, depending who you ask, were a seminal punk/new wave act from New York that managed to place the new sound onto the charts and help usher out disco and bring in the MTV age. Held down by blonde bombshell Debbie Harry (where they got their name)and sometime boyfriend guitarist Chris Stein, the band managed a string of hits in the late 70s/early 80s (particularly in...
Published on April 20, 2005 by Greg Brady


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get the updated collection instead, April 20, 2005
This review is from: Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
Blondie, depending who you ask, were a seminal punk/new wave act from New York that managed to place the new sound onto the charts and help usher out disco and bring in the MTV age. Held down by blonde bombshell Debbie Harry (where they got their name)and sometime boyfriend guitarist Chris Stein, the band managed a string of hits in the late 70s/early 80s (particularly in the U.K. where they had their biggest chart success). Along the way, the band helped bring more mainstream consciousness of reggae ("The Tide is High") and rap ("Rapture") as well as glances back at 60s girl groups ("In the Flesh") and doo-wop ("Denis" was a gender switched version of Randy and the Rainbows' 1963 Top 10 hit "Denise"). They also influenced many female musicians of the day and later including Madonna, Tina Weymouth of the Talking Heads, Annie Lennox, and Gwen Stefani.

PROS:

Very nearly everything on here is at least good, and "One Way or Another" and "Call Me" are some of the best pop singles ever in my opinion.

CONS:

So why the 3 star rating only? As many others have noted, there's a better sounding (remastered), more comprehensive package out there (19 songs instead of 12 including all the songs on this package). Those extra songs include the band's 1999 comeback smash "Maria" (a U.K. #1 and Top 40 in the U.S.), the band's final U.S. top 40 hit from their first time together (1982's "Island of Lost Souls"), U.K. #2 "Denis" plus "Picture This" (a #12 U.K. charter).

BOTTOM LINE:

Get "Greatest Hits" (ASIN:B00006IM9Q) instead. Better sound, better song selection..If you find yourself really loving that one, move on to their album "Parallel Lines" (remastered with some bonus material) as your next one from Harry's band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I never get tired to listening to this album, June 2, 2001
By 
This review is from: Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
If the number of times I listen to it each year means anything, "The Best of Blondie" is the best greatest hits CD in my collection. Yes, the New Wave classics like "Dreaming," "Hanging on the Telephone," "One Way Or Another" and "Call Me" are here, but like with most artists the songs I really seem to enjoy are those great songs that never got a lot of air play, like "Atomic," "Sunday Girl" and my personal favorite, "(I'm Always Touched By Your) Presence Dear." Yes, it would be nice to have a bit more representation from the punk stage of vocalist Debbie Harry and guitarist Chris Stein (e.g., "I'm Not Living in the Real World"), but you do get the proto-rap hit "Rapture." What else can I say, except that pretty much everybody I know has this CD and loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SHE SHOULDA BEEN A BIG , BIG STAR!, October 20, 1999
This review is from: Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
I don't know why Debbie Harry never became a mega-star like Madonna. Maybe her promotion was poor; maybe the time just wasn't right. Anyway, she and the group Blondie are GREAT! And in my opinion, Madonna is just a Blondie wannabe. She can't even compare to Debbie Harry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Avoid, November 3, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
This CD has been replaced by "Greatest Hits" which contains all the songs on "Best of Blondie" plus more, all in much better sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take Madonna....Please, September 10, 2001
By 
Mark Miller (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
Many women try to rock, and few to this day do it as well as Debbie Harry. This album shows why. With many collections, don't trust the words "the best of." Too often, greatest hits collections are a poorly selected group of songs produced for the purpose of releasing some ...new stuff. Not here, though. The Best of Blondie lives up to its name, and if you want to buy just one Blondie album, THIS IS IT. Debbie Harry rocks -- through sweetness to tongue-in-cheek anger. It's just fun music that rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before there was Madonna, there was...., September 20, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
An excellent best-of from one of my all-time fave bands. I kind of wish they'd included more early stuff rather than sticking to just the hits - only because I'm curious to hear it. Still, the tracks here are some of the best new wave pop of the late '70s and early '80s. This album also gave me a chance to hear Blondie singles that either flopped when they were released in America or were not released here. "Sunday Girl," "Dreaming," "Atomic," and especially "In The Flesh" are all great songs that should have been bigger U.S. hits than they were. My fave cuts are "The Tide Is High," "Rapture," "One Way Or Another," "Dreaming," and especially "Rip Her To Shreds," a classic that doesn't get much airplay anymore. But every song is a classic! Their comeback album (No Exit) is excellent too; "Maria" is one of my all-time Blondie faves. Viva Debbie Harry, Chris Stein & Co. - they will continue to rock for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "One Way Or Another", get some Blondie., August 9, 2004
By 
H3@+h "Over 1500 reviews!" (thanks for the helpful review votes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
This is actually a near-perfect "vinyl era" collection. It's 12 of their best, and all the obvious choices are here. Included is "Heart Of Glass", "The Tide Is High", "Call Me", and "Rapture", among many others. However I find I enjoy the lesser hits even more. Tracks like "Dreaming", "Hanging On The Telephone", "Sunday Girl", and "Atomic" are all great songs. The one thing about "Blondie", is that whether they were doing punk, disco, new wave, or almost rap, they excelled at it, and at the time, "Debbie Harry" was HOT! Truth be known though, I'd actually get the "Greatest Hits" over this. It's remastered, and has 7 more tracks, including "Maria".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start off with this one!, December 2, 1999
By 
david biddle (Binghamton, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
This album is a great introduction to one of the most innovative groups of musicians ever! Every song is a gem. And you'll get hooked! But No exit at the same time to compare and contrast, and soon you'll buying their whole catalog!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blondie's Greatest In One Album, November 20, 2003
By 
This review is from: Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
This is a compilation of Blondie's greatest hits from 1978-1981. They prove on every track that they are one of the best new wave bands to make mainstream. Debbie Harry expresses every lyric with the most unique voice heard on radio. Beyond her bleach-blonde hair and her sexy image is one of the most influencial female performers in music. Whether its rock, punk, reggae, pop, dance, or rap, Harry and the rest of Blondie have mastered it. Such variety proves that they have a wide musical range, which makes them more enjoyable to hear. Their tracks that hit number one on the Billboard Top 100 still have that magic spark that catches the listeners: "Heart of Glass", "Call Me", "The Tide Is High", and "Rapture". Their remaining tracks have that as well, though they're not often played on the radio. Every track explains why their influence is heard in many artists who came after them(No Doubt, Sublime, etc.). "The Best of Blondie" is the eccential compilation for all Blondie fans to own. These hits will get every party jumping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bridging Disco With Punk, March 8, 2003
By 
This review is from: Best of Blondie (Audio CD)
Blondie were definitely cutting edge in the late 70's and early 80's. They burst onto the scene with unique songs that had a dance feel to them, but at the same time, had a new-wave edge. "Heart of Glass" kicks off this greatest hits package with a disco beat and catchy chorus and was a huge hit for them in 1979. Blondie's other huge hits are here also including the very cool #1 hit "Rapture" with its corny, but enjoyable rap by Debbie Harry. "The Tide Is High" is another Blondie staple with a reggae feel and became an 80's classic as did their biggest hit "Call Me." "One Way Or Another" is also instantly recognizable and shows the punk side of Blondie. Other enjoyable tracks include "Dreaming" and "In the Flesh" which has a 50's vibe to it.
Blondie were a very influential band. They helped shape music after the disco craze died. If you like this, I also recommend Pat Benatar's "Greatest Hits."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Best of Blondie
Best of Blondie by Blondie (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.