Winter Driving Best Books of the Month Valentine's Day Shop Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon St Lucia easycohice_2016 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty V-Day Valentine's Day Cards Amazon Gift Card Offer chiraq chiraq chiraq  Amazon Echo All-New Fire Kindle Paperwhite Prime Exclusive Savings in Video Games Shop Now Sale

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars97
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:$15.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 12, 2002
Gary Moore is a flawless musician that unfortunately has not gotten the recognition he most definitely deserves. This Album like all his work will have you jumping out of your seat. The bonus live CD is priceless. The Albert King, Albert Collins and BB King Duets are unreal. The guitars are screaming!!!!! Probably music's best kept secret besides John Sykes!!!!! BUY IT, BUY IT, BUY IT now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2004
Fans of Gary Moore will most likely already own his individual albums, which renders this set pretty much obsolete except for collection purposes. For the unitiated, this album is a must.
Other than Peter Green in the late 60's, no other "white boy blues" guitarist can match Moore's technical prowess and sheer energy; well Johnny Winter does, so lets add "British/UK" to the adjective list.
True this is more of a blues-rock affair, but let's not split hairs. From straight out blues, to boogie, to blues-rock 'n' roll, Moore can do it all. So if you enjoy the music of performers like Savoy Brown, Johnny Winter, Ten Years After, and early Fleetwood Mac you will thoroughly enjoy this album guaranteed. Gary Moore doesn't just "honk" on bobo, he literally blows bobo away!
66 comments16 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2002
Yes, Gary Moore fans, the blues best of CD you have been waiting patiently for has finally arrived... and it's NOT a CD-R! Virgin has put out a whopper too, as the CD times in at just under 70 minutes and, if you are fast, the first pressing includes a 77 minute bonus disc of absolutely [fascinating] live stuff! The material on the regular CD is all previously released from the After Hours, Ballad & Blues 1982-94, Blues Alive, Blues for Greeny, and Still Got the Blues albums offered by Virgin during his popularity heyday. "Still Got the Blues" is in the better full version while both "Story of the Blues" and "Need Your Love So Bad" are the single edits. My one gripe is I wish they'd used the remaining eight minutes of space to include the long version of "The Loner". Then again, that would have made it a six-star CD! Buy it, and BUY IT NOW!!! Don't miss the first pressing live bonus CD! One listen and it's like a 77 minute full cardio workout of air guitaring! It's not cheap, but it's well worth it!
11 comment11 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2002
This is a double-cd, the first cd being a studio set compiled from previous albums. It is good, even though I've heard the tracks on other albums.
The second cd however is, in my opinion, a bit special.All LIVE tracks, teamed up with blues legends like Albert King, B.B King and last and certainly not least THE ICEMAN, Albert Collins. Wow this stuff is dreamy. From the first track "Caldonia" right through to the last track "Midnight Blues" this will not disapppoint.
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2002
Without a doubt,Gary Moore is the most shreddin guitarist on the planet! This album is the finest in guitar expression. He makes that old 58 Les Paul wail with incredible feeling. Moore gets the sound that every guitar player only dreams of coming close to! If you want to groove to the blues, this album is truly the absolute best rockin blues ever! Long live Gary Moore...King of the Blues!
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2012
Up until this album, the only rendition of "Stormy Monday" I liked was the laid back version from the old Allman Brothers Fillmore East Live concert. I still like it. But the guitar work plus Albert King's voice in "Stormy Monday" on CD #2 of this collection blows me away each time I listen to it. "Still Got the Blues" is another one played from the heart. Generally, I'd say this album has no fillers or losers and grows on you the more you listen to it which as you know is not true with all R&B works. There are voices better suited to R&B than Gary Moore's voice but you get to work only with what you are born with. 'Am not giving this 5 stars just because the Mongol Hord of reviewers are giving 5 stars; at the risk of sounding arrogant, I've listened to a lot of blues over the years and this is a good album.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2010
If you're not familiar with Gary Moore, this 2 CD album is a great place to start.

The first CD is a compilation of material culled from other Gary Moore albums and includes duets with Albert Collins, Albert King and B.B. King. The second CD is a live set with more guest appearances by Albert Collins, Albert King and B.B. King.

Great stuff.

If you like blues guitar, Gary Moore is a guitar player you should know about. This CD is a great introduction to Moore's work.

For those of you who weren't around in the 1970s, you might also want to check out the 70s band Thin Lizzy, which featured Gary Moore on guitar.

Added note to my original review: Gary Moore died a few months ago. RIP Gary. Your music will live on.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2013
Great selection of songs. Gary Moore plays a mean guitar. At times he sound a whole lot like Joe Bonamassa. Not all guitarists know how to get the mean deep sound the Gibson Les Paul's Humbuckers can put out. Gary possesses this ability along with the string scream bending technique that powers many of his songs. From the mellow "Still Got The Blues" to the rockin' "Moving On". This album is a favorite for any Blues fan.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2014
Gary Moore has been around! He was one of the best hard rockin' guitarists around. In the 1980's, he split off from Thin Lizzy which ALWAYS had a killer lead guitarist in the band! I bought Corridors of Power and really enjoyed it, but was frustrated by the lack of airplay. Gary, to me, was the Irish "Van Halen". He was that good! Eventually, he kind of fell off the radar and I didn't hear a thing from him or about him for at least another 10 years. I was listening to my favorite AOR station when I heard an outstanding blues song that reminded me of Stevie Ray Vaughan. It was "Still Got the Blues" and it just floored me that Gary was now on the air playing the blues! The technical expertise was similar to Stevie, but the sound was his own. The only two things similar between Stevie and Gary were: the ability to play lightning fast riffs with ease and grace, and the great singing voices. Stevie sounds like Stevie and Gary sounds like Gary, but the level of talent was the same! This "Beat Of" album has a lot of songs I have never heard and I am really pleased that I bought it! Five bucks seems like a steal for a double CD length MP3! Thanks Amazon!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2009
Great Chicago style blues. Simple but powerful. Much closer to the original American blues roots than a lot of the English blues. (Although I love that too.)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.