Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Usual....Excellent !!!
As a cartoonist for a small town newspaper somewhere in the mountians of California, every year I purchase: "Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year".

The 2008 edition is aother outstanding volume, and full of wonderful political insight from the year 2007. This series spotlights the best of the best, and they are here: Walt Handelsman, Jimmy Margulies, Mike Peters...
Published on January 26, 2008 by Philip S. Wolf

versus
12 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Androgenized artists can't carry a "toon"
The "Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year" series has been around for at least 30 years now.
I know this because I actually remember the 1972 and 1973 editions. The differences between those editions and this one show how far the art of political satire has declined and how far the Matriarchy has progressed.
We're never told what standard is used to rate a...
Published on August 25, 2002 by Jack Maybrick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Usual....Excellent !!!, January 26, 2008
By 
Philip S. Wolf (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA. USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year: 2008 Edition (Paperback)
As a cartoonist for a small town newspaper somewhere in the mountians of California, every year I purchase: "Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year".

The 2008 edition is aother outstanding volume, and full of wonderful political insight from the year 2007. This series spotlights the best of the best, and they are here: Walt Handelsman, Jimmy Margulies, Mike Peters and Dick Locher. Over 100 other great cartoonists are featured in the pages of this book, and I cannot recommend this series highly enough. This is the Bible of the very best political cartoons of the year, and it is as entertaining as it is educational.

Subjects included in this 2008 edition include: The Presidential Campaign, The Bush Administration, The Economy, Crime and Entertainment. From Dick Cheeney to Britney Spears, nobody is safe from the wrath of these cartoonists. The Iraq War, gas prices and immigration are all under attack in the pages of this book.

From 1972 to 2008; "The Best Editorial Cartoons Of The Year" are THE books on this subject. And if: "The Daily Show" is must-see viewing in your home, this book belongs on your bookshelf as well.
FIVE STARS !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the Gold Standard of Editorial Cartoons, May 17, 2008
By 
David Feldstein (Sacramento,, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year: 2008 Edition (Paperback)
Since the 1980's I have purchased this book. Each year I find it rewarding. I am disturbed at the fact that too many papers do not have regular cartoonists. They are valuable and needed. There is indeed humor, as this collection so well shows, in the foibles of our political life. If you don't have it, buy it. Better still, try to get your library to get this and past issues. It is a valuable resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Humor makes the tough times palatable, February 12, 2009
By 
Read a few pages at a sitting. They seem to get better and better.
I recomend this book for all who have an open mind. JBC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid entry in the series., February 9, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another solid collection of political cartoons, as edited by Charles Brooks. Many of the cartoons deal with our historic election of Barack Obama as our president. Also covered are Hillary Clinton, the war in Iraq, "W," etc.

My only complaint? I wish there would be more cartoons present in these books. I love editorial cartoons, and this book could be double the size and I'd still want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Edition, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The best editorial cartoons. While most editorial cartoons are liberal, the Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year series presents a more balanced compilation of the political and topical editorial cartooning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Editorial cartoons, December 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have collected this book for a long time and enjoy the editorial cartoons of the year. These cartoons are able to give a message without much space and it is a time machine later when remembering the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As much a classic as the preceding volumes, May 3, 2004
Compiled and organized by Charles Brooks, Best Editorial Cartoons Of The Year 2004 Edition is the Pelican Publishing Company's latest annual anthology of editorial cartoons. Here is a very highly recommended compilation of political cartoons which are keenly in touch with the current pulse of modern history. Featuring the black-and-white work of award winning cartoonists, along with a very brief recap of the current events directly relevant to each section of cartoons preceding the wry masterpieces themselves, Best Editorial Cartoons Of The Year 2004 Edition is as much a classic as the preceding volumes in this outstanding series and extremely difficult to put down once it's picked up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review editorial cartoons, May 4, 2013
By 
JUDY "JUDY" (ORANGE COUNTY ,CA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was a gift I get someone every year, It's great!
We leave it on a table in our family room, so anyone can pick it up and laugh too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have annual for the editorial cartoon enthusiast, November 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you enjoy editorial cartoons, you cannot go wrong with this annual. I have been enjoyig the Brooks annual for > 20 years and have never been disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for anyone who loves editorial cartoons, and for public library collections, January 11, 2010
Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year 2010 Edition is a compilation of the best of the best political and editorial cartoons from (most of) 2009, including a selection of award-winning cartoons. Right-wing, left-wing, and moderate viewpoints are all present in these merciless lambasting of government foibles, political mishaps, current events craziness. From the portrait of small businesses as a short man whose height falls well below a line marked "You must be this tall to be too big to fail", to an aide frankly telling President Obama, "So Congress didn't sign your health care plan into law before their recess. That gives us time to read it," these cartoons capture the defining hot-button issues and moments (a brief text introduction to each category of cartoons helps put the jokes in perspective for those who might be a little out of touch with 2009's headline news). Highly recommended for anyone who loves editorial cartoons, and for public library collections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year: 2008 Edition
Best Editorial Cartoons of the Year: 2008 Edition by Charles Brooks (Paperback - December 1, 2007)
$16.95 $14.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.