Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Curiosity Piece and Perfunctory Collection
This is the 50th Anniversary of the cinematic James Bond film series and it would have been nice to have integrated familiar cuts and snippets of the melodies associated with the hallmark James Bond sound and theme interpolated throughout and still musically represent each film from DR. NO up to and including QUANTUM OF SOLACE. Given that this is a collection from 22...
Published on October 9, 2012 by gobirds2

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One was Good One was Bad
I was really surprised when I received this double CD set of the James Bond theme songs. Apparently (according to the other reviews) I'm not the only one. The CD containing all the theme songs is excellent. The second CD is a complete and total waste of time. It's a bunch of extraneous music plucked from the various movies...as if we really care (or would remember)...
Published 12 months ago by Deb


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Curiosity Piece and Perfunctory Collection, October 9, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Of James Bond 50th Anniversary (2 CD) (Audio CD)
This is the 50th Anniversary of the cinematic James Bond film series and it would have been nice to have integrated familiar cuts and snippets of the melodies associated with the hallmark James Bond sound and theme interpolated throughout and still musically represent each film from DR. NO up to and including QUANTUM OF SOLACE. Given that this is a collection from 22 films, that could have been a daunting task, but far from impossible. My issues with this CD are with Disc 2 and what it really tried to capture.

DR. NO, FROM RUSSIA WITH LOVE, GOLDFINGER, THUNDERBALL and YOU ONLY LIVE TWICE are well represented, considering the constraints, and it was very good to have the vocal version of Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang included on Disc 2. It would have been nice if actual instrumental cuts of John Barry's On HER MAJESTY'S SECRET SERVICE and THE LIVING DAYLIGHTS scores had been included on Disc 2 as well.

I thought it was a shame that no instrumental cuts were included for Bill Conti's FOR YOUR EYES ONLY score, Eric Serra's GOLDENEYE score and David Arnold's scores for TOMORROW NEVER DIES, THE WORLD IS NOT ENOUGH and DIE ANOTHER DAY. In fact, there are no cuts for LICENCE TO KILL and DIE ANOTHER DAY on Disc 2. I find this to be very curious.

For the James Bond enthusiast spirit in many of us I suppose it is still better than nothing at all for the 50th Anniversary. "The Laser Beam" from GOLDFINGER, "Switching The Body" from THUNDERBALL, "Snow Job" from A VIEW TO A KILL and "Vesper" from CASINO ROYALE are excellent cuts. However, this collection remains a curiosity piece and perfunctory at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's Missing Is Conspicuous...But What's Here Is Terrific!, November 1, 2012
By 
Travis (LaGrange, KY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Most reviews have concentrated on complaints, so it's worth addressing those:

No "Best of Bond" compilation has included the current film's title song. Go back to the The Best of Bond: James Bond; you won't find "The World Is Not Enough". The Best of Bond James Bond did not include "Die Another Day", and Best Of Bond... James Bond, The (CD) did not include "Another Way to Die". I'm not saying it isn't a fair complaint; just that complaining about it demonstrates an unfamiliarity with the "Best of Bond" compilation series dating back to 1999.

The absence of music from specific films has to do with rights issues:

Licence To Kill and Music From The MGM Motion Picture The World Is Not Enough are controlled by MCA
Tomorrow Never Dies was released by A&M Records; the expanded score album Tomorrow Never Dies (1997 Film) was issued in 2000 on the boutique label, Chapter III Records
Music From The MGM Motion Picture Die Another Day was released by Warner Records

I'm hopeful that Intrada, MCA's boutique label might get the rights to give us a proper score release for LICENCE TO KILL.

I'd have also preferred to see the music sequenced differently. Chronological sequencing is a bit cold. I look back to the original 1992 The Best of James Bond 30th Anniversary edition. The single-disc release mixed up the songs, whereas the 2-disc edition presented the 16 title tracks in chronological order - but Disc 2's bonus content was not chronological. That Disc 2 presented a lot of rarities, including the demo recordings of "Goldfinger" by Anthony Newley and "You Only Live Twice" by Julie Rogers. It also included three different radio spots and an entire 20-minute suite of then-unreleased score music from THUNDERBALL. I was rather hoping to see this 50 YEARS...50 TRACKS incarnation also delve into the vaults, but unfortunately every track here is available on other releases.

As for what's actually included in this compilation, it's a solid representation of the 007 soundtrack albums. I'm glad to see John Barry's instrumental title from FROM RUSSIA WITH LOVE finally make its way onto one of these compilations, as well as Diana Coupland's performance of "Under the Mango Tree" from DR. NO. It's definitely a shame that, as other reviewers have noted, there are no representations from John Barry's terrific scores for On Her Majesty's Secret Service or THE LIVING DAYLIGHTS, but I dig that "Do You Know How Christmas Trees Are Grown?" by Nina and The Pretenders' "Where Has Everybody Gone" and "If There Was a Man" made the cut. I might have cut "Christmas Trees" to make room for a Barry score piece, but it's hard to think what to cut to make room for a third track from THE LIVING DAYLIGHTS.

And that's really the thing with a compilation album like this: it's impossible to include every "obvious" track. Choices are made arbitrarily, or by legal issues or time constraints and we get what we get. 50 YEARS - 50 TRACKS isn't perfect, but there's a perfectly good reason for each complaint we all have. Best not to fret over what's missing and just enjoy what's here - which is admittedly a very solid survey of 007 scores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 50 Years of 007: An almost perfect collection, October 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Of James Bond 50th Anniversary (2 CD) (Audio CD)
As a 007 fan and collector since 1981, I would like to state that I think this is a GREAT collection of 007 music. Including many songs by the legendary (and GENIUS) John Barry. The first 007 Bond theme song collection I owned was the "James Bond Greatest Hits" vinyl album released on EMI records in 1982. Does anybody else remember that album?!

The only complaint I have is this: The producers of this collection SHOULD have squeezed in Patti Labelle's "If You Asked Me To" from 1989's "Licence To Kill" on disc two. Knowing what a popular song it was for Ms. Labelle (and several other artists). To include the closing credits songs "Surrender" from "Tomorrow Never Dies" and then omit "If You Asked Me To" and skip to "The Experience of Love" from "GoldenEye" seems bizarre and SO WRONG.

Otherwise, this is a NEAR-PERFECT 007 theme song collection for those of us who LIVE for the cinema's GREATEST franchise, and the world's GREATEST secret agent JAMES BOND 007!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't try to drive while listening to this., August 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Of James Bond 50th Anniversary (2 CD) (Audio CD)
All of a sudden you will think you're cool, thin, rich, good-looking and driving something you can't afford, sitting next to someone you can't afford.
Much better to listen to alone at home in your best panties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond Fanatic, October 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Of James Bond 50th Anniversary (2 CD) (Audio CD)
If you are a Bond Fanatic like me, then you MUST buy the 50th anniversary Bond CD.
I pre-ordered it and it was deliver this morning. It is a 2 disk set. Great for collectors or just cool to have, It has the most amzing clear sound all of the classic bond songs sung by the original artits Best Of James Bond 50th Anniversary (2 CD)and Instramentals. Some of the featured songs are Goldfinger sung by Shirley Bassey, View to a kill by Duran Duran, Die another day by Madonna and of course the Casino Royal theme You know my name by Chris O'Connel. WHEW!!!! You will love it.
P.S. Sorry , No Adelle for Skyfall an this track. You have to pre-order for Nov.movie release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly the Best of Bond, March 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Every track on the cd did one of three things: Remind me of my favorite Bond movie, remind me of my favorite scene in the Bond movie tied to the particular song or made me wish I could remember more of the movie tied to the track playing at the time.

Shirley Bassey's performances of Goldfinger, Diamonds are Forever and Moonraker were the best parts of the cd. Nancy Sinatra, Lulu, Sheena Easton, A-Ha, Tina Turner, Sheryl Crow, Garbage and Madonna's tracks on the cd were equally spectacular.

I would recommend this cd for all James Bond fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great Bond music set of cds, February 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Of James Bond 50th Anniversary (2 CD) (Audio CD)
here are all the wonderful Bond themes that i had heard before and the second cd has incidental music from the films that all recall the movies that they are from. now that Skyfall has just been released i will have to look for the next collection to include more songs. i have a few albums from some early Bond films, not too many so far. i do have all of the films though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool Upgrade, June 11, 2014
By 
Michael Kaiser (Gilroy, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best Of James Bond 50th Anniversary (2 CD) (Audio CD)
Unfortunately missing the Skyfall theme, which drives my completist nature slightly mad in that this is the 50th anniversary collection, and Skyfall is the 50th anniversary movie, and it would have been nice to end the themes disc with that song over "Another Bleh to Bleck." Also not sure there's anything new here that hasn't been released on a previous version or original soundtrack. That said, if you want a collection of James Bond music, this is the latest and greatest compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Much the Surprise, February 16, 2014
By 
johcafra (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best Of James Bond 50th Anniversary (2 CD) (Audio CD)
...and this from a non-Bond fan...alright, I'll concede that I've sat through most of the films, admit having friends who commit them to memory, and recognize most of the theme-song hit singles. One friend challenged me to simply listen to the music. This seemed the best place to start.

CD1 plays the theme songs in film sequence up to but not including the Oscar-winning "Skyfall". Which among them surprised me?

On Her Majesty's Secret Service: No lyrics, but only Bernard Herrmann would've thought of combining a fuzz guitar, harpsichord, bass trombones and xylophones.

Moonraker: Shirley Bassey's best.

The Living Daylights: Superbly orchestrated, and let's see you try to sing alternating keys at an upper register.

The World Is Not Enough: At the very least it prompted me to find out more about Garbage.

Die Another Day: Compelling in its own way but by the end it comes across as a defective recording.

CD2 has brief instrumental tracks that my friends likely can identify while blindfolded, with a smattering of alternate theme songs (one a genuine howler) and additional songs that at least intrigue (in particular one from GoldenEye).

In general John Barry's contributions are incalculable, though David Arnold comes close. This is by no means simple music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody does it better than the artists who perform these songs!, January 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great compilation for a great price to bring back memories of classic James Bond films. They're all here except Adele's 'Skyfall.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Best Of James Bond 50th Anniversary (2 CD)
Best Of James Bond 50th Anniversary (2 CD) by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Click for more info
In stock on November 1, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.