The Best Of Depeche Mode Volume 1 (U.S. Version)

November 14, 2006 | Format: MP3

Song Title

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: November 14, 2006
  • Release Date: November 14, 2006
  • Label: Sire/Reprise
  • Copyright: 2006 Sire Records. Marketed by Reprise Records, A Warner Music Group Company.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 1:14:04
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B001224WBS
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (129 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #868 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

A 5 star just for that one song!
If you are interested in them and dont know if you will like them this is a good place to start.
Chris Winchester
This is an excellent disc, the sound is very very good.
Roy Bonilla

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful By Paul Allaer TOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on November 20, 2006
Format: Audio CD
Music: 5 Stars; Compilation: 3 Stars

Depeche Mode's first album was released 1981, and the band celebrated their 25 years in the music business this year by touring extensively behind last year's "Playing the Angel" album, their 11th studio album. Depeche Mode has issued many, many hit singles over the years which has been compiled in the "Singles 81>85" and "Singles 86>98" compilations. Now comes the very first career-spanning "best of".

"The Best of Depeche Mode, Volume 1" (18 tracks; 74 min.) tries to capture the essence of the band, and indeed a lot of great music is on here: "Personal Jesus", "Emjoy the Silence", "People Are People" and many other hits are on here. There are 3 songs from the most recent 2 albums ("Dream On", "Suffer Well" and "Precious") and one new song, an okay "Martyr" (from the "Playing the Angel" sessions.) Two issues: (1) the music suffers from not being sequenced chronologically: from "See You" straight into "It's No Good"? Not good!; (2) There are a LOT of equally essential hits that are missing. Just to name a few: "Policy of Truth", "Barrell of a Gun", "World In My Eyes", "Leave in Silence", "Get the Balance Right", "It's Called a Heart" and on and on...

The question then is who this compilations is intended for. Surely the more devoted DM fans will not be very interested in this (just buy "Martyr" as a single or as a download). So it's for the casual Depeche Mode fan, who just wants to have the best-known songs in one place. This assumes there are many casual DM fans... As mentioned already, there are a lot of hits missing, but teasingly this compilation is subtitled "Volume 1" so at some point this will be corrected (presumably with the inclusion again of one new track).
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful By The Straw Man VINE VOICE on November 20, 2006
Format: Audio CD
This is a great collection of songs from Depeche Mode. Is it really the "Best Of"? That is up to debate, because every DM fan has a different idea of what their best songs are (I feel "Stripped" & "Freelove" shouldn't have been omitted). At least with the Singles collection, there was no debate; they were officially released singles. Regardless of what hierarchy these tunes fall in the DM catalog, they are still great.

As for the new track Martyr, it is a great song. Wonderful synthesizers, guitar and vocals, overall a classic Depeche Mode track. Recorded during the Playing the Angel sessions, the band felt that this song didn't fit the "dark" mood of PTA, so it was left off the album. However, it has found it's home on this Best Of compilation.

As for the second disc, it is a DVD with all the videos featured on the CD (the first disc). Sadly, many of these videos are featured on the Singles 86-98 DVD set. Therefore, many people will be paying twice for videos they already have. I am sure many fans who are buying this Best Of set, already have the Singles 86-98 DVD set, which where most of these videos have already been featured. However, videos like "Dream On" & "Suffer Well" make it worth the investment for this new set.

Depeche Mode is an amazing band and deserve recognition for all the work and contributions they have made to the music industry. This collection is also a very fan centered release, and Depeche Mode has always been appreciated of their fans. Which makes them a real class act. I'm already looking forward to Best Of Volume 2.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful By Erik Russell Olson on September 23, 2008
Format: Audio CD
DM have gone through many distinct phases since their inception at the beginning of the 1980's. This compilation CD, while not "perfect" by the standards of serious fanatics--how could it be?--is a good place to start when you're just trying to get a feel for the band's sound.

Unlike the two singles compilations released in 1998, the tracks here are sequenced to showcase the band's diverse history rather than a chronological progression. "Personal Jesus" was not DM's first single, but it did become their most recognizable hit of all time. It also grandfathered a series of songs that pay homage to it later in the band's career. Try listening to the bluesy guitar riff in "Jesus" and then "I Feel You," "Dream On," "Suffer Well," and "Martyr." The lineage should be clear even to casual listeners.

But there are of course other strains of Depeche Mode, and that's why "Just Can't Get Enough" is such a shock when sequenced back to back with "Personal Jesus." Who knew that the same band was capable of bouncy bubble gum pop on the one hand, and a monument to God, Elvis, and Kraftwerk on the other? That's the trick to Depeche Mode: it lies somewhere between Johnny Cash and A-ha, biblical allusion and trendy disposability, tortured guitars and Moog synthesizers. No wonder many people don't really know what to think about this band. There are identifiable waypoints along this tangled path: try sequencing the sincerity of "See You" and the menace of "Never Let Me Down Again" between those polar opposites, and maybe you get something close to a straight line from point A to B.

For a while DM was about pushing the buttons of the BBC. Nowadays, when a song about being bi-curious hits number one on the charts, "Master and Servant" might seem quite acceptably deviant.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?