Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read for Potential Women Lawyers and for Women Lawyers
Blakely's book was an excellent source for writing an undergrad legal studies term paper on the subject of women in the law profession and the barriers they face as attorneys. The book was very insightful as to the obstacles that women face before entering law school, during law school and mid career in a male-dominated profession. She makes strong arguments for all the...
Published 11 months ago by scho

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Read this book if you're interested in the law but unsure if it's what you want to do...
This book is a guide that gives advice and insight into the life of female attorneys, including the benefits and hardships that we face. I think this is a great read for any woman interested but still unsure about pursuing a career in law. In the book, female lawyers and judges share their own experiences about the difficulties they and many other women have in this...
Published on May 17, 2011 by T. Lozano


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read for Potential Women Lawyers and for Women Lawyers, August 1, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law (Paperback)
Blakely's book was an excellent source for writing an undergrad legal studies term paper on the subject of women in the law profession and the barriers they face as attorneys. The book was very insightful as to the obstacles that women face before entering law school, during law school and mid career in a male-dominated profession. She makes strong arguments for all the good reasons why women should enter the profession. Her approach is straightforward, with a no non-sense approach that truly wants to help young women lawyers succeed in the profession, and encourage those who have been diligently working and paving the way as women lawyers.

The book is an "easy-read", fun to read and made me want to read more. So I purchased the follow-up book: The New Balance for Today's Women Lawyer and I am so glad I did. I was truly pleased with both of Blakely's books, so much so that I have been entertaining the idea of the profession myself! Thank you Susan Smith Blakely!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must Read for Women in the Legal Profession, August 15, 2012
This review is from: Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law (Paperback)
Best Friends at the Bar is great read for an incredibly wide range of women from undergrads considering law school to seasoned legal professionals. As a woman who entered law school at age 30 and has just graduated, this book provided insight into how my career in the law will differ from my other professional experiences. This book confronts the issues faced by women in the legal profession with a hopeful perspective while still keeping the discussion frank and realistic. So often I have encountered women who are frustrated with the status quo and want to thumb their nose at the Old Boys Club and have been held back professionally because of it. This book is so instructive on how to handle these obstacles professionally and without compromise while avoiding a detrimental result. The author presents not only her experiences, advice, and perspective, but draws on a broad spectrum of women in the legal profession of all ages, branches of the legal profession, and career paths. These women give personal antidotes to bring to life all the issues raised in the book. After you finish reading you really do feel like you have a group of best friends at the bar!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!!, August 14, 2012
This review is from: Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law (Paperback)
As a rising 3L law student, this book addressed all of the issues that women in the legal profession face but are afraid to tell us newbies about a career in the law. One thing that I loved about this book is that it addresses the legal profession from all angles. Women lawyers are analyzed from the perspective of general counsel, solo firms, and state lawyers. This book gave me a much greater understanding of what I will encounter as a future attorney. I highly recommend this book for women who are interested in the legal profession, law students, and newly barred attorneys. This book has something that everyone can take away. Its very easy to read and gets straight to the point. One thing that I found that was helpful in the book is that each of the links with statistics used were cited in the reading so that I could go back and look at it on my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Case in Point, August 6, 2012
This review is from: Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law (Paperback)
Best Friends at the Bar is not only an informative book, but an enjoyable easy read for women contemplating a career in law. A great combination of personal stories and statistical data, it is clear Ms. Blakely has a passion to help young women understand that the challenges females face in the workplace are quite different than those of males. She greatly details the sections discussing work/life balance when deciding to start a family and also how this affects a woman's possibilities for promotion in her legal career. Susan Blakely shares not only her stories and experiences, but those of other women that have worked in various aspects of the law from the public sector to prestigious law firms that represent Fortune 500 companies. Memorable highlights of this book include the "Case in Point" summaries-the best parts in my opinion! In these summaries, not only do established attorneys, judges, clerks, etc. pour their hearts out with the advice given in these sections, but they offer some comical stories and bring up issues that you wouldn't believe some women in a professional setting have yet to grasp-like not wearing clothing to court that is only appropriate for a night club!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Female Struggle, August 3, 2012
This review is from: Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law (Paperback)
I decided to read this book on a whim. I am a female law student entering my third year. I would like to think that both male and females are treated equally, but there are still gaps. The most noticeable difference is in salaries, regardless of the profession. The author has actual data to back up her stance on how women are not treated equally. I found the graph very informative, because not only is it currently a tough job market, but I as a female have an additional hurdle to overcome. I also like the discussion on what to wear in the office. There are many different clothing choices for females and I often find it difficult to understand what is exactly appropriate. Often my supervisor vs. a judge vs. the head manager at the firm all have different opinions on what females should wear to work. Also different regions of the country have different rules on what is appropriate. This is just another aspect of how being a female is tougher than a male at times, because of the unequal treatment on the simple matter of clothing choice.

I think the best part of the book though is the " Case in Point" summaries. These paragraphs are from real women in the legal profession. They also include the age of the person to help illustrate how age does not matter when it comes to struggles women face. I was able to relate to these experiences by other females and to better appreciate the book. The author truly tried to capture what all women need to know about a career in the law.

No other book is out on the market like this one. It is truly unique. The writing style is simplistic and straightforward. The book is an easy read for the beach or over the weekend. I would highly recommend this book to not only females, but to males as well so they can understand all the struggles females face in the legal field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How to Shatter the Glass Ceiling, July 28, 2012
This review is from: Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law (Paperback)
Susan Smith Blakely has written a book for women that are considering a career in law. In the last few years the average enrollment in a J.D. program is close to 50% women (48%-48% usually) but only 31% of all licensed practicing attorneys are women, there appears to be a discrepancy. Women are also staying away from "Big Law" in droves, at least after five years of practice. The majority of all women leave "Big Law" within five years, thus creating an extreme attrition rate that bodes badly for clients and lawyers alike. When women, who make up 50$ of the country, are not an equal voice in the law, women will continue to be undervalued and underpaid.
This book addresses the discrepancies and the glass ceiling. In 2009, only 17% of all law firm partners were women. As we lose women in the law, we also lose their creativity, skills, and education, thus harming all of us, both in the profession and out. This almost appears to set up a circular paradigm where the men use the departure of women in the legal work force as an excuse to continue to not provide them with equality, and women, because of the male attitudes tend to be further and further disenfranchised and disillusioned.
The book has many useful suggestions for a woman who wants to break through the glass ceiling, all of which are applicable even if the person just wants to be taken seriously in any venue.
Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, July 21, 2012
This review is from: Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law (Paperback)
This is a very interesting book. It sets out the reality of practicing law as a woman. There are various short entries of various women's personal experiences woven throughout the book. These contributing women "believe that women are uniquely equipped for careers in the law and make exceptionally fine lawyers" (page 25). Their stories allow them to serve as role-models to the reader.

Most people know that having a mentor is important; this book takes that idea one step further - having a woman mentor is very important.

There is a section entitled "Typical Profiles and Work-Life Challenges" (beginning on page 194). The contributors range in age: from "60-somethings" down to "20-somethings." This range creates a picture of various life and career stages.

I expected to read that women faced challenges in the legal profession, but did not realize that part-time and flex schedules were possible for woman on the partner-track.

The book is realistic and does a great job of describing how the legal practice has changed since the economic downturn. The book was far more relevant than I expected!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great advice, new mindset for women in law, June 19, 2012
This review is from: Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law (Paperback)
Ms. Blakely brings to light all the unavoidable issues women face in pursuing a legal career. Any woman considering law school, or graduating and beginning a career in law should read this book. It is often easy to brush off the issues Ms. Blakely discusses, and just think "I'll figure that part out later." Ms. Blakely doesn't offer any easy answers, there aren't any, but emphasizes the importance of considering the issues all women face in their legal career - from the "glass ceiling" to the economy to maternity leave - and how to maneuver those issues strategically. Her insights come not only from her own experiences, but the advice of women in a variety of legal positions across the country. This book takes some time at the beginning explaining itself, but turns a corner once you get to the real 'meat' of it. I could have done without quite so many introductory pages explaining what the book is intended for, what the meaning of the book is, etc. I will probably figure that out once I read it! Many of the issues Ms. Blakely discusses are some I am not considering for some time, i.e. maternity leave and child care, but she emphasizes the importance of negotiating from a position of strength, and even more importantly, keeping future generations of women attorneys in mind. As uncomfortable as these issues are, Ms. Blakely emphasizes the importance of planning NOW, regardless of where you are in your legal career. It may not have given me all the answers, but she definitely gave me a place to start from and a different mindset in approaching future issues in my legal career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy and Important Read for Any Professional Woman, June 14, 2012
This review is from: Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law (Paperback)
"Best Friends at the Bar: What Every Woman Needs to Know About a Legal Career" is a worthwhile and interesting read. Mrs. Blakely does a great job at presenting the varied problems, and potential solutions, facing women who wish to peruse a career in the legal profession. By presenting vignettes of experience from women ranging from new "baby lawyers" and to women who have thirty and forty years of experience in private practice, government work, and judicial work Blakely provides a real world view.
The only thing I disliked about the book was the extreme focus on being a mother. Being a 28 year old woman and having no desire to have children, the focus on motherhood for almost a third of the book was a bit off-pointing. However, I could definitely see how this information would be very important for many professional women. Even though the information didn't apply directly to me personally, it was very well written and makes several points that are important even for women who do not wish to become mothers; such as not being afraid to ask for what you need and the importance of networking.
I'm currently 6 months from law school graduation and found this book extremely valuable. I only wish that I had read this book prior to starting. The tips on networking and mentoring are so very important, even in law school. I would also highly recommend this book for any woman in any professional field; from business to law to medicine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not Just for Those Considering a Legal Career..., August 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law (Paperback)
As an experienced lawyer, this is the kind of book I have been waiting for all of my career. "Best Friends at the Bar" is wonderful combination of helpful advice, insights from practictioners, judges, law school deans and others as well as a framework upon which a reader can make choices about her/his future in the law. Because the author spent much time polling those in the legal profession, the advice comes from many points of view including the male perspective. All of it is interwoven seemlessly so the reader is taken through many topics without much effort. It is a must read for anyone considering a career in law but it would also prove useful to those in recruitment at law firms to understand the challenges that still face women in the law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law
Best Friends at the Bar: What Women Need to Know about a Career in the Law by Susan Smith Blakely (Paperback - November 17, 2009)
$29.95 $28.44
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.