Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (83)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the sweetest, most satisfying of jazz cd's out...
I was reading books to my daughter at Border's, when overhead I kept hearing the sweetest, purest, angelic voice singing to Louis Armstrong's playing. I knew it had to be Ella. Sure enough it was the best of Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong. I right away went and purchased the best CD of jazz I've ever heard. It's not just because the songs are popular again,...
Published on November 3, 1999

versus
55 of 70 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why buy a "best of" when the originals are avaialble on CD
This best of Ella & Louis on Verve is pointless when you can perchase their two essental CD's "Ella & Louis" and "Ella & Louis Again," and if you can't get enough buy their version of "Porgy & Bess," this CD is just a compilation of the three mentioned from Verve. Start with Ella & Louis(Verve), but don't buy this...
Published on August 3, 2000 by Aaron


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the sweetest, most satisfying of jazz cd's out..., November 3, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong (Audio CD)
I was reading books to my daughter at Border's, when overhead I kept hearing the sweetest, purest, angelic voice singing to Louis Armstrong's playing. I knew it had to be Ella. Sure enough it was the best of Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong. I right away went and purchased the best CD of jazz I've ever heard. It's not just because the songs are popular again, because of movies like.."When Harry Met Sally." You just have to hear Ella and Louis together, they compliment each other. Her voice is pure and just so..perfect; his is raspy and undefinably cool. Truly a masterpiece for all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Perfection, September 2, 2003
By 
A. Wolverton (Crofton, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong (Audio CD)
Who would have thought that it could have worked? The pitch-perfect, articulate, and yes, angelic voice of Ella Fitzgerald combined with the gravelly grunts and growls of Louis Armstrong...Two very different singers with very different styles getting together to record? But it does work, and the result is absolute perfection.
The way Louis and Ella blend, harmonize, and play off each other is simply astounding to hear. And I think that's the secret of why these two superstars were such stellar musicians: They loved making music. Just listen to the fun they're having on "Let's Call the Whole Thing Off" and "Gee, Baby, Ain't I Been Good to You." It's not only delightful, it's heavenly. Listen and lose yourself in the slow, unhurried harmonies of "Stars Fell on Alabama." And from the opening, emotion-packed trumpet statement of "Summertime," you know you're in for a powerful listening experience.
It's rare that you find a musician who really, I mean REALLY loves performing. To find two such artists on the same disc? Indescribable. These two greats were put on this earth to make music and they made music with all their might. And we're fortunate enough to have it with us. This disc is heaven. Buy it. Treasure it forever.
TOTAL TIME: 68:03
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have (in one form or another)--but think twice., October 13, 2006
This review is from: Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong (Audio CD)
With all due respect to some other reviewers, this is not "an album" made by Ella and Louis: it's a sampler comprising three Ella and Louis albums. Normally I would not even consider, say, a Sinatra anthology mixing three masterworks like "Only the Lonely," "In the Wee Small Hours," and "Come Fly with Me": each is a unique and integrally whole project. But I have the Ella and Louis LPs, so I picked up this compressed anthology to take some pressure off of the vinyl.

Like most "best-of" collections, it suffers a bit from uneven textures (the lush orchestration of "Summertime" seems like an intrusion on the intimate rapport established in the preceding numbers) and audio quality (variances in mics, mixing and engineering can be hard to disguise). So unless some of the tunes on this anthology seem absolutely essential, go with "Ella and Louis," if only for its more coherent, unified feel--like two supreme musical storytellers having an irresistable conversation in real time and in real space. (If you have a piano, imagine inviting both into your living room for the evening.)

Louis' meetings with Ella were his most successful collaborations with another major star (the Ellington get-together doesn't compare), and unfortunately I know of no extended, full-fidelity vinyl sessions featuring Pops with Bing Crosby. What's most noteworthy about their pairing is Ella's restrained deference to Louis, and Louis' passionate, animated trumpet solos (it was not unusual for him to "coast" at this stage of his career). The duets are at times a bit sloppy, or "under-rehearsed," especially following the trumpet solo, but the absence of polish is in this case all for the better. This is a recording about communication of the most "natural" sort, not about perfection or disciplined performance. To hear Pops singing unison, then in 3rds, with Ella on an up-tempo "I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm" defies description. Simply his presence is enough to showcase Ella's grace and set us up for the sound of surprise when it's Louis' turn to sing solo.

Recently I heard a Wynton Marsalis tribute to Louis at the Lincoln Center. As fluent and dazzling as Wynton was, his performance made me appreciate Louis all the more. Perhaps Leonard Bernstein hit it on the head in his musical essay about jazz, "What Is Jazz?" Alternating between Louis' vocals and trumpet playing, he pointed out the similarity between the two, noting the hint of "pain" intermingled with the joy, or the brilliance of the trumpet sound, as evidence of the triumph of the human spirit over adversity, which might be said to be the essence of the blues itself. Fortunately, that sound is captured in virtually every note that Louis sings and plays on this recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Can't Take "This" Away From Me!!, November 7, 2001
This review is from: Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong (Audio CD)
Where do you begin reviewing a cd that, simply put, may be the closest thing we have to a musical "heaven-on-earth". The songs on this disc truly represents what is really astounding about each artist and how they were able to work together so incredibly well! And we can thank Norman Granz, head of Verve Records, for dreaming up this magical duo!
This cd is actually a compilation of the three albums that Ella and Louis released together. And,fortunately, what is included here is their very best. Between Ella's sweet vocals and Louis' incredible phrasing plus, of course, his amazing trumpet and each song is simply a joy to listen to! And, even more remarkable,is the sheer fun that each are having while recording with the other. This really was a "labor of love" for each of them!And, we are invited to join in on the fun...well, who could resist?
There are so many highlights, "Let's Call The Whole Thing Off" THIS being the definitive version, "They Can't Take That Away From Me" and, of course, "Gee,Baby, Ain't I Good To You". Whether it's a ballad or an uptempo song Ella and Louis give each tune everything they've got. And,brother, that's saying a lot!Plus, at the budget price that it's given, why wouldn't you have a copy in your collection?
Overall, an amazing cd that shows how incredible jazz can be when in the hands of artists who simply are the "best" in their field.Elegant, sophisticated and a disc with real class. It's never gotten better than this!!
TEN Stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Giants, April 20, 2001
This review is from: Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong (Audio CD)
Wow.
I absolutely love this record.
Two GIANTS of American music together. Not Sinatra singing along to pre-recorded tracks by a bunch of 2nd rate singers, as he did towards the end of his career, but two of the true legends of jazz singing classic tunes together while at the peak of their abilities.
Ella Fitzgerald's voice is sheer perfection, Armstrong's horn is not the hot jazz of his earlier stuff, but still swings like nobody's business--and to hear Louis Armstrong sing is a thrill that I never tire of. The horn solo on "Love Is Here To Stay," probably a throw-off for a master like Armstrong, swings and sways till you just want to scream.
Everybody--and I mean, EVERYBODY--should have a copy of this LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ella and Louis, July 30, 1998
This review is from: Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong (Audio CD)
"These fifteen tracks may be the greatest recordings in Verve's hallowed vaults - masterpieces selected from the three albums of duets recorded by "Pops" and a Lady named Ella. Here, in the best sound to date, featuring popular American songs of the interwar period, is the 'Best of Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong on Verve'. Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong recorded the first album "Ella and Louis" in 1956. The other two albums "Ella and Louis again" and "Porgy and Bess" were recorded in 1957. This CD is a best of these three albums. The unmistakable voice of "Satchmo" and the solos of his trumpet in duet with Ella's style give an unforgettable celebration for your ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ella and Louis sing of life as we know it--and wow, how I appreciate the ride!!!, October 26, 2006
By 
Matthew G. Sherwin (last seen screaming at Amazon customer service) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong (Audio CD)
On this CD Ella and Louis Armstrong join forces to make an album that is pure magic. They've been lovingly teased as satin (Ella) and sandpaper (Louis, because of his gravelly voice); but no duo compares to them when they sing together. Louis and Ella obviously enjoyed making this recording; their voices are in excellent form and impart a certain sense of genuine happiness that is hard to find. Ella and Louis have voices that are rich, vibrant and full of electricity! This CD proves it.

The CD starts off with the charming and playful "Let's Call The Whole Thing Off." The album then switches gears and goes into the more soulful love ballad entitled "Our Love Is Here To Stay." Sublime! Other great songs on this CD include "Stars Fell On Alabama;" "The Nearness Of You;" "Stompin' At The Savoy;" and "Tenderly." Louis performs great trumpet solos on songs including "Tenderly" and "Summertime" that make your heart melt. In fact, every song is special on this CD; I also admire their rendition of "Under A Blanket Of Blue."

The musical arrangements are very well done. These tracks feature several great opportunities for us to enjoy Armstrong's trumpet solos.

The liner notes impress me, too. There is an adaptation of an essay by William Ruhlmann who wrote the liner notes for The Complete Ella And Louis On Verve. There are beautiful photos of Ella and Louis; and you get the song credits, too. A nice plus!

Overall, the chemistry between Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong makes for an experience that is truly in its own league. They enjoy their work and it shows. You will appreciate their energy and powerful renditions of these wonderful songs. I highly recommend this CD for fans of classic pop vocals and fans of both Ella and Louis. This is also a great budget priced CD for people who want to know if they will like this style of music.

Moreover, if you do like this CD I suggest you listen to the CD box set entitled The Complete Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong and another CD entitled Ella and Louis again. You can also try solo CDs by both Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong; they produced great music individually as well. You truly can't go wrong with this classic CD; and I hope this CD brings you the same joy and thrills that Ella and Louis communicate when they perform these magnificent songs. ENJOY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 70 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why buy a "best of" when the originals are avaialble on CD, August 3, 2000
This review is from: Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong (Audio CD)
This best of Ella & Louis on Verve is pointless when you can perchase their two essental CD's "Ella & Louis" and "Ella & Louis Again," and if you can't get enough buy their version of "Porgy & Bess," this CD is just a compilation of the three mentioned from Verve. Start with Ella & Louis(Verve), but don't buy this pointless CD. The music on this sampler CD is absolutly wonderful, but why just get a sample, buy "Ella & Louis" or "Ella & Louis Again" instead of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect album for a summer evening, August 16, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong (Audio CD)
Ella and Louis provide the perfect soothing music for a summer evening on this cd. Ella's singing is not quite as crisp as I've heard on some other recordings, but these two jazz vocalists compliment each other wonderfully. If you like this, check out Ella's "Best of the Songbooks" or Louis with another jazz genius on the cd "Louis Armstrong Meets Oscar Peterson."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No,they cant take that away from me..., July 14, 2006
By 
Mirko Stojnic (Palic ,Serbia,Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong (Audio CD)
Sixty odd years ago,over AFN,Europe,whistles and fade outs and sometimes only very feeble sounds of the devine trumpet or,the girlish , heavenly voice kept us hoping,kept us alive in the red quagmire.The thin ray of sunshine in the deep,dark well of the *paradise.No,they really cant take all this away.Yes , we will never meet again.Soon I would not be

able to remember the tunes I loved,but,thanks Heaven,we had the chance to hear them for so many years after THEY(and many others) left us.We may get sentimental,we may feel sorry for us,but we must be happy at heart,because thanks to vynils and CDs,they are still with us and the good old jazz can still be heard and enjoyed...

Mirko J. Stojnic oldtimer682005@yahoo.ca
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong
Best Of Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong by Louis Armstrong & Ella Fitzgerald (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.