Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY A STELLAR COLLECTION!!!, July 24, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of the Jazz Crusaders (Audio CD)
This recording reveals the Jazz Crusaders as young lions. With that in mind, they really show true energy and fervor in this collection. THIS CD IS TRULY IS HIDDEN GEM and should be considerd as one of the greatest "best of" jazz recordings ever assembled. Not many people are familar with the original Jazz Crusaders (Joe Sample, Wilton Felder, Wayne Henderson, and Stix Hooper) early music which is for the most part, extremly hard-bopping modern jazz. You will jig in your seat at work or in the car, and all out cut the rug at home. The recording mixes original tunes with compositions by Wes Montgomery and Jackie McLean. "Appointment in Ghana",and "Congolese Sermon", are two of the swingingest jazz tunes I have ever heard. Every song on the CD is infectous and will no doubt stay in your head for days. If you want to supplement or even begin a jazz cd collection, buy this cd. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY STELLAR COLLECTION!!!, June 23, 2003
By 
Neyetro "Jazzyone" (Atlanta, GA (Austell)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of the Jazz Crusaders (Audio CD)
This recording reveals the Jazz Crusaders as young lions. With that in mind, they really show true energy and fervor in this collection. THIS CD IS TRULY IS A HIDDEN GEM and should be considerd as one of the greatest "best of" jazz recordings ever assembled. Not many people are familar with the original Jazz Crusaders (Joe Sample, Wilton Felder, Wayne Henderson, and Stix Hooper) early music which is for the most part, extremly hard-bopping modern jazz. You will jig in your seat at work or in the car, and all out cut the rug at home. The recording mixes original tunes with compositions by Wes Montgomery and Jackie McLean. "Appointment in Ghana",and "Congolese Sermon", are two of the swingingest jazz tunes I have ever heard. Every song on the CD is infectous and will no doubt stay in your head for days. If you want to supplement or even begin a jazz cd collection, buy this cd. You will not be disappointed.
(reposting of my July 24, 1999, review)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must have item" for any jazz fan., November 1, 2003
This review is from: Best of the Jazz Crusaders (Audio CD)
When I first saw/heard The Jazz Crusaders at a club in Houston in the late '70's they blew me out of my seat. And this CD had me reaching for my seat belt again. What a delight to hear free wheeling, swinging, bluey jazz from these guys at their rollicking best. Five stars to all. Wilton Felder's sax is gutsy, earthy, swinging and always honest. Wayne Henderson proves a trombone can swing and be smooth. Stix Hooper gives a lesson on how to drive a group and still stay out of everyone's way. Absolutely tasty drum work. His simply riding a cymbal is something to behold. And of course, Joe Sample it in top form on this CD. If you appreciate jazz solos that are inventive, creative and "go somewhere and then come back" this CD for you. No mindless noodling from these guys. Jazz like it was meant to be played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO COOL!!!, August 4, 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best of the Jazz Crusaders (Audio CD)
This cd is a collection of their hits from the early to mid 1960's. This was the era in Jazz just before acoustic went electronic. These guys were unbelievable. "New Time Shuffle" is such a cool song. "The Young Rabbits", excellent! "Freedom Sound", should be the theme song for every cool person in the world. Check out the guitar by guest artist Joe Pass on "Out Back". 9 songs, 9 dozes of coolness!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of The Jazz Crusaders, February 13, 2003
By 
Marcus J Carter (Azusa, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of the Jazz Crusaders (Audio CD)
This CD brings back soooo many memories. If you like it hot, smooth and funky, this is the CD for you. I got to go now, I need to listen to this CD one more time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jazz perfection, October 25, 2005
This review is from: Best of the Jazz Crusaders (Audio CD)
years ago, i was sitting in my car, waiting for a friend of mine to get off work. i had tuned into my local jazz radio station to listen to whast they were playing. about 2 songs into the show, "Freedom Sound" came on. i sat there transfixed and mesmerised by this perfect jazz sound. i waited to listen to the dj announce who the group was and it was the aptly named Jazz Crusaders. a band that i had heard about, but had never listened to up to that point in time. well, that night changed all of that and i promptly went to the music store and bought this cd the next day. i was delighted to find that not only is "Freedom Sound" a song that grows better and deeper everytime i listen to it, but that every single song on this album is a bonafide classic. exceptional in everyway, down to the last melody line and the flawless execution of these tunes.

wow. group jazz just doesn't get much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What Is Jazz Today?, October 26, 2002
This review is from: Best of the Jazz Crusaders (Audio CD)
This answers the question. Listening to this release and you can appreciate that it is all that jazz is supposed to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When they played jazz., May 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of the Jazz Crusaders (Audio CD)
Great collection of early Jazz Crusaders material. This is for those who loved the Jazz Crusaders before they turned into a fusion group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hard jazz talent at its best!!, December 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of the Jazz Crusaders (Audio CD)
The cover on this album reminds me of the original 33 rpm that I bought in the 60's, the only problem is it donot have the original song selections, if I would ever find it again I would probably have a stroke. Their music is always great to me!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, May 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Best of the Jazz Crusaders (Audio CD)
Nice collection of tunes in a more traditional vein. If you know the Crusaders, but don't have any Jazz Crusaders, this CD is for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Best of the Jazz Crusaders
Best of the Jazz Crusaders by The Crusaders (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.